Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is art?
An excellent overview of ways of thinking about what art has been considered to be and how it is viewed now. It provides a sound framework for evaluating and challenging differing views of what art is and a foundation for developing this exploration.

Would have liked more illustration and the illustrations being placed appropriately.
Loved the idea that...
Published on 1 July 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No colour plates
I am using the Kindle software on my BlackBerry PlayBook. This book is about art and the themes are worked around detailed reviews of artwork. There are about 20 colour plates listed in the contents, but they do not exist in the book. So the whole argument centres on an image which is not included. That renders the book essentially useless. I can only assume this is a...
Published 20 months ago by Maths Teacher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What is art?, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Is It Art?: An Introduction to Art Theory (Paperback)
An excellent overview of ways of thinking about what art has been considered to be and how it is viewed now. It provides a sound framework for evaluating and challenging differing views of what art is and a foundation for developing this exploration.

Would have liked more illustration and the illustrations being placed appropriately.
Loved the idea that gardens were at one time considered a significant art form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inner Fire be darned!, 30 Oct 2008
By 
Darryl Still "daxvondrac" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not sure about "inner fire" and all the other stuff the previous reviewer was warbling on about.
I wasn;t looking for anything high brow or deep, I wanted a well written, basic understanding of the subject and that is exactly what I got.
Recommended if you are not an aesthete from Greece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever and insightful, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: But Is It Art?: An Introduction to Art Theory (Paperback)
A handy and thought provoking insight into art theory which is also in a good format for carrying on the bus/train!

Absorbing reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly scruffy but great value!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this book was a library book beforehand except for the stamps it was reasonably neat. I have only read the first few chapters but it seems really interesting. Thank you, as a student I wouldn't have been able to afford it otherwise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting introduction into what art is., 22 April 2013
By 
M. Saxby (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I don't claim to know anything about art, which is why an introduction to art theory appealed.

I've got a broader knowledge after reading this book, but am probably no clearer as to what makes something good art or even art at all, but the book explains that that is fundamentally true of everyone.

Even experts, it seems, have wildly contradictory views, even as individuals!

An interesting read, which I hope and believe will help me look at art in different, more informed ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But is it Art?, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book raises many interesting points about how we view art, and how the concept of 'what is Art?' has changed over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No colour plates, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am using the Kindle software on my BlackBerry PlayBook. This book is about art and the themes are worked around detailed reviews of artwork. There are about 20 colour plates listed in the contents, but they do not exist in the book. So the whole argument centres on an image which is not included. That renders the book essentially useless. I can only assume this is a PlayBook problem or other reviewers would have mentioned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book about Art for beginners, 24 Feb 2014
By 
lilysmum "lilysmum65" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to read a book about art as I wanted to learn more about why those works of modern art are made and what they mean. This book did the job. It explains in a really chatty and readable style the history of modern art and gives some fascinating little stories and anecdotes. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to you if you are looking for an introduction to art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, thought provoking, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: But Is It Art?: An Introduction to Art Theory (Paperback)
Excellent, thought provoking examination of philosophical theorizing about the nature and value of art. Is a work like Serrano' s Piss Christ just an annoying provocation or a 'culturally significant meaning, skilfully encoded in an affecting, sensuous medium'?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars naughty, naughty very naughty, 14 Oct 2014
By 
Mr David McGuinness (Penrith, Cumbria Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: But Is It Art?: An Introduction to Art Theory (Paperback)
This is the same book as Art Theory - A very short introduction by Cynthia Freeland. Just bought same retitled rebranded book twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

But Is It Art?: An Introduction to Art Theory
But Is It Art?: An Introduction to Art Theory by Cynthia Freeland (Paperback - 7 Feb 2002)
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews