Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penrose's Fascinating Summary of Modern Science
Roger Penrose, one of the world's top physicists, summarizes modern science, examining topics including Turing machines, relativity, quantum physics, black holes, etc. At the end, he argues that the human mind can not be simulated by computers or anything algorithmic. The Emperor's New Mind is my favorite book, although I didn't feel that way the first time I read...
Published on 16 Feb 1999

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Profound but challenging and more complex than it need be
This is a profound book which, inspired by investigations into the nature of the human mind and of artificial intelligence, takes the reader on a roller-coaster tour of aspects of computer science, maths and physics. It calls for a lot of concentration and is not for the faint-hearted. Explanations of many concepts are at a fairly technical level, full of equations and...
Published on 18 July 2010 by M. F. Cayley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penrose's Fascinating Summary of Modern Science, 16 Feb 1999
By A Customer
Roger Penrose, one of the world's top physicists, summarizes modern science, examining topics including Turing machines, relativity, quantum physics, black holes, etc. At the end, he argues that the human mind can not be simulated by computers or anything algorithmic. The Emperor's New Mind is my favorite book, although I didn't feel that way the first time I read it. It is quite technical, compared to, for instance, A Brief History of Time, which covers some of the same topics. The second time I read the book, I really dedicated a lot of time to understand the material as well as I could, often working out problems with paper and pencil. This was necessary for me to see that his conclusion was related to the rest of the book. While Penrose obviously can not "prove" his belief, he gives a strong, fascinating arguement, and the book has definitely affected my philosophical views concerning consciousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Mathematically Advanced, 21 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emperor's New Mind: Concerning Computers, Minds, and the Laws of Physics (Popular Science) (Paperback)
I found this book stimulating and entertaining in equal measure. It looks at the questions such as -- if we had enough information, we could predict absolutely everything, or not? Is the human mind simply a machine (for example a computer)? Can we actually be transported Star-trek style or not? Are we (including our memories) just a collection of atoms that could be reconstituted?

In answering these questions Penrose embarks on a tour of the mathematical concepts and theories that underpin our understanding of the Universe.

There seems to be much more maths than is really needed, and there is a lot of theory (The book runs to over 500 pages after all). You will also need advanced A level maths to cope (on the basis that I just coped, and that's the level of maths I reached).

Entertaining and enjoyable IF you are interested in Maths. If you are not, stay away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Profound but challenging and more complex than it need be, 18 July 2010
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Emperor's New Mind: Concerning Computers, Minds, and the Laws of Physics (Popular Science) (Paperback)
This is a profound book which, inspired by investigations into the nature of the human mind and of artificial intelligence, takes the reader on a roller-coaster tour of aspects of computer science, maths and physics. It calls for a lot of concentration and is not for the faint-hearted. Explanations of many concepts are at a fairly technical level, full of equations and symbols, and I could not help feeling that at times Penrose could have presented things more simply without losing the thread of the argument.

The ordinary reader would - as the author himself suggests - be well-advised not to strive to understand all the technical detail: it is possible to grasp the essence of what is being described without following all the intricacies Penrose goes into. The trouble is that this means skimming through much of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult but worth it, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Emperor's New Mind: Concerning Computers, Minds, and the Laws of Physics (Popular Science) (Paperback)
This book goes much deeper than most popular science books, it's heavy going at times but well worth it. I'm on my third time through and it's still only just partially sinking in, Mr Penrose is a very clever man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Computers, Minds and the Laws of Physics!, 23 April 2003
By A Customer
At First glance, the topics covered by Roger Penrose may seem unconnected, but incredibly, he manages to connect them seamlessly, and then reaches astounding conclusions about the implications for any theory of everything or any artificial intelligence. On the way, Penrose covers such diverse topics as Turing machines, Tensors and General Relativity, the wave equation and the inner workings of the brain. Thankfully, he explains all of these concepts with such clarity that prior knowledge of them and a degree in mathematics are unnecessary, to gain a full understanding of the book, and the occasional differential equations are not relevant to the theme of the book, and indeed should not discourage any potential reader. Of course, even if you do have good knowledge of the concepts introduced, the book is still a fantastic read, just to see how Penrose links the concepts introduced and reaches conclusions on them.
The book is also rather different to typical books about contemporary physics, which hail Superstring theories as the theory of everything. Penrose does not speak in depth about the newest forms of physics, but instead follows his conclusions from proven physics, and although he makes few specific predictions about the Theory of Everything, he does give a complete overview of the main features that he feels a Theory of Everything should contain. The fact that the conclusions are followed through from the physics explained in the book makes the conclusions much more justifiable than those of Superstring theories, even if you disagree with Penrose's final conclusion. Although the book does not contain cutting edge physics, such as Superstring theory, this does not detract from the overall theme of the book, and indeed the speculations made by Penrose about the Theory of Everything are just as interesting as those in many books about Superstring theory.
Overall, the Emperor's New Mind is a challenging read, but delivers a complete tour of 20th Century mathematics and physics, as well as a taster of neurology, that leaves the reader feeling both enlightened and eager to learn more. Outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very thought provoking but logically flawed, 2 Oct 1997
By A Customer
I found the book to actually be more interesting in its discussion of physics and quantum mechanics than when I got to his thesis on mind and the computational impossibility of reproducing it in a computer. Although most of this is lucidly written and meticulous in its attention to detail, Penrose's final conclusion that the mind must have a quantum-mechanical aspect is unsupported by any evidence and seems to come from nowhere but his own deep desire to be more than chemicals. For me, the weakest part of the argument (in fact the only "evidence" he gives for his conclusion, really!) is the discussion of how long it takes a computer algorithm to solve a particular type of problem vs. how long it takes a person. It seems plausible, but ignores the fact that in this world, thousands of people work in parallel and cooperatively over many years to solve difficult problems and build on previous successes and failures. It ignores the roles of specialized education, folk knowledge, anecdotal evidence and how all of these result in common-sense elimination of fruitless pathways and recognition of fruitful pathways in human problem-solving.
Nevertheless, I found his physics primer (the first several chapters) to be better than many I have read, and the whole book gave me many nights of weird dreams. At the end, though, I wound up disappointed and feeling like I had been hoodwinked into someone's attempt to logically deduce his own personal faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars superb math, physics and computation theory, poor biology, 11 Jan 1999
By A Customer
Penrose's text should be seen as a two fold effort: the first is pedagogical: it exposes with superb insight the theories of mathematical physics, the physical basis of computation theory (he draws on an analogy with geometry), as well as, a Platonic philosophy of mathematics (the present reviewer believes in a naturalistic approach, but that is hardly the matter here!). IF this was all in the book one could hardly give it less than five stars. However, Penrose goes further and discusses the biology of cognition; in my opinion at this point he is a bit out of his personal scientific experience and contributions, and his thoughts are speculative; the further involment of cosmology in the work makes the whole project a bit incoherent. Overall Penrose connects cosmology with biology of cognition through the key theory of quantum gravity which he speculates ties them together!; well for those who like to study science and not mere speculations these mean that they shall not enjoy some parts of the book! The other central theme, that quantum gravity is nonalgorithmic, and thus since (as he speculates) cognition is a quantum-gravitational phenomenon it should be also nonalgorithmic, it is of course a consistent conception, but again science requires more than that, it requires ways to test ideas and in my opinion Penrose offers none! But after all perhaps he did not intented to write down a science book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind Bending Stuff, 9 May 2003
This review is from: The Emperor's New Mind: Concerning Computers, Minds, and the Laws of Physics (Popular Science) (Paperback)
This book made me go away and learn math. After that I came back and found it incredible. It has inspired me to read books in many diverse subjects and made me consider taking a second degree. I had previously read "Brief History of Time" and found it frustrating and limited. Penrose covers the subjects in that book in two chapters of this one, and in a much more satisfying way because he is not afraid to use math. If you're prepared for the work, go read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About Non-computability, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Dr. Roy Simpson (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Emperor's New Mind: Concerning Computers, Minds, and the Laws of Physics (Popular Science) (Paperback)
My copy of this book is now 21 years old, but I thought it appropriate to write a short historical review. When I first read this book I was interested to read in a semi-technical way about many of the Physics and Computation ideas of Roger Penrose. I am sure that many are still interested in the book for that reason. Since then Penrose has written other books, but this provides an introduction to his ideas which is half way between popular science and textbook. What has happened in the years that have followed is that this work has undoubtedly stimulated many researchers and others.

The other aspect of the book was his specific arguments about AI: which have ired many critics. Indeed his later book (Shadows of the Mind) contained a revised argument and dealt with about 20 criticisms of the AI argument from this book. Nevertheless this was not enough and more criticisms appeared which he later discussed in other works. So there is quite a trail to follow here for those who wish to take these topics seriously.

I would now suggest that he was really trying to make the case for the importance of non-Turing-Computability in this book. That it is important in scientific arguments from Cognition Theory and AI to Quantum Physics. Non-Turing computability is a very subtle topic to discuss (it was the subject of Turing's logic Ph.D) especially in a philosophically broad way. Many of the topics like Fractals and Penrose Tiling which found their way into this book, and do not immediately seem relevant to the arguments, are there to emphasise and display some non-computable mathematical entities. Oversimplifications of Penrose's arguments usually miss the significance of non-computability in them.

Having said all this I think that were this book to be written now, then some sections could be reworded. As a specific detail I think that in discussing the historical evolution of "algorithm" the definition of that term changes in the book without being noticed. It took me a few readings to notice this.

So if you want to delve into the debate about non-computability in physics and AI this is a book to read, but be aware that it is only the beginning of a longer story. The physics/cosmology discussions are a good introduction to his approach to those topics too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Intellectual Voyage, 17 May 2010
This review is from: The Emperor's New Mind: Concerning Computers, Minds, and the Laws of Physics (Popular Science) (Paperback)
Professor Penrose takes us on a wonderful intellectual voyage as he presents an array of information about consciousness and reality which no one else would put together.

Gradually, he entwines the multicoloured strands to present a polished argument showing why consciousness is non-computational, and no computer, however large, will ever become conscious. While computers may compute better than we can, no computer can understand, as we easily do, why the computation is necessary.

The Emperor's New Mind will have something fascinating for everyone, because of the unexpected things one finds along the road on this thrilling expedition through the classical and quantum universes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews