Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King James Bible
Well this bible is perfect for me. For me the richness of this version of the bible cannot be beaten. I have other versions of the bible but I think that the King James is nearer to the original versions written in Hebrew and Greek. The type face is nice and clear with the verse numbers at the beginning of the line ie each verse starts a new paragraph. Some of my other...
Published on 30 April 2010 by Jan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scholarship great, Kindle formatting poor.
I have the hard copy of this and bought the Kindle version also for ease of carrying. However, compared with a much cheaper Kindle product (The Definitive Revised English Version of the Bible) the contents is very sparsely formatted with links. By contrast, the cheaper Bible version has a richly linked contents section which is extremely useful. So whilst, as might be...
Published 17 months ago by Dr. N. Dobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I wanted this ......, 24 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted this King James Version of the Old Testament, which better enables me to study very ancient history, rather than the new versions which are only opinions of others! Very useful for reference if reading Zechariah Sitchin's books!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KJV Bible with Latin Cover, 13 Sep 2012
Curious choice of cover for a King James Version Bible: Michelangelo's Jeremiah from the Sistine Chapel ceiling in the Vatican...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why atheism is ridiculous, 10 Jan 2014
I love how The Bible drives atheists insane. They are quick to dismiss The Bible as "fairy tales" while being willfully ignorant to the fact that the hypothesizes that they believe in are concepts that are used within works of science fiction and which have no evidence. See below...

-Atheists believe in abiogenesis which is an evidenceless hypothesis proposing that life arose from non-life but this has no evidence, isn't falsifiable (therefore being nonscientific), not observable (and never will be again if it's to be believed) and is just generally garbage.

Atheists will yell and exclaim about an experiment titled the "Miller-Urey experiment" but that is outdated and doesn't prove (or even lend support to) life being able to rise from non-life. They will then exclaim about a lab experiment (which is more recent) showing that RNA molecules can form. What they deliberately forget to mention is that RNA molecules are simply a part of the building blocks for life, not life itself and the experiment was conducted in a lab with humans deciding the conditioning, properties, values of the atmosphere (and chemicals) and order. If anything, this experiment affirms biogenesis (the scientific law that life can only arise from pre-existing life).

-Atheists adhere to a philosophy called naturalism which is an incorrect refuted philosophy which would have you place blind faith in the idea that the universe proceeded from nothingness (which is nonscientific). Some atheists will mention quantum physics and the vacuum but they have no understanding of these subjects because neither prove that nothing can do something. The vacuum (which is what they say is evidence) actually contains small amounts of energy. The scientific principle of causality (which atheism denies) asserts that everything in motion and everything that has begun has an instigator.

-Some atheists believe in social Darwinism which is a discredited form of evolution mainly only believed now by atheist nuts. It is a racist theory relating to human societies, that we shouldn't help the poor, the meek or the unhealthy. It is the incorrect belief that we shouldn't help such people because it would be harmful to the concept of a "superior society" and really is the incorrect misreading of what natural selection is.

-Some atheists believe in the now debunked steady state theory of the universe which would have us believe that it's eternal without a beginning. This has long since been refuted by the facts, data and evidence amassed for The Big Bang theory showing an origin point for all matter and energy in the universe.

-Atheists believe in the multiverse which is science fiction, often used in Doctor Who and other science fiction shows, which refer to a hypothetical set of alternative universes, realities and dimensions (all of which we've never seen and have no evidence for) and atheists use the multiverse in their chain universe hypothesis which proposes that every universe is born from another. This has no valid grounding in science and is based upon pure speculation and blind faith. Meanwhile their evidenceless hypothesis is refuted by common sense. The infinite chain universe argument (the argument of universes being born from the death of another) has no beginning so there can't possibly be any effect from something that never had a beginning (and therefore wouldn't exist) and isn't eternal. It's an impossibility and illogical in terms of observational science and general common sense. An atheist might try to apply my refutation the other-way around to God but it would fail considering the concept of a prime-mover (God) would be that he's unmovable and eternal. This is necessary because you cannot have an infinite chain of gods or universes creating one another. For the reason why God is the better logical explanation behind the creation of the universe rather than "something from nothing" or any of the other atheist's evidenceless assertions, see below.

The Argument for deism/theism:

The Big Bang theory lends support to the idea of a creator along with the scientific principle of causality. The former implies a beginning of the universe, the later states that it's necessity for all things that have begun and in motion to have a prime mover/first cause. I'm a Christian Deist so I believe in the teachings of Jesus in The Bible but believe in God simply as the instigator behind all the natural mechanisms of the world and cosmos (i.e gravity, four fundamental forces, evolution and so on and so such) but don't believe that he answers prayers or interacts because there's no evidence of that. Deductive reasoning is what leads me to God because we can deduce that nothing is incapable of doing something and also that mindlessness cannot produce the complexity we observe within the universe. Physicists throughout history (from Isaac Newton of the past to Paul Davies of today) all agree that the universe is finely tuned (see the four fundamental forces of nature, their constants and values for more) and the fact that the universe has a mathematical cosmology lend support that the instigator behind the universe was an intelligence.

Also evolution doesn't debunk God. It simply explains the variation of life. I suggest the atheists take some proper science lessons.

Atheists need to get educated on what the scientific method is alongside what the scientific principle of causality is (a fundamental part of science and physics). You'll find that the later (cause and effect) has a valid standing within theism/deism but atheism rejects it with its assertion that nothing did something. That therefore makes atheism nonscientific by its rejection of a scientific principle.

Let's be honest here, most atheists are such because something bad happened to them. They've come to conclusion that "there is no god" because of emotion, not rationality or reason. They're as brain washed as a fundy and I have no time to attempt to reason with someone like them when they have an irrational hatred and misunderstanding of religion.

There is no conflict between belief in a god and science. The conflict exists only in the imaginary world of the atheist where religion is responsible for all the conflicts of the world (but anyone educated in history knows that that's not the case and that most of these problems were due to politics).

And that's the end of my review. Feel free to agree, disagree or whatever but if you're going to attempt an argument against this review then be prepared to use evidence rather than anecdotes. Although I have neither the time nor patience to argue with atheists so excuse me if I ignore you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 126 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Work Of Fiction, 6 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. D. J. Read (Alnwick, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Basically a collection of tales of the fantastic, outdated and with little relevance today. Apparntly this work has inspired some sort of religious following, though how anyone these days can believe in any sort of omnipotent God defies belief.

A few interesting tales, but all very moralistic (as you would expect), and quite insular as well. It is always dangerous to try and control people by trying to force them to live under the tenets of any religion, and these 10 commandments are also a little far fetched.

'Thou shalt not covet graven images?' where did that one come from. But on a rather more serious note, it is quotes like that which make this book rather dangerous. It dismisses all other religions and does not preach any kind of tolerance. No wonder our world is in the state it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but try a different translation, 3 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
Over a billion Christians believe that this book is the inspired word of God. Make up your own mind - ignore the media, the established church and the temporal culture we live in and decide for yourself whether this is fact or fiction!
Try a different translation though: the King James was written four hundred years ago, and although it makes for beautiful reading, in the 21st Century it makes for hard understanding. Try the New International Version or the New Century Version instead: you'll be surprised at the difference it makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for modern living., 16 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
An essential book for all to read. It contains the foundations of the Christian faith and is required reading for those who wish to know God. Difficult to read in one sitting, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 28 Jun 2010
By 
I was forced to read bits of The Bible as a youngster. Some of it was quite entertaining but hardly a page-turner. Can't deny it's popular though and sales are still booming worldwide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars failed world, failed mankind, failed writer, 21 May 2009
By 
Carlos Vazquez Quintana "cvq" (Linares- Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To me that God was so busy building the world that the Bible was written by a ghost writer He hired. Surely our world is one of the worst of the several he made, as General Motors made many prototypes that didn't worked. Not for nothing it's said by people: "God made the world in 7 days, and it shows."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arrived Damaged, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product arrived on time, but with a hole in the back cover. This wasn't a problem for my use - I just wanted it for reference - but the item was definitely of a lower quality than I was led to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book of Lies, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The worst book ever made up. Jesus is the most evil man who ever lived. God is just made up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics)
The Bible: Authorized King James Version (Oxford World's Classics) by Robert Carroll (Paperback - 18 Jun 1998)
Used & New from: 1.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews