Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best introduction to political philosophy.
As a philosophy graduate I can without hesitation recommend this book as the finest introduction to political philosophy. Covering all the major areas of comtemporary debate, Wolff offers an exceptionally clear account of the issues and arguments.
Beginning which the fundamental question of why there should be a state at all, he moves towards the crucial debates...
Published on 3 Jan 2001

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good though incomplete
Enjoyable reading for those who want to become acquainted with some questions of political philosophy. However, no introduction to political philosophy is complete with only one page dedicated to Burke and Oakeshott and not a single reference to Popper or Isaiah Berlin. Nevertheless, pleasing.
Published on 21 Sep 2002 by Carlos do Carmo Carapinha


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very accessible and honestly engaging, 10 Nov 2006
As an upper sixth-form student hoping to pursue a partial degree in philosophy, this book has been an excellent introduction to the central issues of political philosophy.

Lucid, impartial text that avoids dry language and communicates ideas clearly and enjoyably make this book a highly recommended pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect synopsis of the main political philosophers and arguments, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book proved ideal for my undergraduate module in Political Philosophy, I would recommend to any fellow students. It is very comprehensive while remaining crystal clear. It explains a variety of approaches within each chapter, tackling one issue at a time. As you progress, links are made with previous arguments that have arose. Personally I did not think I would enjoy reading a book on Political Philosophy, however I was nicely surprised about the fluidity and ease of the language, sparking a real interest. I breezed through the book in a matter of days. Serves as a good study/revision book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov 2011
This is a brilliant book by Wolff! He writes in a very logical and easy to follow way, explaining major concepts (often complicated) in a very accessible way. Great for all those who haven't done much philosophy before or those, who are just tired of authors hiding behind big words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best introduction to political philosophy, 23 Sep 2011
By 
S. MOHAMADI (London,SW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is now deservedly established as the best introduction to political philosophy. It is concise, rich and inspiring as it would make one to follow the ideas discussed further. Very informative, accessible and entertaining. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So usefull, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has really good info on political philosophy and was a lifesaver for me. Attempting to actually read all of Hobbes and Rousseau in the time I had was impossible, but this really helped me understand what they were on about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very readable and enjoyable. Would recommend to anyone who wants a basic primer. It's primarily concerned with the state and its power; the philosophy of politics, as you might expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow but very basic, 26 April 2010
By 
B. Oliveira (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Introduction to Political Philosophy (OPUS) (Paperback)
Very straighforward and easy to follow the arguments are set out very clearly with counter arguments, however the book is only a very very basic introduction and doesn't cover a lot of things i would have exprected it to cover and what it does cover is very brief, however, it's chapters on the state and justice i found particulary good. Would reccomend as a read, but suggest other books as this is missing quite a lot in terms of political philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a course book so had to be aquired fast, i shall use this site for more course material and i'll recommend it to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good though incomplete, 21 Sep 2002
By 
Carlos do Carmo Carapinha (Evora, Alentejo Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Introduction to Political Philosophy (OPUS) (Paperback)
Enjoyable reading for those who want to become acquainted with some questions of political philosophy. However, no introduction to political philosophy is complete with only one page dedicated to Burke and Oakeshott and not a single reference to Popper or Isaiah Berlin. Nevertheless, pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Introduction to Political Philosophy (OPUS)
An Introduction to Political Philosophy (OPUS) by Jonathan Wolff (Paperback - 8 Feb 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews