Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hyperspace a residence for Beauty and Supersymmetry.
In this superbly written book, Michio Kaku explains it all and "solves" it all by the theory of hyperspace. Basically, it explains the futility of unifying the basic forces of nature in the present concept of 4-D space-time. In fact Albert Einstein had to add the fourth temporal dimension of time to explain the field theory of gravity. Later Theodr Kaluza, while...
Published on 22 April 2002

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that good.
Having read several of this genre book - physics for the masses, I must confess to being disappointed by 'Hyperspace' despite its enthuastic reviews from other readers. I found that he went into too much detail over simple concepts and not enough with the more complicated aspects. Although overall this was an interesting, thought-proving read, if you wish to learn more...
Published on 15 Feb 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Shop Read, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
Kaku seems to be on a mission to popularise a disarming mentality toward serious quantum meddling which trades in the name of experimental science.

However, this book does give (an albeit slanted) entry perspective to super-string theory etc, and might serve you well if your interests in physics are preliminary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worlds beyond space and time ..., 3 Dec 2013
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
Some of the reviews make this book sound quite complex and had I not picked it up in a charity shop I probably would not have bought it online. It is quite dated as someone else has pointed out and I did catch myself thinking, wow, where are we now if this was 1995. There were a couple of chapters that I was particularly interested in and why I bought the book and they did not disappoint. Books like this are for dipping into and coming back to and I will be going back to read again. As second hand copies are available at little cost a well worth buy for those that enjoy contemplating 'worlds beyond space and time'. Made the Big Bang Theory come to life in parts. Overall enjoyable and although heavy in small parts a great deal of it was an easy enough read and suited to those of us with limited knowledge about the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best I ever read, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
not an easy read...however really brilliant.... this book gave me some very good ideas about our universe...and definitely made me reflect on a cosmological level about why we're here.... typical Kaku.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my son, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
He loved it. He's doing A level Physics and has been encouraged to 'read around' the subject; he found it accessible and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible., 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
A compelling and fascinating read that is guaranteed to change your entire perspective of everything. Kaku is a gifted writer who puts seemingly inaccessible ideas into easily understandable terms. As a former physics student this was a delight to read, and I'd say anyone could take it on without any previous knowledge.

Buy it. Buy it now and see your universe warped into a beautiful new place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HYPERSPACE, 9 May 2013
By 
Jet Lagged (From the above image, obviously somewhere that does dodgy haircuts.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
Hyperspace = Space of a higher dimensional number than we are accustomed to dealing with. Just because you can't see something doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

This is a very good popular book on the topic of higher dimensional spaces in physics. Kaku assembles all the relevant known information and puts it in a user friendly form. Chapter 7 is devoted to Superstrings.

I like Pauli's letter to Heisenberg after the latter had put his foot in it. The letter, a blank sheet of paper, had as caption "This is to show the world that I can paint like Titian. Only technical details are missing."

Btw, this book is by Michio Kaku, not Robert O'Keefe. The latter is the illustrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read excellent author, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
excellent value exactly as described pleasure to do business with this vendor would use again and recommend to other people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
This was a fantastic book, well recommended to anyone who wants to understand how the universe really works. Be prepared to challange your beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hyperspace, excellent, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
An excellent read. Michio Kaku, goes beyond our realm and into higher dimensions. as usual, Michio delves deeper into the structure and origins of the universe than any other author i know of. and as usual he goes into depth as to why Einstein was a genius. Michio's personality shines through the words. This along with Parallel Worlds are among my favourite reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand science, 29 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hyperspace: A Scientific Odyssey through Parallel Universes, Time Warps, and the Tenth Dimension (Paperback)
A very good book written in an easily understood way by a man who knows what he is talking about. Some of the concepts stretch your mind a bit but they are explained in an easy way.

A good read for all us 'layman' scientists!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews