Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piano Time Carols
A lovely book with a good range of familiar carols. My daughter is Grade 1 piano standard and she was able to play the carols easily, and the arrangements although straightforward, sound nice. We were able to stand around the piano and sing along at Christmas!
Published on 3 Feb. 2009 by Beevel

versus
50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for absolute beginner
I bought this book as I was looking for something within the grasp of someone who wasn't quite Grade 1 standard i.e. me. However even at my low standard it was far too simple. Although you are using both hands there are no chords or anything remotely challanging. You could quite easily play the pieces with one finger. The only interesting bit was that there was an...
Published on 26 Dec. 2010 by Doh


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piano Time Carols, 3 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
A lovely book with a good range of familiar carols. My daughter is Grade 1 piano standard and she was able to play the carols easily, and the arrangements although straightforward, sound nice. We were able to stand around the piano and sing along at Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional carols for young pianists, 15 Dec. 2009
By 
S. Hubbard "big ted" (Halifax, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
My 6 year old has been playing the piano for just over a year, and her teacher thought this book would be just right for her level (approx Grade 1) - it certainly was!!

My daughter loves it and, over the course of three lessons, has played through nearly every one. Coming up to Christmas as we are, it's lovely to hear all the old favourites played with such enthusiasm and pride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suitable around Prep Test Level, 26 May 2013
By 
C (Sale, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
When I bought this for my daughter, she has been learning the piano for 3 months and the existing reviews didn't seem to say what level it was good for, so I've come back to write a review and say that she wasn't able to play these after 3 months of lessons. She could play nearly all of them after having taken the Prep Test so I would say it was suitable for that sort of level. Hope that helps other buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection., 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for both adults and children who want a simple book where they can play a few Carols. It is mostly geared towards children but is not too simplified so I do have some adult pupils which have enjoyed this book. There are numerous titles in this book, all really popular, there are no 'fillers' in just to make up the numbers, every piece is a welcome addition. There are some good, simple yet effective duets, a really enjoyable book. It's reasonably priced, like the rest of the books in Pauline Hall's Piano Time series, and the books' design means that it stays open on the music stand and lays flat so the book doesn't fly off whilst you are playing. For newer learners really but my pupils who have been playing longer still like to dig this book out and use it as a starting point and add their own notes to it also. The pieces are of quite equal standard throughout the book so it's not like some Carol Books you can get, where, the relatively new learner will want to do a few carols and only be able to do the first 2 or 3 until next year; in this book they can easily manage all of these so it's a real boost to their confidence. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for absolute beginner, 26 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
I bought this book as I was looking for something within the grasp of someone who wasn't quite Grade 1 standard i.e. me. However even at my low standard it was far too simple. Although you are using both hands there are no chords or anything remotely challanging. You could quite easily play the pieces with one finger. The only interesting bit was that there was an alternative accompaniment for most of the carols presumably for a piano teacher to play along at the same time.

This book would be ideal for someone who is possibly a month or two into learning the piano. It covers a range of well known carols so it makes it easy to learn as most people would be familiar with the pieces. If you're at Grade 1 standard I'm sure you would find this far too simplistic.

Carols covered are:

Away in a manger, I saw three ships, Kings of Orient, In dulci jubilo, Good King Wenceslas, O come all ye faithful, While shepherds watched their flocks, Deck the hall, The first Nowell, Silent night, Once in royal David's city, God rest you merry gentlemen, In the bleak mid winter, The holly and the ivy, A merry Christmas, Jingle bells, Hark the herald angels sing, Ding dong merrily on high, O little town of Bethlehem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, 10 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
It is a good product for beginners. Some of the pieces are very short and very easy. If you're looking for long pieces to play this isn't for you. However there are a good selection of pieces which are traditional with the lyrics so everyone can join in singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
Midlands Traveller (West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
This is at just the right level for a beginner pianist and provides a great deal of enjoyment. The only problem is that many children these days do not know the traditional carols. We Wish You a Merry Christmas and Jingle Bells is in there though and it is a good way of teaching them old favourites which their parents and grandparents can also enjoy. Many so called beginner books are too hard but this one is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Carol Book for beginners!, 20 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
Excellent book for both children and adults learning from scratch! Really easy to follow and recommended by my piano teacher- and I am 50!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 31 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
If you are learning the piano and want some easy carols to play at Christmas - this is definitely the book to buy. The carols are so easy to play so it makes learning fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piano Time Carols, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piano Time Carols (Paperback)
We are enjoying listening to my grand-daughter playing carols this year. Only 10 weeks into lessons, she picks this book out to practise on because she enjoys the challenge and the carols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piano Time Carols
Piano Time Carols by Pauline Hall (Paperback - 4 Aug. 1994)
£1.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews