Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The staple of many choirs Christmas services
I've been singing from this book with various choirs since the age of 11. It's got most of the favourites and often has interesting harmonies for the parts other than soprano.
Published on 13 Nov. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Carols For Choirs
Purchased to aid with S,A,T, B, parts in the choir in preparation for Christmas concerts. Very useful with some of the more traditional carols.
Published on 3 Jan. 2013 by Allan Hugman


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The staple of many choirs Christmas services, 13 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
I've been singing from this book with various choirs since the age of 11. It's got most of the favourites and often has interesting harmonies for the parts other than soprano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original collection, 12 Sept. 2008
By 
Kenneth F. Mcara "Kenneth F. McAra" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
It's difficult to believe that this little collection of 50 Christmas carols has been around for nearly 50 years. It contains versions of most carols that choirs are likely to want to sing, in a compact and light volume that is clearly printed and easy to navigate.

Those who want an even more comprehensive - and weighty - collection should investigate "100 Carols for Choirs" which features the most popular pieces from all 4 volumes in this series, but there is still plenty to enjoy here, in an edition which pre-dates John Rutter's involvement (either a good or a bad thing, depending upon your viewpoint).

There is even a service of Nine Lessons with Carols included as an appendix for your use. The book originally was accompanied by an LP with selected choirs; I wonder if my copy is worth anything?

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing book of Carols!, 13 Aug. 2007
By 
S. Arber (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
If you want some of the best chugging organ music and quality harmonies for traditional Christmas Carols then this is the best. The other books are good too, but book one is by far the best. Just amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Musical Arrangements for Carol Services, 12 Aug. 2009
This is a comprehensive and varied collection of carols which we found invaluable when arranging our school carol concert; I'm sure that despite its age (1961), other music teachers and choir leaders will find it equally useful.
The following is copied from a note by the editors (who also arranged the carols) at the beginning of the book...
"These 50 Christmas carols, mostly for fixed voices have been chosen and arranged with carol concerts and services in mind...
A little more than half are for unaccompanied singing, the remainder having accompaniments for piano or organ and incorporating varied harmonizations and descants.
There are 4 new carols written especially for the book as well as original compositions by Bach, Berlioz Britten etc.
The texts of the traditional Nine Lessons are printed as an appendix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best for traditional carols, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Matthews (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
This has been going for a long time now and the harmonies and descants for the traditional carols are now set in stone. This and Carols for Choirs 2 will set you up for always. The larger size than the original version is much more easy to handle - and to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A choral classic, 7 Oct. 2009
By 
Peter Biddlecombe "peterbiddlecombe" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
Very surprised to see that there's no review for this (presumably because most potential punters and reviewers already have a dog-eared copy). Carols for Choirs 1 & 2 are pretty much guaranteed to be on any British chorister's bookshelf, and many Christmas concerts or Nine Lessons and Carols services will have about three-quarters of their content taken from these. Some of the arrangements of well-known carols are quite complicated, so may need more rehearsal than you might think. Volume 2 is where John Rutter took over from Reginald Jacques, so does have quite a lot of his work - though not "What Sweeter Music", alas. The rowdy / non-religious side of Christmas is represented, with versions of Deck the Hall and the Twelve Days of Christmas for example (both book 2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a replacement, 16 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
I purchased this book to replace my original one which had become tatty and well used. I was surprised to find it was much larger than the original. This for me has been great as my eyesight has also become worn and I can still read this without glasses. Great. BUZZ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger and bolder, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
Classic carol book. Lost my old one and bought this to replace it, as it comes out every year.

It's slightly larger than the original printing and the print is bolder and blacker - all good for singing carols on dark evenings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Correct product, different wrapper!, 1 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
Four stars because not exactly as described. Item received was hardback, did not have the cover as pictured and was not covered in protective laminate. That said, in very good condition for a book over 50 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional selection of carols, 16 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 (Paperback)
This is the first in the Carols for Choirs series, first published in 1961, and has a wide range of favourite carols with great settings for choirs.

Many of your favourite descants are on its pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1
Carols for Choirs, 1: Fifty Christmas Carols: Bk. 1 by Reginald Jacques (Paperback - 24 Aug. 1961)
£14.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews