Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2001
This book helps you to understand the logic of the language, which is often implicit and hard to grab and answers any question you have (it is also modified regularly so don't worry for being outdated).
I was recommended this book by my English teacher and bought it - almost ten years ago. It is not a big book and was very useful to read through in the first place. Ten years on, I still go back to it when I have some questions on grammar.
If you don't have your reliable grammar book, definitely go for this one .
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
As an English teacher to foreign students for the past 8 years, I have found this book invaluable. It has an excellent index at the back which makes it child's play to find out, for example, what the difference is between "that" and "which" and when to use each one, with helpful examples. Everything is explained clearly and the book is appropriate for intermediate to advanced students to use on their own. I have bought 4 copies of this book over the years, giving two to my advanced-level students for their own use and passing one on to a teacher about to teach English for the first time. I really can't recommend this book enough - you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
I have used this grammar book for more than 30 years. It is a very clear reference book which solves all the doubts you may find in the English Grammar. It has got a helpful index so, the grammar points are easy to find in the book. The grammar explanations are very accurate and easy to understand.
This issue corresponds to the 4th edition of the book and ,in my opinion, it should be revised and updated; the language has changed along the years and consequently, new and more updated examples would be required.
To sum up, I can say that this book has accompanied my English studies since I was at a Secondary school until my studies at University.
Let us not forget the two Exercises books!
Bye!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
As my university professor used to say this is the bible of the English language. Hardcore grammar rules going from A to Z, the ultimate must have grammar book that you can pick up anytime to check virtually anything. Highly recommended!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
A Practical English Grammar provides many examples of all aspects of english grammar and it is laid out clearly. This book contains a vast amount of interesting information and is good value for money. However, if you are looking for a more basic book to help you construct a sentances this book is possibly too advanced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This is one of the best grammar references you could hope for. The scope is breathtaking for a book of its size, the layout is very neat with lots of useful examples. Overall a highly recommended reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Complex but really insightful and useful guide to English grammar. Regularly updated but this edition still excellent. Compliments simpler grammar guides such as Murphy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
As describe, good condition for a second hand book. For a new teacher who isnt the best at english grammar, this book is perfect! Explains everything is alot of detail
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
I use this book for reference to grammer and for the purpose of my teaching plans for everyday lessons. Its always important to keep a copy available for references.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Really useful grammar book, can be a bit "old grammar", but works perfectly. The bad part is that can be a bit boring because doesn't have drawings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)