Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars indispensable
This book helps you to understand the logic of the language, which is often implicit and hard to grab and answers any question you have (it is also modified regularly so don't worry for being outdated).
I was recommended this book by my English teacher and bought it - almost ten years ago. It is not a big book and was very useful to read through in the first place...
Published on 10 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
It is a good book, but not really for the beginner, like myself. I will need to put in some hard work to get through it.
Published 15 months ago by Conicer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars indispensable, 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
This book helps you to understand the logic of the language, which is often implicit and hard to grab and answers any question you have (it is also modified regularly so don't worry for being outdated).
I was recommended this book by my English teacher and bought it - almost ten years ago. It is not a big book and was very useful to read through in the first place. Ten years on, I still go back to it when I have some questions on grammar.
If you don't have your reliable grammar book, definitely go for this one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible for English teachers and students, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
As an English teacher to foreign students for the past 8 years, I have found this book invaluable. It has an excellent index at the back which makes it child's play to find out, for example, what the difference is between "that" and "which" and when to use each one, with helpful examples. Everything is explained clearly and the book is appropriate for intermediate to advanced students to use on their own. I have bought 4 copies of this book over the years, giving two to my advanced-level students for their own use and passing one on to a teacher about to teach English for the first time. I really can't recommend this book enough - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Mr Pereira (Ferrol, A Coruña. Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
I have used this grammar book for more than 30 years. It is a very clear reference book which solves all the doubts you may find in the English Grammar. It has got a helpful index so, the grammar points are easy to find in the book. The grammar explanations are very accurate and easy to understand.
This issue corresponds to the 4th edition of the book and ,in my opinion, it should be revised and updated; the language has changed along the years and consequently, new and more updated examples would be required.
To sum up, I can say that this book has accompanied my English studies since I was at a Secondary school until my studies at University.
Let us not forget the two Exercises books!
Bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible of English grammar, 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
As my university professor used to say this is the bible of the English language. Hardcore grammar rules going from A to Z, the ultimate must have grammar book that you can pick up anytime to check virtually anything. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, thorough and very neatly organised, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
This is one of the best grammar references you could hope for. The scope is breathtaking for a book of its size, the layout is very neat with lots of useful examples. Overall a highly recommended reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful and handy, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The exercises book is very useful for daily practise. kept well, and very clear. delivery is good and so as price. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Practical English Grammar by Thomson & Martinet, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is an reference book for teachers of English as a Foreign Language. I am delighted to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
Anything Special about this grammar reference. It's a good one, though. The explanations are easily understandable and the index facilitates your searches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference book, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
I use this book for reference to grammer and for the purpose of my teaching plans for everyday lessons. Its always important to keep a copy available for references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) (Paperback)
It is a good book, but not really for the beginner, like myself. I will need to put in some hard work to get through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition)
A Practical English Grammar (4th Edition) by A. V. Martinet (Paperback - 26 Jun 1986)
£19.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews