Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful survey of Tudor history
In the preface to this book, John Guy states that one of his aims in writing it was to provide 'a clear narrative account of the period of English history from 1460 to the death of Elizabeth I in a manner equally accessible to the general reader and to the student.' In this the book is an unqualified success; though the author presumes some familiarity with the...
Published on 26 Nov 2005 by MarkK

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if a little, well... dull.
John Guy's "Tudor England" is a well-researched book, crammed with facts and analysis, and is handy to have whether you're studying at 'A' level or are a university undergrad. It ticks all the boxes and as textbooks go, it does exactly what it's supposed to.

It's also as dull as dishwater.

Guy takes an exciting, interesting period of history and...
Published on 28 Dec 2007 by Deadletters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful survey of Tudor history, 26 Nov 2005
By 
MarkK (Phoenix, AZ, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
In the preface to this book, John Guy states that one of his aims in writing it was to provide 'a clear narrative account of the period of English history from 1460 to the death of Elizabeth I in a manner equally accessible to the general reader and to the student.' In this the book is an unqualified success; though the author presumes some familiarity with the era, it is a great narrative of England during their reign, presenting complex events in a straightforward and comprehensible manner.
Guy's focus is primarily on political and religious themes of the period, though he includes chapters on the economy, society, and culture as a means of fully developing his argument. Such an approach is understandable, given that the development of the state is one of the major events of 16th century England. The key figure in this, as with so much else in Tudor history, is Henry VIII, whose innovations would be felt for the remainder of the century.
Written with clarity and wit, Guy's book is the best single-volume history of the Tudor era. My only complaint is that, given his other professed goal of offering a synthesis of current research, a new edition is needed to maintain the book’s usefulness as a survey account. I can only hope that Guy does so before too many readers dismiss what is otherwise an excellent overview of Tudor rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for a more in depth read, 9 July 2013
By 
Acathla (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
Definitely worth a 5 star rating as I bought this book "second hand" and it was in superb condition. The book itself is a superb read - it is rather in depth and I bought it to satiate my appetite for all things Tudor. I have already bought a few books but this one is a real in depth one that goes into far more detail than others. I know that the interpretation of this era can be quite subjective but John Guy is very good at pointing this out and doesn't attempt to prove his point as the only one, which I appreciate. I genuinely don't know what level this book is aimed at as my daughter who is doing A Level History says that is is way above what they are doing, but as a specialist book, it is well written and I have thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It is the kind of book that you probably won't want to get rid of as it is a fantastic reference if this kind of thing appeals to you. Written in a very non patronizing manner which I do appreciate for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - a History student's bible, 13 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
Wow, this book certainly lived up to my expectations. Professor Guy writes in just as absorbingly good a fashion as he lectures. This book is my bible, and it explains everything so clearly and the detail is amazing.
I can't wait for the new one on Mary to come out. His explanation of how he had researched it was fascinating, and I relish the thought of reading it and understanding the politics and relationships completely. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tudor England, 9 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
An easily understood yet thorough summary of Tudor England for 'A'-level students that still finds its way onto undergraduate reading lists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic coverage of the entire Tudor period, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
This book is invaluable to anyone who is studying the Tudor period. It provides a good introduction to the major issues of the reign and shows thorough research. It is excellent for gaining an overview of the period, which can then be followed up by specialist studies. John Guy has a good writing style and the book flows smoothly. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for A'level students!, 31 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
I bought this book last year, and is generally my history bible. I use it for nearly all my essays as it covers both Henry and Elizabeth. I find this book vital, as John guy gives an great account the both reigns with out feeling, patronised or disheartened. Its great for essay quotes, and is easierly accessable, a great must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if a little, well... dull., 28 Dec 2007
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
John Guy's "Tudor England" is a well-researched book, crammed with facts and analysis, and is handy to have whether you're studying at 'A' level or are a university undergrad. It ticks all the boxes and as textbooks go, it does exactly what it's supposed to.

It's also as dull as dishwater.

Guy takes an exciting, interesting period of history and turns it into a snore & bore-fest. I found that while it is, on paper, an excellent resource, Guy's book sucks all the fun out of the subject and leaves no meat on the bones of history. It reminds me of the kind of dry, dusty, soulless history books I absolutely loathed reading at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
full of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
Good quality and good value for money, much cheaper than buying new but still almost looked new as it was it such good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible, 19 Nov 2007
By 
F. Woods - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tudor England (Paperback)
Enough said in the title really. This book is the bible of tudor history at A level. If you want to do well, you need it. simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tudor England
Tudor England by John Guy (Paperback - 25 Jan 1990)
£19.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews