Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and magnificent
While the various cinema and television dramatisations of her books have deservedly contributed to making Jane Austen known and loved beyond the study of her writing in the classroom, it would be a shame to settle for the adaptations and never read those exquisitely written novels.
I have just reread "Sense and Sensibility" and have once again marvelled at the...
Published on 15 Mar 2005 by jfp2006

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not her best
Being a big fan of Austen, I was expecting this to be a masterpiece, after all many had proclaimed it as such. However, I was to be greatly dissapointed.
Don't misunderstand, this is by no extremes a bad novel it just pales in comparison to her other words. The prose reminds me a lot of Lawrence for some reason, perhaps this was precipitated by the likeness of Elinor...
Published on 23 Oct 2005 by jeremiahsanchez1452


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and magnificent, 15 Mar 2005
By 
jfp2006 (PARIS/France) - See all my reviews
While the various cinema and television dramatisations of her books have deservedly contributed to making Jane Austen known and loved beyond the study of her writing in the classroom, it would be a shame to settle for the adaptations and never read those exquisitely written novels.
I have just reread "Sense and Sensibility" and have once again marvelled at the absolute masterliness of Jane Austen's depiction of human feelings, hesitations and dilemmas. Young ladies in 2005 may not make their emotional choices in the same way as Elinor and Marianne Dashwood had to do two hundred years ago, but few contemporary writers show the complexity of emotional relationships with the same precision and insight as Jane Austen. Then as now, the most irresistible men on the surface turn out, like Willougby, to be the most unsuitable ones when you get to know them (and that doesn't make them any less irresistible...); then as now, parents (Mrs Frears) tend to be domineering and unbearable, and yet a part of the equation to be reckoned with; then as now, it may be a good idea to realise that people are very often less predictable than they at first seemed...
But then - and very often not now... - there was the way Jane Austen plotted it all out and honed her sentences like chisels, so that the novel begs to be read aloud.
As of course it would have been once. For those who never have, time to switch off the TV and launch into Jane Austen. Start with this one; take sides with Marianne and with Elinor, marvel at how comic characters like jovial Mrs Jennings and bimbo-ish, semi-literate Lucy Steele remind you of people still very much at large today. Then treat yourself to the even more wonderful "Pride and Prejudice". And then all the others. And bemoan the fact there are only six of them (plus a couple of bits...) And then start all over again.
Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duty and desire, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent pocket sized edition of Jane Austen's first novel. The type is clear and a reasonable size and the book is nicely produced with an interesting introduction.

Elinor and Marianne are good examples of how two sisters can be completely different in character and temperament. Elinor is the sensible cautious sister and Marianne the romantic and sensitive one who delights in wild landscapes and feeling heartbroken or elated. I always love the way both sisters deal with adversity. Elinor seeks to keep her feelings to herself and to find occupations to take her mind of what has happened; Marianne wallows in disappointment and doesn't try to overcome her feelings. There are parallels to be drawn here with modern society which encourages people to let their feelings all `hang out' and with say the 1950s where there was more emphasis on duty, putting others first and dealing with your own disappointments.

As ever Jane Austen's dialogue and descriptions delight the reader. There are comic and serious characters; the good natured Mrs Jennings and the unpleasant Mrs Ferrars; the reliable and thoughtful Colonel Brandon and the completely unreliable John Willoughby. While not the most popular of Austen's novels it is still very readable and a delight to anyone who loves her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sense dictates you buy this CD, 27 Oct 2008
By 
MG Eldridge (Anywhere but Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a short review of the product not the book.

It is superbly read by Ms Stevenson (as in her reading of "Persuasion") - once more every word and inflection counts. The characters - well or less ably drawn - live. Miss Austen's often stringent wit comes through repeatedly, as does her understanding of her gender. I can't think of a better way to make a series of long car journeys a delightful prospect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 3 Jan 2010
By 
L. Gribble (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say, a great classic (my favourite!) and it looks and feels amazing with the new cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me, anything Jane Austen is just great, 19 Nov 2006
This is my second favourite Jane Austen's novel after Pride and Prejudice. As usual, i find Jane Austen's style amazing, I loved many characters in the book specially Marian, i always found something charming about this girl much more charming than her sister..Her emotions are very deep, she loves deeply, grieves deeply, even her prejudice is deep. I felt very sorry for her for even though she married but it seemed to me like she will never love anyone like she loved willoughby. I first read this book in 2000, i read it again last year and i enjoyed it as if i was reading it for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 29 Mar 2009
By 
C. L. Foster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Intially, I wasn't that impressed with Julie Christie's reading of Sense and Sensibility. It was sometimes harsh to listen to and unsubtle, but as it progressed Christie improved greatly. It is abridged and runs over 6 cds. It is a lovely cd to listen to, and of a great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Edition, 29 Nov 2011
This is a review of this particular edition of Sense and Sensibility for Kindle, since reviews of the book are easy enough to find.

I was looking for an unabridged version of Sense and Sensibility, that had even margins on each side of the text and that was nicely formatted. This edition delivered everything I wanted, including nice simple formatting that is easy to follow (it almost has a vintage feel to it) and chapters that start on a new page, with the added bonus of wonderful illustrations throughout the book (one of two per chapter -- enough to enjoy, but not so many it's distracting). I loved reading this edition and would highly recommend it.

My only complaint is that I can't buy Persuiasion in the same edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not her best, 23 Oct 2005
Being a big fan of Austen, I was expecting this to be a masterpiece, after all many had proclaimed it as such. However, I was to be greatly dissapointed.
Don't misunderstand, this is by no extremes a bad novel it just pales in comparison to her other words. The prose reminds me a lot of Lawrence for some reason, perhaps this was precipitated by the likeness of Elinor and Marianne to Ursula and Gudrun. The narrative, at times, appeared somewhat confusing and it was difficult to keep track of who was supposedly in love with who and why it wouldn't work out.
Marianne by far is one of the most insipid characters created in literature. Her constant need to cry gets tedious and irritating. Elinor, although supposedly stoical and diffident, is far too reserved to be realistic.
The presentation of Colonel Brandon is fantastic however. He comes across as the best character in the book - so lifelike and amiable.
All in all, this book is not bad but pales in comparison to Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion (and even Northanger Abbey). It deserves to be read by any Austen fan, but if one expects the greatness of the novels mentioned before then prepare yourself for deflation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A treat!, 12 Feb 2006
By 
I was quite surprised to find myself reading this. Despite having done English A level I've managed to avoid the whole world of C19th women's novels until now. Having nagged my kids that they ought to read more classics, I thought I'd better give it a go myself. I struggled through the first fifty or so pages - the world Austen writes about is almost as far from mine as, say that of a woman in Riyadh -- but once I'd gotten over the language I found myself really enjoying this. It's really funny, and I was quite unprepared for the studied bitchiness of both author and characters. I think more JA is on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable period novel, 25 Nov 1999
Having not read a period / classic novel for a long time and having recently decided to broaden my range of literature I do not think I could have chosen a more enjoyable book to start with. Once accustomed to the language and vocabulary this becomes a very engaging read with the strong characterisation. A well deserved classic IMHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sense and Sensibility (Oxford World's Classics)
Sense and Sensibility (Oxford World's Classics) by Jane Austen (Paperback - 11 Mar 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews