Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eden would have felt like this....
When I picked up this book from a friend's bookshelf, I thought it was about language. Being an English graduate, I was curious. However, I was not expecting to respond the way I did. I found a book that has been immensely important to me (even as a non-architect) for the last ten years.
I discovered photos and patterns of living and building that connected with...
Published on 6 Jun 2002 by caroken41@aol.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somehow a bit anticlimactic ...
I dove into it with enthusiasm as expected, but by the time I'd reached the end I was surprised to find myself wondering if I'd ever pick it up off the shelf again, and considering it's a pretty pricey book, had I known that I might have held off from ordering.

I agree with any other reviewers who consider it utopian, certainly in the city/community planning...
Published 22 months ago by Ellino-amerikanaki


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eden would have felt like this...., 6 Jun 2002
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
When I picked up this book from a friend's bookshelf, I thought it was about language. Being an English graduate, I was curious. However, I was not expecting to respond the way I did. I found a book that has been immensely important to me (even as a non-architect) for the last ten years.
I discovered photos and patterns of living and building that connected with something very deeply within me. It is a book that can move to tears. One reviewer has called it Utopian - I disagree. To me it's Edenic. It has stumbled across something that expresses a latent desire within all of us - to experience true community.
We have been starved over the centuries, especially since the Industrial Revolution, of an environment that is fully congruent with community, with life and with relationships.
The patterns of building in this book are patterns for living in a connected way. It refuses to view buildings as merely aesthetic singularities but recognises the connections between humanness, the land and our constructions.
The book is timeless, not dated, hopeful, insightful, caring for the whole person. I abhor some of the urban monstrosities that are raised up without a single thought for how people experience them whether visually or kinaesthetically, or how they connect with other buildings or the land they are built on.
It's a magical book. Even if you know nothing about architecture, it will delight and stun you. It should be compulsory reading for anyone involved in urban planning or architecture. Please read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great books of the century, 28 May 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
Alexander tried to show that architecture connects people to their surroundings in an infinite number of ways, most of which are subconscious. For this reason, it was important to discover what works; what feels pleasant; what is psychologically nourishing; what attracts rather than repels. These solutions, found in much of vernacular architecture, were abstracted and synthesized into the "Pattern Language" about 20 years ago.
Unfortunately, although he did not say it then, it was obvious that contemporary architecture was pursuing design goals that are almost the opposite of what was discovered in the pattern language. For this reason, anyone could immediately see that Alexander's findings invalidated most of what practicing architects were doing at that time. The Pattern Language was identified as a serious threat to the architectural community. It was consequently suppressed. Attacking it in public would only give it more publicity, so it was carefully and off-handedly dismissed as irrelevant in architecture schools, professional conferences and publications.
Now, 20 years later, computer scientists have discovered that the connections underlying the Pattern Language are indeed universal, as Alexander had originally claimed. His work has achieved the highest esteem in computer science. Alexander himself has spent the last twenty years in providing scientific support for his findings, in a way that silences all criticism. He will publish this in the forthcoming four-volume work entitled "The Nature of Order". His new results draw support from complexity theory, fractals, neural networks, and many other disciplines on the cutting edge of science.
After the publication of this new work, our civilization has to seriously question why it has ignored the Pattern Language for so long, and to face the blame for the damage that it has done to our cities, neighborhoods, buildings, and psyche by doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for designers, planners and architects, 25 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
Part 2 of 3 part series.
This book is the dictionary for A Timeless Way of Building. The Oregon Experiment is a case study of the use of these ideas to plan a college campus.
This book is about functional design for humans rather than design for design's sake. It directly refutes the real estate industry's insistence on neutral design for quick sale (which is the industry's goal - not the goal of a homeowner!) It promotes design which fits the needs and desires of the user, not the developer or architect. The philosophy involves the users heavily in the process of design, permitting integrated design without requiring comprehensive knowledge of all interacting factors on the part of the designers, it is a way of modularizing the design process into smaller, comprehensible units which can be understood and discussed in a useful way.
You will not be disappointed in reading these books.
Yes, it's dated a bit, especially in it's language approach to social issues.
Yes, it's Utopian, but not impractical.
No, all of the patterns do not apply to all people in all places, but then, they are not intended to.
What is important is the basic premise: That physical environment design can either promote community or divide people. That there exist basic patterns of interaction between people, buildings, roads and environment.
No, you cannot just change your entire community overnight into a utopia (mores the shame) however, these books can help to redefine how your community grows and develops to improve the quality of life for everyone in the community.
All of the research is fairly old, but it is research into basic human actions and reactions to their surroundings - not something which is subject to a great deal of change - examples cover several thousand years.
If you're tired of strip malls, rampant development for development's sake, neighborhoods without character or community, irritating traffic patterns, multiple hour commutes, buildings which are uncomfortable to live and work in or just interested in improving your corner of the world, read these books and apply some of the principles wherever you feel they will fit your life.
I own multiple copies and recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential tool for making "places", 16 Mar 2007
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
As an architecture student, I'm amazed by how useful this book has turned out to be - whether you are just planning a small dwelling and want some tips regarding the size of balcony to put in (which will actually be used) or if you are looking at a bigger scheme or town planning on a grand scale, Alexander has done his research and observed carefully what works and what doesn't. The book is neatly divided up by sub-heading for types of features, users, types of habitation, you name it, if it features in any sort of conurbation, Alexander will have made an observation about how people behave in those places. Its very accessible despite its size - the short chapters (there are over 250 in the book) means you can quickly reference the problem you are looking to understand, or just dip into it and read something - for example, a three page explanation of why living in skyscrapers drives you made. So anyone just interested in humankind and living patterns from a trivia level would also probably enjoy this book. It should be on every architecture student's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best book ever written, 19 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
This book will enrich your life. You will begin by reading odd chapters (or Patterns as you will soon call them), and before you know it you will be drawn in to the quietly stated truisms present on every page. Every home project, from designing a new house through to putting up a simple shelf, will take on richer and deeper meaning. The end result being a heightened and very satisfying awareness of your surroundings and environment. Just one word of warning: ignore the first few patterns, they are outdated and idealistic. You will not ever regret this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expensive for its age, drastically needs updating to account for changes in tech, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
I really wanted this to be a stunning book. Certainly many of the "patterns" that are presented make perfect sense. The patterns often articulate things that you already know at a subconscious level, so there are lots of "oh, of course!" moments (in a good way). I got a *lot* from the building patterns themselves.

What it really, really needs, though, is updating for the 21st century. The construction section, in particular, is laughably out of date. It suggests avoiding the use of wood as a construction material because it's such a scarce and expensive resource. It talks about building vaulted structures out of resign reinforced burlap and lightwateight aggregate concrete. Good luck getting building regs to sign off on that. Basically, it's probably safe to ignore the entire section on construction.

The format really need updating. It's a small, very thick book with thin pages. If the pages were twice the size, there'd be room for more pictures (which would also be an opportunity to update the hideous, unclear black-and-white examples presently used), while allowing better quality paper and a thinner volume.

Finally, it's too expensive. I rarely begrudge paying for books, but this is unquestionably overpriced in my opinion. It should be at most half the current price given its age, the poor quality of pics, and the complete lack of updates in the 35 years since it was published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars methodical view of social utopia through architecture, 7 Nov 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
A Pattern Language presents a compelling case for the influence of space, buildings, and landscape on human endeavors. We often overlook this force, accustomed as we are to accommodating spatial limitations and design flaws. But try entering any room and ignoring the cues of memory and social constraints-you will doubtless be drawn to the window in the room.
Alexander and his contributing editors present a series of patterns that operate universally on the mood and activities of people using spaces. "Light on Two Sides," for example, is a pattern describing the impact of light entering a room from two directions. Functionally, this arrangement softens light by cancelling the harsh shadows that arise from a single light direction. Emotionally, this makes a room more pleasant to live and work in, and may of its own accord encourage certain activities.
Alexander's huge study of over 200 patterns is at once modest and sweeping. He details patterns with care, and offers sketches and photographs to illustrate them, along with an unassuming voice. Above all, he demystifies architecture itself, calling upon any reader to assume a role in the design process. Despite this humility, the significance of Alexander's vision is always present. In the end, he is constructing a formula for social utopia-an architectural prescription for living well and wisely. From integrating children and senior citizens into the daily life of a community to revealing the advantages of mixed use commercial and residential zoning, Alexander proposes ideas that can successfully animate any town's master planning efforts.
Read this book if you're designing house, working with an architect, looking for a new house, or contributing to your city's planning commission. You will doubtless come away with a heightened appreciation for the influence of space on your choices and activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration for practical work., 12 Jun 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
Useless, if you want to build a souless spec house in a faceless suburb, invaluable, if you want to construct a living space that works for genus homo sapiens.

Many times I have stopped in mid hammerswing and climbed down a ladder to consult this bible. I will ask myself what Christopher Alexander meant by.

"The feeling of overcrowding is largely created by the mean point to point distances inside a building" (chapter 109)

How can I learn from this and incorporate that understanding into the next hammerswing.

More important than accurate plans, more important than sharp sawblades, This is the one book I most value on my construction sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going beyond architecture, 19 Nov 2006
By 
J. H. S. Roodt "Jan Roodt" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
Alexander builds a picture of the common connection elements that make a house, a building, a community and a city work. Going beyond trying to quantify or even causation in its narrower sense, he discovers for us how things fit together so we enjoy it and feel comfortable with it. Amazinly, he then uses this "language" as he goes on to give tangible examples, things that we can all relate to. In a way, he discovers elements of post-modern architecture and it challenges thoughts about form and function by insisting on talking about feelings. If you are studying the philosophy of complexity, please consider this book as part of your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somehow a bit anticlimactic ..., 1 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pattern Language: Towns, Buildings, Construction (Center for Environmental Structure Series) (Hardcover)
I dove into it with enthusiasm as expected, but by the time I'd reached the end I was surprised to find myself wondering if I'd ever pick it up off the shelf again, and considering it's a pretty pricey book, had I known that I might have held off from ordering.

I agree with any other reviewers who consider it utopian, certainly in the city/community planning sense, although at the same time I'd have to admit that I agree with many of the ideas. It was really in the details of planning a house that it disappointed and as that was the section I most looked forward to, well, "bummer" (to stick with the lovely touchy-feely hippie vernacular the book inspires).

I don't know as I'd call many of the patterns having to do with house building 'utopian' but I sure would call them either impractical or impracticable -- or both. I happen to have a summer home with thick walls as prescribed, but they're stone walls as most thick walls would be, I'd think, and so they hardly fit the notion of flexible/re-shape-able walls which are so highly recommended as one means by which generations can leave their mark on a house thus making it a home. That's all very nice in theory, and if you're designing a house to be built from scratch maybe you can incorporate this and more of the ideas within, but for so many of us it just isn't a reality.

Fine, perhaps the book was intended for architects when written and still is most suited to them. I daresay even they, however, would have a heck of a time getting all rooms both oriented South and with windows on at least two sides, and with varying ceiling heights -- if for no other reason than the increase in cost.

And for heaven's sake, don't get me started on all the ideas relating to the bathing rooms or on all the exposed shelving in the kitchens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews