Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrific history combined with provocative intellectual insight., 10 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World (Paperback)
This is an excellent and essential, yet harrowing, read about the Holocaust endured by the native peoples of the Americas.

The book is in two parts. Part one establishes the facts of genocide. The documented acts including from the memoirs of the Spanish, British and American perpetrators. This includes their self declared intent as expressed in ideological terms and the extent to which actions were societal, individual, collective and state and governmental policy.

Part two seeks to explain why such monumental genocide occured and goes all the way back to Aristotle to trace the roots of genocidal ideas in Western civilisaton and, especially, how these evolved in Christianity into concepts of Holy War, righteous slaughter, divine right to land, the idea that pestilence was divinely inspired and how these justified policies of deiberate extermination of native Americans. All this furnished with incriminating quotes from Spanish priests, English puritan ministers and American politicians.

Stannard believes that racism is inherent in Western culture and ideas and makes the best case I have yet seen that racism was an idea that predated New World slavery. However, I think a better counter-case is made by Robin Blackburn in 'The Making of New World Slavery'.

I'd thoroughly recommend Stannard's book as a feast of horrific history combined with well argued and provocative intellectual insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has forever changed me. A must read!, 21 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World (Paperback)
I thought I had a pretty good handle on the treatment and situation of Native Americans since the arrival of Columbus. After reading this book I was stunned. Though I will never truely understand what it is like to have my culture ripped away, I have a better perspective. Why isn't this book required reading. And yes, disease did kill more than guns, but the Europeans used it to their advantage. You can't ignore the statements of some of our most revered past leaders regarding the necessity of eliminating the Navtive Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly sad!, 30 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World (Paperback)
Prof Stannard's book is painfully informative. He wades through decades of native extermination, of the 'new world', and explains the reasons behind this tragedy not only through a historic lens,but also the religious-socio-psychological factors that contributed.
A must-read for anyone who isnt ignorant of: "those who forget history are doomed to repeat it"
Along with this book id recommend Dee Brown's 'Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEYOND ESSENTIAL, 24 May 2006
By 
H S Marks (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World (Paperback)
A masterpiece of scholarship and analysis.

Our entire culture is built on Holocaust Denial while those most responsible for the abnesia drape themselves in the flag of holocaust memorialism but have little honesty in their true agenda. An agenda that allows in the USA alone for there to be at least 50 Holocaust memorials, museums and monuments...only problem is they are ALL about the Holocaust that happened in Europe and NOT about the colossal extermination that took place where they live. It is not only denial on the part of the nations of the Americas and Europe but those responsible for this Holocaust Denial in relation to Indian America insist on an image of being the world's caretakers of holocaust memory. What a bloody audacity.

This brilliant book re-addresses the imbalance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De-classified history and the forgotten holocaust, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World (Paperback)
This book explains our blind cliches towards the native americans. The genocide of the native americans of north and south america was the biggest genocide in history and the biggest denied. This was no accident ideology especially christian philosophy played a prominent role in it the disease aspects just were an accidental bonus advantage to fulfil their murderous campaigns to completion. The later has become the status quo however marginalising the former. Dr Stannard legitimately believes that racism is deeply rooted in European culture for such a hateful campaign to happen. Drawing on traditional European social and political attitudes that can be traced back to Ancient Greece and its successor Christianity for such a massive genocide to happen covered up by a propaganda campaign which has influenced our history books till this one came out. The American holocaust also directly influenced Hitler and his murderous rampages and prior to that colonialism in which European and Christian supremacy played a huge role in later atrocities which are officially denied. The trouble is these deeply rooted traditions are still dominant in inner circles with recent conflicts in the volatile balkans as well more conspicuously in the Middle and Far East the so-called war on terror which is an irony as America likes to point out the atrocities of others and ignore its own History is sure written by the winners. So long as these traditions still dominate we can only see global misery and this is also the deep legacy of this book for which one day like Edward Said's Orientalism becomes a classic as its merit is of that status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading - an amazing historical work, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World (Paperback)
Wow...this book will truly open your eyes and probably (as with me) move you. It's not what you think you know, it's what you don't...too often, we just see the world from a one way lens of values and judgement. This book makes that so clear.

Stannard's work teaches us so much about History - great insights into precolonial societies and some truly mind blowing evidence...Stannard gives the reader a true historical sense of perspective and sense of how much we are often disinformed on issues like this. The evidence in the book is truly amazing if at times grim; if you want a book to take you out of your world view comfort zone of knowledge, this one does it. Scholarly referenced and incredibly interesting...this work should be read, respected and required reading all over the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The white man should hang his head in shame!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World (Paperback)
If you are Spanish you SHOULD read this book.
If you are English you SHOULD read this book.
And if you are Christian you SHOULD read this book.
Read it....and weep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
describes the genocide perpetrated by white settlers in the new world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
By 
Rhodri G. Thomas (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent seller. A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World
American Holocaust: The Conquest of the New World by David E. Stannard (Paperback - 13 Oct 1994)
£15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews