Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply excellent reference book, and readable with it.
This is a great book for both reference, and just to browse through when the mood takes. The content is clear and concise, and as an amateur food writer, it has never failed to yield the information I needed when researching a subject. The entries are by no means exhaustive but gives enough to certainly use as a basis for further research, or indeed just settle an...
Published on 11 May 2000 by S. Howarth

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I wanted
This is really a food text book and I am sure it tells you everything you need to know but its not really what I had in mind as a present for my husband. It is full of worldwide history and facts about food of every sort from raw ingredients to sauces and cakes etc. But it doesn't have recipes as far as I can see (as yet - its a VERY thick book) which is really what I...
Published 6 months ago by elsie jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simply excellent reference book, and readable with it., 11 May 2000
By 
S. Howarth "S.S.H." (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great book for both reference, and just to browse through when the mood takes. The content is clear and concise, and as an amateur food writer, it has never failed to yield the information I needed when researching a subject. The entries are by no means exhaustive but gives enough to certainly use as a basis for further research, or indeed just settle an argument with a friend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very much worth reading for any lover of food, 28 Dec 1999
By A Customer
If you are like me - you like food -, then you will enjoy this book a lot. It might be of practical value to your daily life now and then, but I think that this is not its strong point. It is an excellent volume to browse at random, or to look up a fact about a particular foodstuff that you always wanted to know. It is very pleasant book to read in any respect. The lay-out is beautiful, something that has become rare these days. The authors (it's not just Alan Davidson alone) write in a very accessible way, so that I can recommend this work to non-native speakers of English (like myself) as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love food? Love cooking? Love learning? Love good writing? Love this book!, 31 Jan 2010
By 
L. E. May "Lester May" (Camden Town, London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Food (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
I love - and am in awe - of polymaths. How I would love to have met the late, great, Alan Davidson, perhaps over a dinner of his choosing or in a ship's wardroom bar; he even looks fun in the photograph of him! A double first in classics at Oxford, a wartime Royal Navy officer, a career British diplomat and one time HM Ambassador to Laos, food expert, food writer and cook, and author of this wonderful book, some twenty years in the writing. What a man - what a book! What a legacy to the world to leave such a feast of a book as this!

Everyone who likes food should have a copy in the kitchen at home; refer to it when you want to know more, of course, but pick it up and find a titbit regarding the meal that you are preparing and cooking - there's always a spare moment or two! Your guests will enjoy the morsel you give them, I am sure. But, when on your own, occasionally let this book be your dining companion; I can guarantee that it will be more of a friend, over the years, than some of the people you have broken the fast with!

Take this book as a gift to your favourite cook and give a copy to your children. Every kitchen and galley should have a copy, as should every maître-chef, sous-chef and bon oeuf, every catering office and catering college classroom. It's an ideal prize, too, for first class chefs.

This second edition is even better than the first. It's still heavy, but it's still light reading, for it is so well-written; like the author surely enjoyed his food, you get the sense that he enjoyed researching and writing this magnum opus. I certainly enjoy digesting it. There are some 72 new entries in this edition; I just hope that not one of the entries in the first edition has been removed so as to find room in this second course. The range of entries is astonishing, with titbits for every food person, and the setting of each page is as pleasing as a well-laid dining table. There are stories and vignettes galore; the author's ability to illustrate food in all its appetising varieties seems endless. A comprehensive bibliography and helpful index are in the green section at the back, and the maps of the "Columbian Exchange" and "selected global food migrations" are an excellent addition.

The list of entries for each alphabetical section is just a new design feature but it's useful, too, for tempting the reader to browse topics at random. Indeed, this design feature should be extended in the next edition to provide a comprehensive list of the contents of each alphabetical section; it would be very helpful in such a voluminous book.

Not copiously illustrated, the drawings by Soun Vannithone, are nevertheless very good indeed. I would love to have seen photographs of the principal vegetables and fruits, growing naturally, growing in cultivation, as picked, as sold in the market and as prepared for cooking, but perhaps that would send the price of the book to that of a Michelin-star restaurant meal.

Let me give you a taster of the range of subjects covered. I must necessarily ration this list to just a few appetisers - I want to leave you hungry for more, but that is easy enough as there are, all told, some 2,711 headwords in the book! Try this alphabetical soup for starters: Afternoon tea; Albatross; Barm brack; Blewit; Char; Custard; Dab; Dripping; Easter foods; Escoffier; Figgy pudding; Film and food; Gallimaufrey; Golden syrup; Haleem; hungry (well it's not a headword in the book, truth be told (though Hungary is), but if you are hungry then go and raid your larder - and, later, raid your piggy bank and buy this book, so you can pursue Imitation foods; Inuit cookery; Jelly and Junket through to Washing up; Yabby; Yam; Zakuski and Zuppa inglese!

I wanted to give Alan Davidson's banquet of a book some six stars, not five; how could anyone give it less? If food is the new religion, then this is surely the new bible. And, if I were allowed one book only, then this would have to be it but sadly not, of course, to take with my eight discs to that BBC radio Desert Island (along with The Bible and the Complete Works of Shakespeare), as it would be make one even more hungry and thus more likely to try to escape!

On 17 March 2010, BBC4 televised a documentary called "The Man Who Ate Everything" - a one-hour personal portrait of Alan Davidson (1924-2003): it was a wonderful tribute to this great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (times 20) -- by Emma Cookson, 20 Nov 1999
Alan Davidson is my grandfather and has been writing this book for twenty years, way before I was even born. I'm thirteen, so he started writing it when I was minus seven years old. I have read lots of his entries on an enormous range of different topics - from Aardvark to Zucchini. I can assure you that my grandfather really knows an awful lot about foods from all over the world and throughout human history. He writes in a really amusing and interesting way. I recommend this book to you, not only as a reference work, but as a source of endless amusement and surprise. It may interest you to know that whenever I am in a restaurant with him and my grandmother, he always seems to order the best dishes (putting his knowledge to good use, I see).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding compilation of everything to do with food., 1 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This is a remarkable book, highly readable, endlessly fascinating and an essential addition to every foodie's library. It is not only the sort of book that is a delight to browse through while eating solitary breakfasts, but a book that comes out over dinner when food is part of a serious discussion. There are minor errors to be found in descriptions of more obscure regional dishes; for example the Northeast Brazilian dish 'Vatapa' which is a thick nut based sauce is confused with 'Mocequa' , a seafood casserole which it usually accompanies. However this is minor carping for a book containing such a depth and breadth of food knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Food (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
I have had the penguin edition since it was first published. Hardly a week goes by without it coming off the shelf. Absolutely fascinating and full of real interest. I have just bought his three books on fish and am already hooked. The tv programme on him is well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original perspective on food, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Food (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
I bought this book after I got to know the wonderful book Mediterranean Seafood by the same author, Alan Davidson. It offers an encyclopedic view on food and food ingredients, including a cultural and historical review. A most original and entertaining book, both for casual browsing and to look up information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 17 Nov 1999
The book is a treasure for food-lovers, it is a celebration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Food bible, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Food (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
An ex-ambassador's view of what foods are eaten around the world and where they have come from. Fascinating. Excellent presents.for Christmas or any other time too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything you need to know about food, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Companion to Food (Oxford Companions) (Hardcover)
A great book for anyone that cares about what they eat. So much useful information. You will find something you didn't know in almost every paragraph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Companion to Food (Oxford Companions)
The Oxford Companion to Food (Oxford Companions) by Alan Davidson (Hardcover - 21 Sep 2006)
£28.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews