Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book
This is a well laid out reference guide; it takes you through the main methods of communication used in the modern world and explains how best to structure your words to ensure you get your point across.

The vast majority of the points in this book are common sense, however, I can see this being very useful for:

1) a teenager looking to expand from...
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by strob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So far so good .
Contains up to date writing and speaking manners , do's and don'ts when writing applications for work . And several paragraphs on e-mailing manners and writing .Abbreviations some that should or shouldn't be used . Some differences between UK and USA pronounciations ,spellings and dates . A useful handbook to have around .
Published 16 months ago by minnow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars essential for aspiring writers, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book for the 'speaking' content. I am about to volunteer for community radio and wanted some guidance.
However, the 'writing' part is also a godsend for anyone who has to write at work or as a hobby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this., 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
speaking and writing have been bugbears for me for a while, this book gives clear concise guides to both and really helps me out, if you've ever wondered how a form should be filled in or how to write a letter professionally or quote someone correctly then you need this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So far so good ., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
Contains up to date writing and speaking manners , do's and don'ts when writing applications for work . And several paragraphs on e-mailing manners and writing .Abbreviations some that should or shouldn't be used . Some differences between UK and USA pronounciations ,spellings and dates . A useful handbook to have around .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This gives great overview - I'm really surprised, 23 Feb 2013
By 
William Fooks (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
The is great for refreshing your approach to meetings, presentations, CVs, Grammer...etc a really helpful book that I keep going back too (i'm now going to check if that is the right too or to)...hmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and to the point, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
Rather difficult to 'review' a book like this. Delivers what is promised and is well laid out and is easy to use. I refer to it quite often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus item, 7 Oct 2011
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
This was on offer when I bought the dictionary, theasarus and grammar books. Thought I would be useful for son now he's in a grammar school as well as help to sharpen my communication skills. Very good tool I think in improving ones's ability to articulate in different situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
Ideal book for this topic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Something for everyone in it., 1 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
I'm 20, male. But my English lessons, of late, had gone a bit rusty. And CV/Presentation knowledge very very confused, cluttered with so many online tips and lists from career/marketing punters.

I bought it as I was preparing for a presentation, I'm sure its going to be of much use to me in my career for good few years. For that purpose I had this book laminated to keep it from wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OXFORD BOOKS, 3 Feb 2010
By 
JOHN GREEN "John Pierrepoint-Green" (Leamington spa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
All of these Ranges of Book a very helpfull if you want to improve your English, I think of any Book that are more helpful than any reference book that you will purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking
Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking by John Seely (Paperback - 30 Jun 2005)
Used & New from: 13.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews