Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!
This book was well worth the money and fully deserves its 5 stars! I have only recently begun teaching a group of Spanish adults. Some are complete beginners and others had a little knowledge. They all bought the book and I bought the teachers' book and CD which make lesson plans a doddle! The units are very well thought out and introduce vocabulary and grammar slowly,...
Published on 19 Dec 2009 by Catherine Argibay

versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Headway converts to American English
Very unfortunately, "New Headway Elementary", which used to be an excellent British English textbook, has now been converted into a horrible mish-mash of British and American, with a strong American bias. Recommended for Americans maybe, but definitely not recommended for British English.
Published on 29 Sep 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Catherine Argibay (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Headway: Elementary Third Edition: Student's Book: Six-level general English course for adults: Student's Book Elementary level (Headway ELT) (Paperback)
This book was well worth the money and fully deserves its 5 stars! I have only recently begun teaching a group of Spanish adults. Some are complete beginners and others had a little knowledge. They all bought the book and I bought the teachers' book and CD which make lesson plans a doddle! The units are very well thought out and introduce vocabulary and grammar slowly, progressing gradually through the book with the use of interesting stories and real life situations. There is the option to progress at your own speed through the units and they provide a mixture spoken and written exercises. Fully recommended for any teacher of beginners/elementary English students!New Headway Elementary - the THIRD edition: Teacher's Book: Teacher's Book Elementary level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexism, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Headway: Elementary Third Edition: Student's Book: Six-level general English course for adults: Student's Book Elementary level (Headway ELT) (Paperback)
I couldn't agree more about the ridiculous sexism of the Headway books.
Men are stupid and women are fantastic.
At first it irritated me - but, as I teach exclusively to international business people with brains, I quickly discovered that I can use this as a tool since they all laugh themselves silly at the hilariously funny attempts to be absolutely perfectly politically correct on every level of gender equality - reversing every possible stereotype about men.
More please more - it's great fun - how about some sexual orientation equality or some disability equality - after all - business people come to Britain first and foremost to learn about gender equality and only secondly do their companies pay for their english tuition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Headway converts to American English, 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Very unfortunately, "New Headway Elementary", which used to be an excellent British English textbook, has now been converted into a horrible mish-mash of British and American, with a strong American bias. Recommended for Americans maybe, but definitely not recommended for British English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One word@ twee, 13 Nov 2011
By 
DS Sloan "DSSloan" (Slovakia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Headway: Elementary Third Edition: Student's Book: Six-level general English course for adults: Student's Book Elementary level (Headway ELT) (Paperback)
In the light of advancing formats, and more communicative approaches, the Soars approach seems a little creaky.
They serve a purpose, but many exercises (certainly in int and upper inet) are focused on too many comrephension tasks.
The layout (and New Cutting Edge has the same fault, but at least has redeeming features)fails to take into account the
new double-page mini unit format (Face2Face, Total English - it works less well on the Oxford English Result series, but
that's due to content, rather than format [though the Eng Result Upp Int is pretty good, the Int less so).

This seems a middle-brow, middle-of-the-road, twee series. it gives off a feel of middle England, Agatha Christie tweeness.
the elementary and pre-int are still serviceable but outclassed by Face2Face certainly. The Headway Int and Upp Int....
I give up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ESOL book on the market, 10 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I teach ESL in China, and the New Headway series is a Godsend. Yes, the new books focus more on American English, which is the rage here these days. Students tell me American English is easier to pronounce and easier to understand than British English. Since AE is the preferred language for international business, it makes sense to expose students to it. I got so tired of reading other ESL books that focus on British references and British examples, this is a true breath of fresh air!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for the price it is fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars happy with the book, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Headway: Elementary Third Edition: Student's Book: Six-level general English course for adults: Student's Book Elementary level (Headway ELT) (Paperback)
It is a clear course with good references and grammar points throughout. Am happy with it overall. Will use it alot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Headway: Elementary Third Edition: Student's Book: Six-level general English course for adults: Student's Book Elementary level (Headway ELT) (Paperback)
I ordered it for my mother, as she is doing an English course that requires this book. Much easier for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential and very useful for beginners, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already knew this method and I wouldn't change it. Although I 'd use updates I still like using old stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
This review is from: New Headway: Elementary Third Edition: Student's Book: Six-level general English course for adults: Student's Book Elementary level (Headway ELT) (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews