Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice introduction
The Oxford University Press 'A very short introduction to...' books are generally very good, and this is certainly no exception.
As with the others, it is not insulting to one's intelligence (An idiot's guide to...), doesn't assume that you can't understand anything more complicated than a cartoon (Introducing...), and still imparts a good basic knowledge of the man...
Published on 6 Feb. 2004 by Ned Lowe

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fraud?
This is a pretty clear and balanced account of Freud and his work.

Psychoanalysis has conquered the world, (if you can afford it) but as Popper (in my view) rightly observed, it is not science. It is in fact far worse than that. Freud strikes me as sexually obsessed by Pedophilia, which is why he sees it everywhere; where he uses infantile sexuality (his...
Published on 12 May 2012 by opus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great summary, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Concise and clear,although at times some of the author's personal judgements were apparent. It is not necessarily bad to be familiar with alternative opinions around freud's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first-rate introduction to Freud, 10 Jun. 2007
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Freud is now somewhat unfashionable, and stands on the periphery of current psychological thought and practice. Yet the very people who denigrate his work do so using terms and concepts that owe a great deal to that work. To be a 'Freudian' today makes as much sense as being a 'Newtonian', but that should not blind us to the importance of his contribution. Storr adopts just the right approach -- he begins each topic with a summary of what Freud said, then offers criticisms of it. He talks more than once of the need to 'separate the wheat from the chaff'. Freud was once revered as a kind of Messiah. Now he is often reviled. As usual, the truth lies somewhere in between. Given the brevity of this book, it is remarkably comprehensive, and is an ideal introduction to the man and his work. I read Schopenhauer: A Very Short Introduction before reading this book and I would recommend doing that. There is an obvious indebtedness, although Freud specifically denied it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best uni texts around, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
a short introductions are brilliant for any uni student, does take much to read it and brilliant signposting so you can flit to whatever is relevant to your assignment or exam!

will keep buying from them and an easy recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very brief. Good intro to Freud., 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Good work. Like its title says, it is a VERY short introduction. It doesn't go into much depth, but, if you want to know more, you can just use the information in it as a reference to begin some long wikipedia sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Freud., 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I bought this to help me gain an understanding of Freud's work. Anthony Storr is a wonderful writer. His overview and clear explanations really helped me get to grips with Freud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This book is a perfect companion for all those studying Freud. Short, concise and pertinent....strongly recommended for anybody who needs to grasp Freud' relevance quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 July 2009
By 
L (north east england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
i bought this as ive started doing psychology courses with the ou and thought this would ease me into freuds works. absolutely brilliant book, i couldnt put it down, read it in one day. gives information about freuds life as well as some of his theories. its very well written and although some theories are complex isn't at all confusing. just ordered an introduction to jung as these books are so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 7 April 2013
By 
L. garrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
A simple introduction to Freud the person and his beliefs. I would recommend as a background introduction to form a basic understanding of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
a brief concise book, i got it for university and sold it when i was finished. a nice book that is informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Very happy with book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Freud: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) by Anthony Storr (Paperback - 22 Feb. 2001)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews