Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent breadth and depth, perfect for people new to the subject
An excellent book for somebody like me who knew nothing about schizophrenia apart from the cliches and the bad taste jokes.

It covers all the bases- the history of the disorder, the different explanations that have been suggested for its cause, a variety of accounts from schizophrenics about how it feels, a fair amount of detail about the science of the brain...
Published on 17 Feb 2008 by Mr. Stuart Bruce

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely basic
It was suggested I buy this book for a third year Psychology course. I found this book very basic, boring and a bit pointless. More useful for someone with no experience of schizophrenia who wishes to learn more
Published 20 months ago by Fen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent breadth and depth, perfect for people new to the subject, 17 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
An excellent book for somebody like me who knew nothing about schizophrenia apart from the cliches and the bad taste jokes.

It covers all the bases- the history of the disorder, the different explanations that have been suggested for its cause, a variety of accounts from schizophrenics about how it feels, a fair amount of detail about the science of the brain under schizophrenia, modern day opinions about treating people with schizophrenia, and more.

All of this is perfectly well balance, clear and easy-to-read, and I found it to contain just the right amount of depth. An excellent, and short (not very short!) introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars valuable as a source for background reading, 8 April 2008
By 
A. Rogiers (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This book describes the history, concepts, symptoms, importance, environmental and biological factors of schizophrenia. The authors included several boxes of illustrating cases, DSM-IV criteria, drawings of patients, newspaper fragments, ...

Schizophrenia is a terrible condition that can ruin people's lives and since there are a lot of misunderstandings it's important to read books like this: it provides you a clear and interesting overview of what schizophrenia really is about.

It doesn't seem to be organized as a textbook for a psychiatry course (so I wouldn't recommend it for that purpose) - it's rather intended as a source for background reading.

Although there is a brief chapter about drugs, a bit more information concerning the pharmacological, clinical and social aspects of antipsychotics would have made it complete. But overall: good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the field, 31 Oct 2007
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
The book is an interesting read. I particularily liked the last chapter "The importance of Schizophrenia", which raises many intriguing questions on what we can learn from the schizophrenia. I would recommend it to someone who wants to know more about the disease (but not too much).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Very good. I am currently enjoying the book, which arrived promptly and well wrapped. Very happy with my purchase from Chris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars small and interesting., 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
at first i thought too small but having read a bit i like it. not a text book but does cover some ground that is worthy of note. i like the historical accounts and some illustrations. There is material i have not read much on before eg lsd, pictures of insulin coma treatment, good historical account that follows some people who went from years of hospitalisation into care in the community. Interesting discussion on institutionalisation versus negative symptoms. So, pretty good for anyone interested in the topic. Not exam focused but an engaging little book. great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short, sweet and to the point, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Great book for a quick reference. Easy to understand and covers many key areas. If you are a student or have little knowledge of the subject this book is a great starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good - recommend, 20 Mar 2009
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I found this is a good introduction to the subject and it covers so much in so few pages. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 8 Oct 2003
By 
F. J. Fraser "Fiona" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
A really interesting book giving a good overview of the condition. And as the book is quite small and compact it is not too off putting when you start to read!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely basic, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
It was suggested I buy this book for a third year Psychology course. I found this book very basic, boring and a bit pointless. More useful for someone with no experience of schizophrenia who wishes to learn more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) by Eve C. Johnstone (Paperback - 22 May 2003)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews