Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Don't be put off by the title - this is no mere picture book. It contains a series of essays on many aspects of Viking history, complemented by excellent illustrations and photographs, including both art from the period and pictures of Viking artefacts. The essays are written clearly and concisely, exploring topics such as Viking religion, shipbuilding and settlement in...
Published on 2 Dec. 2002 by B. Tovey

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Conflicting
In a lot of chapters the writers of each chapter seem to contradict the ones from other chapters. Very confusing to read. Also a bit dry at times. I did not finish it to the end as it could not keep my interest.
Published on 6 Sept. 2012 by Samuel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 2 Dec. 2002
By 
B. Tovey (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings (Paperback)
Don't be put off by the title - this is no mere picture book. It contains a series of essays on many aspects of Viking history, complemented by excellent illustrations and photographs, including both art from the period and pictures of Viking artefacts. The essays are written clearly and concisely, exploring topics such as Viking religion, shipbuilding and settlement in England, and make fascinating reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great starting point, 4 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings (Paperback)
This book is articulate, well written and researched, broken up by helpful and relevant illustrations, but not dominated by cartoons or patronising recreations. The essays are all written by different, accredited experts and therefore they provide a wide range of opinions and expertise on the many different aspects of modern research and discussion. Of the top of my head I remember the Vikings in England (Danelaw), France and the creation of Normandy as well as different aspects of Viking culture and settlement. The chapter on the Rus and the Vikings in the east was particularly interesting (the even reached Kiev!?). Having said this, the book pre-dates much of the work of Dawn Hadley who draws and expands on much of the themes the book introduces. DEFINITELY worth a read, whether you are casually interested or researching for a project (as I was). Great starting point, but only scratches the surface of much of the recent research and discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A readable summary of Viking history, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings (Paperback)
This book gave a helpful overview of the Norse expansion. I was considering a course on the topic and this was listed as a course text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Vikings are Coming - a little slowly., 1 Feb. 2015
By 
Campbell Mcpherson (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings (Paperback)
Great book with some very interesting illustrations. Delivery was a tad slow - only just made it within the delivery time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings (Paperback)
was really helpful book for my sons project on vikings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Conflicting, 6 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings (Paperback)
In a lot of chapters the writers of each chapter seem to contradict the ones from other chapters. Very confusing to read. Also a bit dry at times. I did not finish it to the end as it could not keep my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings
The Oxford Illustrated History of the Vikings by Peter Sawyer (Paperback - 18 Jan. 2001)
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews