Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this edition and translation, 5 Jan. 2011
The other reviewers say better than I could why the actual book is so good. I can only add that I love this Oxford edition and Mr Melville's translation. E.J. Kenney's introduction is very helpful too. It is gripping and shocking and the narrative has been really well done by the translator within the metre. I was terribly impressed and really pleased that I bought it. I was reading it as a source book for influences on Shakespeare which of course makes it fascinating but it is incredibly and unexpectedly good in its own right. That I suspect is down to the readability of the edition as well as Ovid's story telling.

My only little grumble is the really helpful and interesting index of explanatory notes at the back was not as easy to use as it might have been - it needed more spacing in places for ease of reference, so if your eyesight is not good the rather small print will be a bit trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melville's translation of Ovid's Metamorphoses, 7 Aug. 2002
By 
El Loro (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metamorphoses (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
If you are brave enough or mug enough to go for the Dryden translation of Ovid, good luck to you. For the academically lazier or more experienced, the OUP translation by Melville is a real treat. A light touch, playful in places, enjoyable throughout - I am not a classicist or a great fan of poetry but I found I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty, subversive, complex and sophisticated, 4 May 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ovid was ignored by classical scholars for a long time as being frivolous and just not serious enough. He has now been rehabilitated and Metamorphoses is recognised as being one of the most complex, sophisticated and problematic poems of the age of Augustus - as well as one of the wittiest and most accessible.

Too often regarded as a compendium of Greek and Roman myths, Metamorphoses should be read as a continuous poem telling the story of the world from the creation to the apotheosis of Julius Caesar - but in Ovid's own inimitable and often funny and scurrilous fashion. Along the way, he takes in almost every story ever told in the ancient world: Narcissus and Echo, Orpheus and Eurydice, Pygmalion, Medea, Venus and Adonis, the Trojan war, the foundation of Rome, Romulus and Remus.

His style is witty, urbane and sophisticated, and he plays games with every genre of literature: love poetry, epic, philosophy, Greek science.
The ostensible theme of the poem that unifies the 12 books is change, but modern scholars recognise that this too is part of the game Ovid is playing with his readers, and the debate continues over what Ovid is 'about'.
More interesting, perhaps, is the way in which he plays with our preconceptions of gender, power, status and authority - but all with the lightest of touches that never reduce the brilliant story-telling to mere polemic.

Writing after Vergil, on one level Metamorphoses is a response to and a dialogue with the Aeneid, and has sometime been read as an antidote to the supposedly pro-Augustan sympathies of Vergil. Certainly Ovid was banished from Rome by the Emperor Augustus just after the poem was published though the true reason cannot be known due to the loss of all sources relating to the the incident. However, many scholars now recognise the other subversive voices within the Aeneid itself, questioning the imperial mission of Rome and Augustus, so maybe Ovid and Vergil are not so far apart at all...

In any case, the Metamorphoses remains one of the most brilliant examples of the pure power of superb story-telling, and has inspired artists from Shakespeare to Bernini to Ted Hughes. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Edition, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having laboured through the prose translation, which while very fine is not exactly pulse-raising stuff, this was a refreshing and far pacier translation that entertained and entranced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful read, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an excellent translation which reflects the original metre very well without losing the flow. Cross references work well. Just a pity that there does not seem to be a reference index at the back but that seems to be true of most e-books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good edition of this work, though the translation seems a little flatter than Ovid's original intention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for Book Club fanatics and students alike!, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great gift for all those Literature students or Book Club fanatics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As expected, fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let your imagination take you there!, 17 Feb. 2010
I really loved reading this book. I did not think I would enjoy it, but actually its a lovely book! It's outside of usual epic tradition, which has lead to discussion as to whether or not it is truly epic. In my opinion, its thoroughly epic!
Ovid was a very skilled writer, and he certainly knew how to make his mark. He likes to inject his own humour into the stories also, although maybe not funny by todays standards. The way this book is written, its fully descriptive and explanatory unlike some latin literature, it allows your imagination to be transported to the scene. Ovid takes you on a journey from the very beginning of time up until (his) present day.
He provides mythical explanation as to why hyacinths have the markings they do, and why the myrrh tree bends in the middle (read it you'll see why!).
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metamorphoses (Oxford World's Classics)
Metamorphoses (Oxford World's Classics) by Ovid (Paperback - 7 May 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews