Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are interested in worss you will love this book!
This book is fantastic. When I was a boy my father used to always say to me when I asked what a word meant 'look it up in the dictionary'. This has stayed with me into my adult life, and encouraged me to learn new words and their meanings. This book goes a further step and shows where words originate which is facinating and provides many dinner party conversations.
I...
Published on 12 Nov 2001

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars isn't it too concise???
The book is very concise, it treats words in a shallow, unserious manner as if the reader is not expected to have deep interests. There is hardly a definition which one can find satisfactory. You just have to read a definition several times and make guesses! I have checked up words which I know for sure are Shakespearean coinages, and it says nothing about it! It is a...
Published on 13 July 2009 by Annie Martirosyan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are interested in worss you will love this book!, 12 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. When I was a boy my father used to always say to me when I asked what a word meant 'look it up in the dictionary'. This has stayed with me into my adult life, and encouraged me to learn new words and their meanings. This book goes a further step and shows where words originate which is facinating and provides many dinner party conversations.
I have also read some of the Chambers dictionary, and was dissapointed with some of the americanism in this book. The Oxford Dictionary is consise and clear in its layout, and a throughly good reference book. My knowledge of the english language has increased tenfold - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars isn't it too concise???, 13 July 2009
By 
Annie Martirosyan "Annie" (Armenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
The book is very concise, it treats words in a shallow, unserious manner as if the reader is not expected to have deep interests. There is hardly a definition which one can find satisfactory. You just have to read a definition several times and make guesses! I have checked up words which I know for sure are Shakespearean coinages, and it says nothing about it! It is a shallow, careless, contentless book, not worth a penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Etymology? What Etymology?, 16 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
A fascinatingly varied and challenging subject is sadly mishandled by the critic T F Hoad, who seems intent on trumpeting his own brilliance and contemporary knowledge at every opportunity, while simultaneously neglecting to add anything that might be of any interest to anyone who is not personally familiar with the critics' foibles. A sad business all round for etymology, which deserved better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superficial popular dictionary, 11 Nov 2003
By 
Esben Alfort (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
I cannot imagine an etymological dictionary not being interesting, but that stems from the fascinating subject and not from the book itself. This book is very superficial and does not really explain much. If you know anything about the history of language, and about Indo-european in particular, then this book won't tell you much you didn't already know. It traces words to their origin in French, German, Latin and so on, but does not go beyond that, which is a pity, because the older history of Indo-european is the most interesting part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just what I expected, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
This was an asked or xmas present. Having done both Latin & Franch at school and having an inter
est in Esperanto and how it was developed I have long been fascinated to know where our language came from and how it has developed. Just what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Etymology, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Jeffrey Kershaw "jeffslaw" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
You have sent me two copies but it will be useful in the English Language part of my degree course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (Oxford Paperback Reference)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews