Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice introduction
The Oxford University Press 'A very short introduction to...' books are generally very good, and this is certainly no exception.
As with the others, it is not insulting to one's intelligence (An idiot's guide to...), doesn't assume that you can't understand anything more complicated than a cartoon (Introducing...), and still imparts a good basic knowledge of the man...
Published on 6 Feb 2004 by Ned Lowe

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fraud?
This is a pretty clear and balanced account of Freud and his work.

Psychoanalysis has conquered the world, (if you can afford it) but as Popper (in my view) rightly observed, it is not science. It is in fact far worse than that. Freud strikes me as sexually obsessed by Pedophilia, which is why he sees it everywhere; where he uses infantile sexuality (his...
Published on 12 May 2012 by opus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 7 April 2013
By 
L. garrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
A simple introduction to Freud the person and his beliefs. I would recommend as a background introduction to form a basic understanding of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
a brief concise book, i got it for university and sold it when i was finished. a nice book that is informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This book is a perfect companion for all those studying Freud. Short, concise and pertinent....strongly recommended for anybody who needs to grasp Freud' relevance quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb introduction, 30 July 2012
By 
Pete (Ipswich United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I found this book to be a superb introduction not just to Freud but to the core concepts of psychoanalysis as a whole. Don't be fooled (or put off) by the title saying it is a "short" introduction, there is nothing short or shallow about this book. Thanks to the fairly small print it actually contains a huge amount of information.

The balance between factual information about Freud's life and also explanations of psychoanalysis basics is spot on. And all of this presented in a writing style that is layperson friendly without overly dumbing it down.

If you have a thirst to find out about the subject or about Freud himself I cannot imagine any better book than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A concise and constructively critical introduction., 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Unlike some of Storr's other works this book is friendly to read and gives a clear and concise critical introduction to Freud. It is great to pick up and put down, to dip in and out of but equally, being easy to read with excellent explanations and interpretations of Freudian theory, one can easily loose track of time to suddenly find that half the book has been digested and understood in one sitting. Highly recommended.Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Nothing to do with Science...", 12 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
... but everything to do with storytelling. And thankfully, storytelling is an area our author Athony Storr is pretty amply skilled in.

The book itself is divided into twelve chapters, which handily break down some of Freud's hefty ideas into bite-sized, single-sitting nuggets. They cover (roughly) five areas; firstly, a vague psychoanalytical portrait of the man himself; secondly, early influences and works; thirdly, the major theories from internal mental structures to the neurotic's potentially delusional construct of an acceptable external world; fourthly, the wider cultural implications of his ideas as hit on in `Civilization and its Discontents'; and then lastly a brief synopsis of where Freud stands now.

Given the VSI's pop remit, there are obvious hits and misses, which ultimately break down to editorial constraints. So early on we're told that, "Freud himself, as one might expect from the character sketch given, concentrated on anal traits", which lends a chuckle, but nowhere are we told about Freud's personal experiences of psychological distress, which contributed so much to his own creative process.

Most importantly though, the clear message from this book is that no matter what you think of the Freudian paradigm, and opinions range wildly, Freud's influence in creating a non-judgemental theatre where an individual can freely associate with themself, and develop along the way a "greater understanding of their own strengths and limitations", validating their own "individual subjective experience", is something of unquestionable significance and relief for many people given the "feeling's of helplessness" that modern Western culture is so often guilty of seeding.

Good solid introduction, go buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first-rate introduction to Freud, 10 Jun 2007
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Freud is now somewhat unfashionable, and stands on the periphery of current psychological thought and practice. Yet the very people who denigrate his work do so using terms and concepts that owe a great deal to that work. To be a 'Freudian' today makes as much sense as being a 'Newtonian', but that should not blind us to the importance of his contribution. Storr adopts just the right approach -- he begins each topic with a summary of what Freud said, then offers criticisms of it. He talks more than once of the need to 'separate the wheat from the chaff'. Freud was once revered as a kind of Messiah. Now he is often reviled. As usual, the truth lies somewhere in between. Given the brevity of this book, it is remarkably comprehensive, and is an ideal introduction to the man and his work. I read Schopenhauer: A Very Short Introduction before reading this book and I would recommend doing that. There is an obvious indebtedness, although Freud specifically denied it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very brief. Good intro to Freud., 23 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Good work. Like its title says, it is a VERY short introduction. It doesn't go into much depth, but, if you want to know more, you can just use the information in it as a reference to begin some long wikipedia sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 July 2009
By 
L (north east england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
i bought this as ive started doing psychology courses with the ou and thought this would ease me into freuds works. absolutely brilliant book, i couldnt put it down, read it in one day. gives information about freuds life as well as some of his theories. its very well written and although some theories are complex isn't at all confusing. just ordered an introduction to jung as these books are so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!, 18 Mar 2011
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) Love these small introductory books. So packed full of info and excellent for anyone wanting to learn a new subject. They are really good tasters, for such a great price too. I bought the 'Jung' book too and intend to order many more. Beautifully packaged too !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) by Anthony Storr (Paperback - 22 Feb 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews