Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
40
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2014
I'm sure that the content is excellent but the print size in this paperback version is incredibly small. I would strongly recommend you consider a different edition if you want to read without squinting or wielding a magnifying glass.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
Hutton's excellent book manages to be both scholarly and highly readable. Instructive, too, and thought-provoking. However, the Oxford paperback edition contains extremely small print which does rather tend to spoil the reading experience. One small point of interest: pages 303-5 refer to a Welsh-language television documentary on Paganism, mainly on Ynys Mon (Anglesey). Hutton refers to the programme as being called "Elidir". This is incorrect, as Elidir was the name of the production company, not the programme itself. Yes, I know, only a small error, but one that calls for correction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
This book is a very detailed but eminently readable examination of modern Paganism, offering great insight and education about the background underpinning today's Pagan beliefs. Ronald Hutton has to be one of the most important writers and researchers on the subject and should be declared a National Treasure. A must for all Pagans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
A fascinating book whether the reader is Pagan or not. It gives a complete background to the forming of the neo-pagan revival. There's a lot to get immersed in and also a lot to question. A book which makes you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
This is the book that I recommend when anyone who is interested in Paganism or Wicca expresses an interest to me. Being written by an academic, there is no emotional regurgitation of a linear history of Wicca that simply did not exist. It is perfectly researched, incredibly interesting and is one of my favourite books. Hutton is deeply respectful of Wicca and Paganism and this is evident throughout the work. I wish that there were a dozen authors like Ronald Hutton to every one of those insipid, vacuous and inaccurate "Wicca 101" manuals. A genuine pleasure to read this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Hutton's book goes far in addressing the paucity of serious academic study on the topic. It's refreshing to see a historical take on a modern religion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Small type, hard to read, but very interesting and thought provoking. Publishers should think about the reader before setting the typeface so small.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
A fab book for anyone who wants to learn the history and practice of Paganism, Witchcraft or Wicca. Clearly written and very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Love the item would use seller again. 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Excellent. A tour de force linking very different paths and cultural strands. I was fascinated by the section on Gerald Gardner; provides a fine insight into the recent history of the Christchurch and New Forest area!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)