Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standard issue for the student of Egypt
This was the second book on Egyptian history I brought as an adult. As an academic resource it is probably the definitive introduction to that subject. It runs chronologically from Predynastic up to the end of the Roman Period, offering a brief but accurate and meaningful glance into the reigns of all the Pharaohs and assorted foreign rulers who shaped Egyptian...
Published on 17 July 2007 by Krys Garnett

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Go There
This is a book for the specialist and for students. Those with a professional / academic interest will probably find the text of value, but it is not a book for the general reader. It is probably the dullest history I have ever attempted to read. In my opinion(i.e. that of an interested amateur) it gives no real insight into the lives of the people, their religious...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by planner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standard issue for the student of Egypt, 17 July 2007
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This was the second book on Egyptian history I brought as an adult. As an academic resource it is probably the definitive introduction to that subject. It runs chronologically from Predynastic up to the end of the Roman Period, offering a brief but accurate and meaningful glance into the reigns of all the Pharaohs and assorted foreign rulers who shaped Egyptian history.

The academic effort that went into this work must have been immense, and it is rightly one of the most important standard texts for all students, or indeed for those who aspire to become one. Indeed this volume now sits, rather well thumbed as a standard reference on my desk.

At first glance the small typeface and crammed approach makes this a slightly daunting work, but it's division into quite separate works on the major periods of Egyptian history (predynastic,old, FIP, middle, SIP, new, TIP, late, Ptolemaic, roman) means you can easily approach this book "a kingdom at a time", a much better way of tackling it, and also make it an excellent book for soaking up intellectually dead time such as commuting, work etc, which is how I approached it.

Whilst this work lacks some of the readability of Tydesley or Gahlin, it is a veritable gold mine of solidly researched history and for anyone interested in serious/mainstream Egyptian history, there really is no better place to start. It also contains a very useful bibliography for digging further into the nitty gritty of particular areas which fascinate you.

You really do need this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best "short" histories of Egypt, 26 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
Well, for one i'd like to stress how well I think the various authors have squeezed an amazing amount of information on all aspects of Egyptian history, culture and religion into comparatively few pages. This book provides an excellent base from which a reader can go about gathering more information. No one book will be sufficient to provide a reader with a thoroughly detailed account of Egyptian history without running into many many volumes. What the authors here do is condense the information into a size that is manageable without being "basic".

As a student of Egyptology under Ian Shaw I have found this book invaluable and have used it as a standard reference work in most essays and also as a background work in revision and its' list of resources at the back is extremely good at pointing me in the direction of other, more thorough works.

All in all I thoroughly recommend it to the student as well as someone with any interest in the ancient Egyptian civilisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent packed with information, 23 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
A fantastic, informative book, although lacking in religious discourse which formed much of ancient egyptian life. However, a marvellous reference book all the same. Would have been better in a larger format as difficult to read at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, if a little heavy, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This is written in quite an academic style and assumes a level of knowledge that I don't have, which have made the first few chapters slow-going. But it is fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the hard-core readers, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 16 year old daughter, who is mad about all things Egyptian (!). However, the book is really geared towards a higher education level. That said, I am sure she will be picking it up within a year or so when her A-levels are done.
It's packed with lots of dates, intricate information and text.
I would say is definitely aimed at Degree-level students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant little book!, 17 July 2011
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This book is fantastic for anyone who wants to take an academic interest in Ancient Egypt. It gives a good, clear review of Ancient Egyptian history, that is interesting and not too overbearing! Its a great buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advanced knowledge, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This book is an ideal companion book to expand the information given in the 'Acient Egypt' book' written by scholars, it is ideal for school children to dip into on specific subjects, and fascinating for adults who wish to read a seriously good and informative book on Ancient Egypt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABBY, 30 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This is one of the best references I have read to date. Very thorough research. Worth a read if you are studying Ancient Egypt and pre-dynastic periods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Feb 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Darwen, Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
I have been to Egypt, the first time was in 1993, and I made my mind up that I'd like to study Egyptology.

Although in my second year of studying Egyptology, during my first year this was one of my study books I was required to read.

This provides you with a lot of information on different periods of the Ancient Egyptian History, in all it covers 700,000 years.

I found this book informative, interesting and enjoyable to read. Sometimes I had to read a chapter twice for all the information to sink in.

Whether you are studying Egyptology or just want a little more knowledge this is an excellent book.

It makes an excellent edition to my little Egyptian library, which now stands at nearly 1000 books on this subject. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Go There, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt (Paperback)
This is a book for the specialist and for students. Those with a professional / academic interest will probably find the text of value, but it is not a book for the general reader. It is probably the dullest history I have ever attempted to read. In my opinion(i.e. that of an interested amateur) it gives no real insight into the lives of the people, their religious practices, their art, architecture, etc. Unless you are a specialist and in need of a background reference with a focus on kingship chronology stay away from this book. There are far more interesting and user friendly texts available which will give a real insight into Ancient Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt
The Oxford History of Ancient Egypt by Ian Shaw (Paperback - 23 Oct 2003)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews