Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasting menu...
Reading this book which showcases Guy de Maupassant and Emile Zola between the same covers as Anna Gavalda is a real treat. It is a little like opting for a tasting menu in a Michelin-starred restaurant, where the chef decides to tease and please your palate with his choices.
The short stories are probably not selected with an end game in mind which is just as well...
Published on 26 Jan 2006 by S. Yogendra

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's fine
Quite enjoyable literal trip around Paris, historical and atmospheric with most passages just long enough to take at one sitting.
Published 13 months ago by A. Parker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tasting menu..., 26 Jan 2006
By 
S. Yogendra "Shefaly" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City (Paperback)
Reading this book which showcases Guy de Maupassant and Emile Zola between the same covers as Anna Gavalda is a real treat. It is a little like opting for a tasting menu in a Michelin-starred restaurant, where the chef decides to tease and please your palate with his choices.
The short stories are probably not selected with an end game in mind which is just as well because there is a range of flavours from a suburbian woman seeking real pleasure to a young Parisian woman seeking to be chic.
The places where the stories happened are meticulously marked on a map of Paris arrondisements at the back of the book, complete with a map of the Metro - quirky touches which make the book even more interesting.
Some stories however you are better off reading in French, such as Maupassant and Gavalda, both of which write in a sinuous tone, if that were feasible, which cannot be replicated in translations however faithful. But better to read in English than not to read them at all. Hence 4 stars but a great collection to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative collection of short stories, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Janie U (Kings Cliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City (Paperback)
All the stories have the ability to introduce the characters and put them firmly into their Parisian setting which is hugely evocation of the city and its atmosphere.
Reading some of the stories made me almost breathless due to the pace that they whipped along at and the intensity of the plots.
I've never read any of the authors before and a few will now stay in my head to look at for again.
I enjoyed some stories more than others which is often the case with a collection of stories but it is a great book to be recommended to anyone who wants a feel of Paris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's fine, 11 Aug 2013
By 
A. Parker "Tony P" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite enjoyable literal trip around Paris, historical and atmospheric with most passages just long enough to take at one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, good delivery., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City (Paperback)
A wonderful book; I like it so much that I bought another copy for a friend.
Good and prompt delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug 2014
This review is from: Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City (Paperback)
Great little book takes you through the streets and times and lives .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City was an interesting book, not exciting but it interested me in other authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paris Tales: A lieterary Tour of the City, 11 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City (Paperback)
Anybody who loves the City of Light will enjoy this book for the varying literary aspects of it beautifully put together by Helen Constantine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 April 2009
By 
E. James (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City (Paperback)
Apart from a couple of exceptions, I found this book extremely dull. I don't often read books that make me wish I hadn't wasted my time - but this was one of the few.
Don't expect it to give you a flavour of Paris.. or an enticing taste of French literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City (Paperback)
These stories are very short, and the caliber of writing isn't that great. I like being exposed to new writers... but a majority of the French writers in this book I've never heard of, nor do I plan on ever reading again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City
Paris Tales: A Literary Tour of the City by Helen Constantine (Paperback - 9 Sep 2004)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews