Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IELTS Practice Tests
Summary: excellent book, easy to use, good results!
Reviewer: a teacher from London, England.

I always use this book with students in a hurry to pass IELTS, who don't have time to work through a coursebook, or who don't need to.

The tests are right on the level of the actual exam, and the tips cover all the main task types. What works...
Published on 24 Oct 2007 by Paul Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for General Test
I should have read the description more carefully - and I''m a native speaker!
This includes the Academic Reading and Writing tests only - not the General ones.
The Listening and Speaking tests are included, and they are the same for Academic and General.
It includes one of each of the 4 tests - not 4 sets of tests - so rather expensive.
Download the...
Published 13 months ago by NORMA LEILA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IELTS Practice Tests, 24 Oct 2007
By 
Paul Morris (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
Summary: excellent book, easy to use, good results!
Reviewer: a teacher from London, England.

I always use this book with students in a hurry to pass IELTS, who don't have time to work through a coursebook, or who don't need to.

The tests are right on the level of the actual exam, and the tips cover all the main task types. What works particularly well is the way the advice in the Strategies boxes is followed up by the Improve your Skills feature, where learners try out the suggestions and then check their answers before proceeding. Also, when they finish the actual tests, students can use the Explanatory Key to self-correct and find out why particular answers are right or wrong.

The texts are well chosen, taken from authentic sources such as National Geographic and New Scientist. Personal favourites include the passages about studying tree rings, the history of dogs and the power of light, but everyone will have their own preferences.

Possibly the best recommendation comes from the students themselves. I've noticed that those who finish the reading module early don't just sit there - they leaf through the pages and soon find another interesting text to read.

I would recommend this book to IELTS teachers everywhere, and to students preparing for the exam on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, but well worth the struggle!, 13 May 2009
By 
Jen1977ni "UlsterJenInOz" (Queensland, Australia, but formerly Norn Iron...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
I got this book to help me prepare for the General Training exam. I was doing the exam to gain extra points for my Australian visa. It's a difficult book, obviously because it has Academic Reading and Writing, but by doing the more difficult tests, when I sat the actual exam I was more than prepared and actually found the General Training exam so much easier! It worked too as I got:

Reading: 9
Writing: 8.5
Speaking: 9
and Listening: 9 and all I needed was a pass of 7 per section!

Thanks Peter May, thats a great study guide/set of practice tests you have there! Would definitely recommend again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best choices, 1 Dec 2008
By 
E. Tan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
I can definitely say that it is one of the best ielts books. From sample tests to design, everthing is so professional.this book,certainly, deserves the money that I paid and you will pay.
If you are familiar with ielts exam and need practise, you can buy it without hestitaion. I am sure you will be satisfied with it.
there are four ielts practise tests and each of them and each section (listening,reading speaking and writing I,II) have explanatory and module answers that enable you comprehend the main idea of ielts exam.
highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
I think this is the definitive book for ielts preparation. it offers 4 full tests, 2 cds so that all the audio parts are complete, full correction keys and many usefull tips.
Very good value, very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
Received rapidly. The book corresponds to the order, and to the good reviews it has received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not a bad one, 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
The book gives you number of tests with keys and some tips how to completed them.
I think a bit more instructions would be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for preparation for the IELTS test!, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
The book is very good guid in order to see how the real IELTS test looks. It has also recommendation on strategies how to approach the test which you may find handy when doing the tests first time. The tests in the book are very similar to real one. I only used this book, have not attanded any courses, English is my second language and I have passed the Academic IELTS tesr with overall Band 7.5 out of nine! Very well recommended, you will not require more expensive cambridge version which is basicly the same thing. I deffinitly recommend the practice tests with CDs as it allowes you to experience full test.Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A goog buy, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
Item has some signs of wear, however, if you buy it to learn the condition is not as importantas the context and the latter is just fine. All in all, the book matches its describtion. The only flaw: one CD has been missing but it is no bother at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for General Test, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
I should have read the description more carefully - and I''m a native speaker!
This includes the Academic Reading and Writing tests only - not the General ones.
The Listening and Speaking tests are included, and they are the same for Academic and General.
It includes one of each of the 4 tests - not 4 sets of tests - so rather expensive.
Download the free practice tests on the British Council IELTS website before buying practice tests.
And good luck to all those taking the tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I find this book, by far, more difficult than the actual ielts tests.Here is one reason why, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key (Paperback)
In Ielts listening, the answers will follow the order of the speaker. For example, you may be given a choice,

A maths B science C technology

24. Which is the least popular?
25. All students study this?
26. All students have an option?

Question 24 is always answered before 25 or 26.

This is not the case with May, 2011. Listening test 4 page 98 questions 25-29.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IELTS Practice Tests:: With explanatory key and Audio CDs (2) Pack: With Key
22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews