Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best value anatomy reference books
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:27 Mins
Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist by Stephen Rogers Peck is an anatomy reference book.

It covers everything from bones, to muscles to topics like fat, veins, hair, age, sex, race and expression. There are some photos for reference as well. The writeup is descriptive and simple to understand. The examples are well illustrated and...
Published on 26 Nov. 2009 by Parka

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is a frankly laughably bad if it wasn't so racist section on drawing different ...
This appears to be by somebody involved in training illustrators for Madison Avenue in the early fifties who is only into illustration. There is a frankly laughably bad if it wasn't so racist section on drawing different ones.

There is a reasonable set of labelled body element illustrations that I find more useful than G's anatomy.

There are some...
Published 8 months ago by John M.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best value anatomy reference books, 26 Nov. 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
Length:: 0:27 Mins

Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist by Stephen Rogers Peck is an anatomy reference book.

It covers everything from bones, to muscles to topics like fat, veins, hair, age, sex, race and expression. There are some photos for reference as well. The writeup is descriptive and simple to understand. The examples are well illustrated and clearly labeled. It's pretty comprehensive.

While it also has some figure drawing tips and instructions, it certainly is not as comprehensive as dedicated figure drawing books. Here, it's on the approach to drawing certain parts. There's not much on posing the figure.

I see this book get mentioned a lot on art forums online, for good reasons. It's useful and very affordable.

This book's recommended to beginner and intermediate artists.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 1 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
I cannot stress enough how brilliant this book is. There's so many anatomy books that can show you in massively detailed drawings whats under the hood of your skin, but this one is so different. It breaks down in such simple ways how bones and muscles work, that even a child could massively improve their knowledge at a simple glance.

Peck often makes comparisons of body contours and shapes to shapes of households objects so your mind never forgets them, and uses measurements and distances from one contour to another so that you can always know your not going wrong.
I recommend this anatomy book above all 17 of my others.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is an excellent resource, 19 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
This atlas of human anatomy is unlike any other 'anatomy for artists' I've ever seen; it is by far the best. It is a wealth of information about the human body. Pecks book unpacks the human body as the three dimensional and dynamic structure that it is. He covers the physics of how the body is built how it moves, grows, ages, gains weight and the distinctions of race. This book utilizes many types of drawings, paintings, photographs, and diagrams to illustrate the human body, AND it explains every muscle, the derivation of its latin name, its origin, insertion and action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done. An excellent reference for the artist., 8 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
This anatomy book covers areas of the body which other books of its type overlook. If you need to draw a knee, this book tells you how. It contains some photographs of models to give a visual reference from where the drawings were derived. If you are looking for photographs for reference, this may not be your book. The poses are straight forward and simple, giving a basic view at the human figure. It is an excellent book to have on the shelves. I own a large number of anatomy books, some sketck oriented, some photographic. This is by far the most used of my collection. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlas not "how to"..., 17 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
This book generally gives us images for reference (and quite good too) of the human body. You probably can't learn anatomy by reading this (you already need a solid idea) but you can still combine this either when learning from some other artist or just looking up this book when you are having a hard time with something. It's a cheap book but don't be fooled by the price it's something worth buying. I can't think of a score different than 5 stars (maybe 6) this is just one of those books that every artist needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. A clear, thorough and lively exposition of human anatomy for the purpose of drawing people., 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
This is an interesting one. My gut reaction is that this book is even better than Loomis's "for all it's worth", but I think his book and the various materials around the internet that I've been studying have prepared me so that this book can finally hammer home a lot of the concepts and details. The illustrations are not just thorough, they're lively. They work from the inside of the body out, and from abstract roughing out shapes through approximate anatomical features to the deftly rendered real deal. The illustration is beefed up with a thorough write-up of everything so you can be sure you've got it. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It does help, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
Some people complain about this book, but I'm guessing that they were looking for a book that could be used for reference only. This does more than that, as it takes the time to explain the things that you need to understand about anatomy, plus providing useful sketches. Some are kind of blurry, so that could be improved, but other than that, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the market for human anatomy, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
This book I will be buying another copy of . Its the best book i've found in 20yrs for human anatomy the reference pics are sublime and the skull reference pics are the best ive have yet to see in any art book dealing with subject matter .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shows you every part of the body from every angle ..., 1 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
Shows you every part of the body from every angle, and the relative proportions. It won't teach you how to draw or paint, but it'll help you understand what you're aiming for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value!, 14 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) (Paperback)
I'm studying the human anatomy to improve my drawings, and this book gives me great references.
Best of all, it's one of the cheapest out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books)
Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist (Galaxy Books) by Stephen Rogers Peck (Paperback - 15 July 1982)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews