Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurrah - finally - a truly decent score!, 12 July 2009
By 
J. Hutchings "jjhutchings" (Framlingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
"Who has Prout? Who has Watkins Shaw? What do you mean, you're the only one with Bärenreiter? There's always one..."

The choice of scores when performing Messiah are mind-boggling, and a nightmare for any conductor or choir librarian. I have long been a fan of my updated Novello - with the music finally re-typeset from its early 20th Century calligraphy. However, not all the different versions are included, and some parts of it are difficult in terms of page turns etc.

What a joy it is to see Clifford Bartlett come up with this magnificent creation. I've long been suspicious of the OUP, given their fondness for cramming as much music on a page as possible. This is a clearly presented score, with all the correct music in all the right places. The notes are fantastic, and the alternative editions for arias etc are usefully placed, easy to read and beautifully presented.

Bravo, Mr Bartlett. I'm putting the Novello back on the shelf...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly Handel, 5 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
This Oxford Choral Edition is much clearer to follow compared with my Novello Edition.
More than worth its price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handel made clear, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
This edition of the score is clear and well set out. It helped my interpretation and singing with the choir, enormously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vocal Score of Handel's Messaih, 3 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. R. L. Shotter (Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
Whenever I listen to my CD of The Messiah by The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra with the Royal Choral Society conducted by Sir Malcolm Sargent (the best recording of the Messiah in my opinion), I invariably open this vocal score to follow the various parts sung by the sopranos, altos, tenors, baritones and soloists. It helps me to follow everything being sung. In addition this score indicates every Biblical passage from which the score is taken. I find it is helpful, from time to time, to read the context of these passages of scripture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It would be hard to find better value, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
I needed to study the score of the Messiah, and I wanted an 'authentic' version, i.e., not one that had been 'improved' by 19th Century editors. This one fits the bill. Although I chose a cut-price copy, the one I received was brand new. And it was delivered within 48 hours. Impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and precise, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
The score is well presented and easily read. I am not a pianist but can follow the notes quite easily on my Keyboard which in turn helps me learn my choral pieces. Thank you Amazon for your speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
Although I haven't actually used it much, I will be doing so from October onwars as rehearsals start. But I can say that it appears to be very clearly laid out & easy to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great edition, 3 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
A very clearly printed edition, well laid out. Personally I preferred it to the Novello edition and would very much recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Score for Messiah, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
Excellent score and very good value. Chose it as a gift but would like to buy one for myself. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) (Paperback)
Good well presented score - but check with choir before buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works)
Messiah: Vocal score (Classic Choral Works) by George Frideric Handel (Paperback - 10 Sept. 1998)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews