Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book
This is a well laid out reference guide; it takes you through the main methods of communication used in the modern world and explains how best to structure your words to ensure you get your point across.

The vast majority of the points in this book are common sense, however, I can see this being very useful for:

1) a teenager looking to expand from...
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by strob

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So far so good .
Contains up to date writing and speaking manners , do's and don'ts when writing applications for work . And several paragraphs on e-mailing manners and writing .Abbreviations some that should or shouldn't be used . Some differences between UK and USA pronounciations ,spellings and dates . A useful handbook to have around .
Published 16 months ago by minnow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
This is a well laid out reference guide; it takes you through the main methods of communication used in the modern world and explains how best to structure your words to ensure you get your point across.

The vast majority of the points in this book are common sense, however, I can see this being very useful for:

1) a teenager looking to expand from school essays to university projects and beyond;
2) someone wanting to dip into the various sections and pick up reminders and tips; and,
3) those looking to generally improve their communication skills.

The chapters contain clear examples and also "bullet point summaries" - very helpful.

You may find yourself disagreeing with Mr Seely in places, I certainly did, however that does not detract from the usefulness of this guide. I have found a place for this next to the dictionary - words alone are not that useful, you need to use them properly and with purpose and that is where this guide comes in handy.

Four stars - one down because I do disagree on several points (but that is just me and my style of writing!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, easy to use and thorough, 14 Jan 2008
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
This book crams a lot into its relatively few pages by focusing on key concepts and following its own advice on presentation.

It covers a range of needs from CVs, email and letters to presentations (my interest area).

I found the whole approach on narrative style vs. others; reasons why we communicate and the easy guide to structuring material. As one who is involved in training this has added a lot to my repertoire of material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful tool, 21 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
This is an excellent book - it provides an excellent framework and guidance withoout being too prescriptive. It also reminds us of a few basic truths about communication - clarity, purpose and courtesy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, great help!, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
Must have if you are not that confident in your English sometimes. I found it very useful; gives clear explanations, good examples. It's one of the best book I read in the subject, just what I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review on book OXFORD WRITING AND SPEAKING, 9 May 2010
I belong to a writing circle, and I was struggling with my grammar and punctuation until I bought this book. I was confused when using certain words, to which context they belonged
It is well written and easy to understand. The book is well designed. The texture of the paper is pleasant an bright. Th print size is readable not to small, this is important to me, as I am a Senior citizen and my eye site is not as good as it should be. I congratulate the Author for the success in writing it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living up to its title, 17 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
An excellent publication looking at communication in all settings and aspects in writing and speaking. It is concise and makes use of simple diagrams where these will save words. There are useful exercises for self-testing in the various topics as they occur - together with explanations where needed. Its introductions to and explanations of the topics covered are a model of economy in words without any loss of clarity. This is a s brilliant exposition of its title.
Another excellent and 'companion' publication to thie book is the Oxford A-Z of Grammar and Punctuation by the same author.
Not only are both of these superb primers they are extremely useful as 'look-up' books for refreshing the memory subsequently.
I cannot recommend these two books too highly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oxford guide to Effective writing and speaking, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
It is a good book, easy to use. I would recommend it to anyone who want to improve their writing skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
This book is a great to have at hand. Don't leave it sitting on that book shelf, get writing, improve the way you communicate. Don't consider, buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
Gr8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking (Paperback)
The book arrived in good time and was well packed. the book is a very good study aid and very well laid out. Fellow students have already taken an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking
Oxford Guide to Effective Writing and Speaking by John Seely (Paperback - 30 Jun 2005)
Used & New from: 13.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews