Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reference book for all levels
My English lecturer recomended this book to me, and I have never regretted buying it. As a non-native speaker of English, I find this reference book to be very straight foward and answers most, if not all, of my questions on English. The defferences between formal written English, and informal written English are clearly explained, and there are a lot of examples too. As...
Published on 15 Feb. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to have.
This book comes very highly recommended, but I think I will find it more useful when I am working rather than for the TEFL course I have just finished.
Published on 28 Feb. 2013 by TRISH ELLIS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great book, an essential asset, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me to give solid and easy to understand grammar explanations to my students, and it does just that. It has provided me with sound reinforcement of my own knowledge of English grammar rules, particularly regarding things that I was struggling to explain beforehand. I'm very pleased I bought this book, and is one of the few grammar books that I refer to regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Gogol (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Great book both for learners and students of English. It pretty much covers all you need to know and more, gives lots of sentences as examples so you can actually put things into context.

Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for clarifying points of grammar but also very detailed ..., 25 July 2014
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Very useful for clarifying points of grammar but also very detailed so you need to know something about grammar in order to get the best out of this book. Not for beginners but a helpful teaching aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely useful!, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
The object is consistent with picture and description. Suitable for foreign students who look for a simple manual on the usage of english spoken/written grammar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good to have., 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This book comes very highly recommended, but I think I will find it more useful when I am working rather than for the TEFL course I have just finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have this book on your shelf., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Brilliant, self explanatory book. Information explained simplistically which is easily digestible. I'll recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I think it gives you the basics, and if you read it before the class, it helps a lot. Very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for explaining usage, 5 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
It is all in the title: a practical guide to practical usage. Excellent for inexperienced and expert non-mother tongue English users alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Brilliant seller. Quick despatch. Item arrived as it was described. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 19 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This book is a quick reference to grammar concepts and correct usage of words. The aspect I most apreciated is the huge use of everyday life examples (the "pen is on the table" is not an option is this book) instead of rules as a mean of explanation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practical English Usage (2nd Edition)
Practical English Usage (2nd Edition) by Michael Swan (Paperback - 1 Jan. 1995)
Used & New from: £3.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews