Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential
It has taken all humankind until Mr. Lovelock, before someone has had the insight, in an eureka moment, to understand how our precious planet really works. We are privileged to benefit from his pluridisciplinar background and independence of thought. The breakthrough laid down in this one book, in a very entertaining style, is only comparable to a handful of stellar...
Published on 17 May 2009 by Francesc Batlle

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting ideas
... but quite heavy reading, so not ideal for train journeys. It waswritten some time ago and must have been extremely controversial then, butnow lots of 'weird' ideas are proven by science.
Published on 21 April 2004 by wendytombleson2


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 17 May 2009
By 
Francesc Batlle (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ages of Gaia: A Biography of Our Living Earth (Paperback)
It has taken all humankind until Mr. Lovelock, before someone has had the insight, in an eureka moment, to understand how our precious planet really works. We are privileged to benefit from his pluridisciplinar background and independence of thought. The breakthrough laid down in this one book, in a very entertaining style, is only comparable to a handful of stellar moments in the history of humankind: our planet is suitable for life, precisely because all forms of life ceasessly toil to render it habitable. Go ahead, change forever the way you look at the world and your assessment of you place and role on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 11 Mar 2011
By 
C. Johnson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages of Gaia: A Biography of Our Living Earth (Paperback)
Cannot recomend this highly enough. Written in a clear, undestandable and most importantly an enjoyable style, this text was recomended reading for my degree (phytochemistry and biochemistry) and I can completely understand why. One of the few 'learning' books you will thoroughly enjoy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages of Gaia: A Biography of Our Living Earth (Paperback)
Excellent read. Feel informed."..........we're doommmmmmed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars noice, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages of Gaia: A Biography of Our Living Earth (Paperback)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clever book - makes you think!, 29 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ages of Gaia: A Biography of Our Living Earth (Paperback)
In this book J. Lovelock really shows the power of the Gaia way of thinking. It is not necessary to have read the earlier books but it sure helps!
One of the most exiting features is the insight it offers in gaia reactions over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reaction to previous review, 7 Nov 2004
I have just heard James Lovelock interviewed on the radio. He is an extremely clear, insightful and original scientist who doesn't deserve the kind of patronisation he has been given here. His findings are not 'weird', he does not presume to have 'proved' anything via science and it's not as if he wrote this book as light reading for train journeys. I myself am going to buy it, read it, and possibly review it at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting ideas, 21 April 2004
... but quite heavy reading, so not ideal for train journeys. It waswritten some time ago and must have been extremely controversial then, butnow lots of 'weird' ideas are proven by science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ages of Gaia: A Biography of Our Living Earth
The Ages of Gaia: A Biography of Our Living Earth by James Lovelock (Paperback - 28 Sep 2000)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews