Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Castaway
I expected Robinson Crusoe to be mostly the long philosophical reflections of an isolated man and was very surprised by how much happens. There are pirates, cannibals, plantations and bears. Robinson spends only around half the book on his famous island and even then we read about his adventures at farming, hunting, pottery etc.

The book is not simply an...
Published 22 months ago by Adam Clarke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed Going back to school
Robinson Crusoe was a book we had to read at school, I enjoyed it then and I enjoyed even more this time
Published 6 months ago by Mandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Castaway, 19 Dec 2012
I expected Robinson Crusoe to be mostly the long philosophical reflections of an isolated man and was very surprised by how much happens. There are pirates, cannibals, plantations and bears. Robinson spends only around half the book on his famous island and even then we read about his adventures at farming, hunting, pottery etc.

The book is not simply an adventure story however and Robinson's thoughts on life and the divine are dotted throughout. I found these musings to be succinct and interesting giving the book weight.

Perhaps the thing that surprised me most is how clear and readable the language is. I understand that it might be the first English novel but I found it to be more modern than many books written later.

I only read it a couple of months ago and I am eager to read it again already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect an all out adventure!, 9 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Robinson crusoe must be one of the most instantly recogniseable and well known characters ever portrayed in fiction. The basics of the story - Crusoes desertion on a desert island, battle for survival and eventual triumph over adversity, appealing to people of all ages and backgrounds. Yet the archaic writing style can detract from the classic adventure story, as can the lack of real action. Instead the book comes across as a story of human resiliance and spirit, the fact that it is apparently based on the real life experiences of a stranded sailor make the story all the more remarkable. Thought to be the first "novel" ever published it is understandable that the writing does not flow in the same way as contemporary fiction, but the overall sophistication of Defoe's ideas is pleasantly surprising in the context that he HAD no contemporaries to influence him or compare to.
It is the romance of the story line that holds him in our collective consciousness and draws new readers to this book in their droves, but to read it as an adventure story of the "Treasure Island" mould is to miss the point, and will inevitably dissappoint. However, read it as a commentary on humanity and it is immensely valuable and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival by Thinking and Doing, 26 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Robinson Crusoe is best taken at two levels, the literal adventure story of survival on an isolated island and as a metaphor for finding one's way through life. I recommend that everyone read the book who is willing to look at both of those levels. If you only want the adventure story, you may not be totally satisfied. The language, circumstances, and attitudes may put you off so that you would prefer to be reading a Western or Space-based adventure story with a more modern perspective.
Few books require anyone to rethink the availability and nature of the fundamentals of life: Water, food, shelter, clothing, and entertainment. Then having become solitary in our own minds as a reader, Defoe adds the extraordinary complication of providing a companion who is totally different from Crusoe. This provides the important opportunity to see Crusoe's civilized limitations compared to Friday's more natural ones. The comparisons will make for thought-provoking reading for those who are able to overcome the stalled thinking that the educated, civilized route is always the best.
One of the things that I specially liked about the book is the Crusoe is an ordinary person in many ways, making lots of mistakes, and having lots of setbacks. Put a modern Superhero (from either the comic books, adventure or spy novels, or the movies) into this situation, and it would all be solved in a few minutes with devices from the heel of one's shoe. Maybe I'm old fashioned, but I liked the trial-and-error explorations. They seemed just like everyday life, and made the book's many lessons come home to me in a more fundamental way.
Have a good solitary trip through this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open your eyes., 14 Oct 2006
By 
P. J. Muldoon (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just a quickie. Some of the above reviews remind us of how slow and boring this book can be and how repetitive. Well, guys, that's the point. How exciting do you suppose being stranded alone on an Island can be? What would you do to pass the time? Defoe takes us back to a time before T.V etc. Your day would be boring, although eventually menial tasks save ones sanity. Time does pass slowly as it looses relavance. It's not a classic for nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 11 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. S. M. Rogers (Bournemouth, Dorset U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robinson Crusoe (Oxford World's Classics) (Paperback)
I am not quite sure what the other reviewers of this text expected from the world's oldest English novel. I do feel that they may think that it does not live up to the film / television versions.

However, if one reads from the understanding that this text is almost 300 years old, and that to truly understand it properly, you need an 'AS' or 'A' levels or higher in English; then in the context of the period it stands out as a true work of the writers' art.

If you want a Hollywood romp, then watch the DVD. If you want to learn how and why Daniel Defoe wrote this, then this book is a good place to start, with excellent notes and an introductory essay by Oxford University academics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gift, 15 July 2011
A beautifully presented book with fantastic drawings. The subject matter is written thoughtfully and at an adult level. As a gift, this worked perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice copy, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Rm Burrell "Lefka Ori" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Collectors Edition is nicely produced book, clear print and can be stuffed in a pocket for train journeys too.
A good read though the C17 language is a bit challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great myth, good story, bad novel?, 7 May 2014
By 
G. A. Reeves (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My original assessment of the book appears in the title but I've added a question mark because rereading it proved to be a different, aesthetically confusing experience. In places it is very tedious, particularly Crusoe's stay on the island, which really drags on. As Dickens rightly said, it won't make you laugh or cry; however, it is extraordinary when taken as a blueprint for all the boys' fiction that followed it, influencing not just island stories (The Coral Island and Treasure Island, among many others) but also high-seas adventures, invasion stories, and manuals in good citizenship (e.g., Baden-Powell's Scouting for Boys). It is a kind of do-it-yourself kit for adventure writers. It was intended as a book for adults, but abridged (including chapbook) editions meant it could be read by younger readers too. Once the book is finished, the reader's memory, providing it's not photographic, can mercifully edit the book and change things around a little, smoothing the rough edges and abridging some of the more tedious episodes. (In this respect, and perhaps I'm wayward in my opinion here, it prophesies Finnegans Wake, where the reader is forced to choose a path through the novel.) Perhaps the playful approach that it encourages is part of the reason for its immense popularity over the centuries.

Robinson Crusoe challenges the notion that a classic must be a universally accepted, enjoyable book that has stood the test of time. Its popularity may be hard to account for, but it is a fact, and one that any literary enthusiast should be thrilled to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed Going back to school, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robinson Crusoe was a book we had to read at school, I enjoyed it then and I enjoyed even more this time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 24 Mar 2014
Considering that there actually isn't much of a plot with this book I was still utterly engaged from beginning to end. It's not an edge-of-your-seat type of drama but the writing is so excellent that you are compelled to keep reading - and thinking. Read it! Even if you think you know the story.

A note on the OneWorld Classics edition - spelling has been modernised which for me personally was a negative to this edition. Notes are sparse but satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robinson Crusoe (Oxford World's Classics)
Robinson Crusoe (Oxford World's Classics) by Daniel Defoe (Paperback - 8 Mar 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews