Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent abridgement of a misunderstood classic.
The vast majority of people assume they are familiar with 'Mrs Beeton's Book of Household Management', but those expecting stuffy moralising and instructions to 'first go out and catch your hare' will be disappointed by what they find in Nichola humble's new edition, and probably rightfully so. Written by a comparatively naive girl in her early twenties, who was to die...
Published on 9 Sep 2000

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition pointless
(This is not a comment on the content of the book, just the format) - Like other Kindle reviewers have said, this is just the free copy, so no investment whatever has gone into making it usable by Amazon. (I have actually seen this happen a couple of times with their free, i.e. out of copyright, ebooks.) I would look elsewhere on the net for a better version - there are...
Published on 5 April 2011 by stigweard


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent abridgement of a misunderstood classic., 9 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mrs.Beeton's Book of Household Management (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
The vast majority of people assume they are familiar with 'Mrs Beeton's Book of Household Management', but those expecting stuffy moralising and instructions to 'first go out and catch your hare' will be disappointed by what they find in Nichola humble's new edition, and probably rightfully so. Written by a comparatively naive girl in her early twenties, who was to die in childbirth a few years later, Beeton's book provides an unparalleled insight into Victorian social customs and domestic situations. It does not so much detail how our ancestors lived and behaved, as how they wanted to be seen to live and behave. In short this book is a vast compendium of social mores, detailing the ins and outs of a wealthy, aspirational society. Though Beeton's book provides a wealth of recipes, these are not her sole concern. The book details codes of conduct in every imaginable social situation, and gives instruction in case of a medical or legal emergencies. Advice to the mistress of the house on how to control servants is placed next to confidential advice to the servants themselves: this is indeed a book aimed at all levels of society. The recipes themselves are a startling mix, as they seem at one moment utterly modern, then at the next evoke a rural british society which was vanishing even as Beeton wrote, in the middle of the nineteenth century. They are also a charming reminder of the fact that the author was neither an experienced nor a professed cook: she frequently omits cooking times and quantities of ingredients! Finally, I would like to mention how important a modern, edited edition of Beeton's book is. The market is swamped with spurious works, such as 'Microwaving with Mrs. Beeton', an example Nichola Humble quotes in her introduction. Seemingly 'original' editions of the book, dating from the late 1800's, are in fact just as unreliable, having been altered almost unrecognisably by Beeton's publishers after her death. This edition is, I believe, the only affordable, available, reliable reproduction of Beeton's vast, encyclopaedic study of Victorian morals, culture and society. It should be read by anyone with an interest in the period, from the advanced student, to the casual reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition pointless, 5 April 2011
(This is not a comment on the content of the book, just the format) - Like other Kindle reviewers have said, this is just the free copy, so no investment whatever has gone into making it usable by Amazon. (I have actually seen this happen a couple of times with their free, i.e. out of copyright, ebooks.) I would look elsewhere on the net for a better version - there are loads of sites that distribute out of copyright books with much more precise formatting. I think this may be a mistaken strategy on the part of Amazon - surely the goal is to get people in the habit of using them as a trusted ebook supplier, whether for freebies or otherwise...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars kindle edition worse than useless, 15 Feb 2011
By 
J. Porjes "peteporjes" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No index, search is terrible (it's not fully indexed), scanned in a manner that makes it incomprehensible and unreadable.

I have a hard-copy facsimile of the original and it's great - but I wish I had a searchable, electronic edition. This isn't it.

Do not waste your money on the kindle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book for its time, 15 Mar 2004
By 
B. Anderson "andersonkirol" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mrs. Beeton's Book of Household Management was the housekeeping bible of the mid-19th century. It was written by one woman, Isabella Beeton, who didn't realize the enormity of her undertaking until after the book was finished. This guide covers all of the most important information for a housewife of the 1800's, from cooking to hiring the help. There is a section on child-rearing, practical home remedies, (including antidotes for various poisons!)cleaning the home and every popular recipe from that time period. Despite the changes in our views of keeping household staff, medicine and eating habits, the book is a remarkable work. It is a must for anyone studying Victoriana, as it demonstrates the rigidity of that time period and the unwavering etiquette. The recipes are difficult to replicate, due to the lack of familiar measurements (one breakfast cupful of milk?)but if you have a adventurous soul, this may be enjoyable. Some of the ingredients are also difficult to find, and an acceptable solution may not be easy.
Read The Book of Household Managemen for it's historical value rather than for it's practical information and it will be an adventure.
The Book of Household Management
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of history still useful today, 22 Feb 2004
By 
T. Lewcock (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Probably the most famous cook book in the world. This version is the specially enlarged 1st Edition Facsimile. Illustrated with nearly 600 quite detailed engravings (line art drawings) the book exudes history.

For those that have never heard of Mrs Beeton's Book of Household management the book "does what it says on the cover". Providing a huge number of recipes (over 1,350 in this version), approximately 200 pages cover other household management areas such as "Dinners and Dining"; "Bills of Fare"; "Domestic Servants" ("Duties of the": "Butler"; "Footman"; "Valet"; "Nursemaid" and many others); "The Rearing etc,. of Children"; "The Doctor" and "Legal Memoranda".

The book is full of annecdotes about the various ingredients and articles used, which compliment the style very well. There are 13 articles of the "General Observations of" variety, including "Quadrupeds", "The Sheep and Lamb" and "Game". Most articles and recipes are indexed by paragraph number rather than page number but this is ideal because there can be more than one entry on a page and it means that you can more easily find the exact place you require.

Due to the use of imperial measurements throughout the book it is not the ideal cookbook for the modern chef without knowledge of how to convert to or from Metric measurements (if you've got an Android phone, for example, you'll find a number of conversion apps available). Also, although prices for dishes are given they are, of course, in the imperial currency accurate to the time of the origainal publication date (1861) which although not of much practical use today provides an interesting historical aspect.

Don't expect advice on how to use a wok or traditional Indian cooking, this is a book about Victorian English food and everyday tips for that era. An excellent addition to any kitchen shelf or historical collection, just make sure you have dual scale scales (or the conversions available).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version virtually unusable - get a hard copy, 17 Jan 2011
Please be aware that:
1) This review is only relevant for the Kindle version of this book and
2) Normally I don't review anything I haven't read in its entirety - I probably wouldn't stick to that for a household / recipe book anyway, but you should know that I didn't get more than 20 pages into this - and then I deleted it from my Kindle.

Disclaimers aside, the review:
I like Mrs Beeton, partly for useful stuff and partly for curiosity value, but there's no denying the hardcopy is something of a tome, so when I saw there was a kindle version, I downloaded it directly without bothering to look at the sample - BIG MISTAKE!!

There are lots of perfectly workable classics available for free on Kindle and so I didn't think much about it but in this case it was absolutely a case of getting what I paid for.

The text is indeed all there but they've simply scanned it in with no links, table of contents or anything of the sort. The first few pages - I gave up right there - are recipe titles and page numbers - in a hard copy contents in this format are fine but given that Kindle books don't have page numbers, they're worse than useless here. You could possibly use to "Go to" if you knew what location was what but you'd have to tab through it a page at a time to get that information (and believe me when I say you won't get that far).

Furthermore there is no active table of contents which means that you can't tab through the chapters with the four-way button - as far as the kindle is concerned, the whole book is one big block of undivided text.

This is a real pity as if they'd put in the work and linked each recipe title in the contents page to the actual recipe, or even divided it into smaller chapters, it is the sort of book that would be perfect on a Kindle - a lot of work to do it but would be superb, once done.

It made me so cross that I was almost tempted to save it on my computer and sort the stupid thing out myself - but my life is too short for that sort of nonsense.

Should you download this? ABSOLUTELY NOT. Not free, not if they pay you - basically, not until either they do the work to make it usable, or give it to you with a free hardcopy, and at that point you can delete this version and just use the hardcopy.

What a disappointment - avoid at all costs.
JAC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for living history interpreters., 8 Feb 2001
By 
annbwass@aol.com (Riverdale, Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
Mrs. Beeton's book is excellent for living history interpreters because she not only gives recipes, but also such useful information as what foods were in season at what time of the year. This is an important aspect of foodways interpretation that is sometimes overlooked. The 19th century housewife, especially in a rural setting, had to use foods in season or preserve them herself. Mrs. Beeton also provides menus and plans for special occasions which can also be used in interpretation. This book is not available in the U.S. so I was glad to see I could order it from Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just a cook book, 12 Oct 2006
By 
L. S. Southam (new forest uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mrs.Beeton's Book of Household Management (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
if you are looking for a cookbook then this is probably not the book for you as many of the recipes wouldnt suit todays palate. but this book is great not just as a insight into victorian attitudes but practices and available foodstuffs equipment etc i couldnt put it down, better than any novel ive read recently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Rebecca /Liz (London, Englnd) - See all my reviews
This book is a real gem, an insight into Victorian middle-class society as they wanted to think they were interspersed with recipes and genuinely useful household tips.

This book is a replica of the first edition, and as such is not full of the rubbish Beeton's publishers put in after she'd died.

Well worth getting, in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good shopping experience. Everything was just as I expected. This was a good product. It was also a good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs.Beeton's Book of Household Management (Oxford World's Classics)
Mrs.Beeton's Book of Household Management (Oxford World's Classics) by Isabella Beeton (Paperback - 16 Mar 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews