Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction
This book is really well put together introduction. The book is an excellent place to start for those who are new to art history either as interested readers or as A level students or 1st year university students. It covers a range issues that have affected how art history has been written e.g. focusing on the artist or the style or the type period etc. and how...
Published on 7 Oct. 2010 by Harry the book monkey

versus
12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat misleading title..
I decided to purchase this book upon the realisation that I know comparatively little about Art and it's history.

I assumed that the book would be a "Very Short Introduction" to the History of Art. However I was mistaken when I discovered that the book is less about the history of art and more about Art History, as if it were a subject to be studied at a...
Published on 12 Mar. 2009 by I Maj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction, 7 Oct. 2010
By 
Harry the book monkey (Citizen of the world) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This book is really well put together introduction. The book is an excellent place to start for those who are new to art history either as interested readers or as A level students or 1st year university students. It covers a range issues that have affected how art history has been written e.g. focusing on the artist or the style or the type period etc. and how responses to the assumptions made by some art historians have affected how art history has been written. The main strength of the book lies in a good choice of art works that can be cross referenced against each other in many different ways which means the same art work can be used to make several different points which maximises the space available and shows the masterly composition of this very short introduction. This is also shown in the short chapter that deals with philosophical ideas that are relevant to talking about art history. It would not be impossible to give much of an account of each philosopher and the background of their work in the space available, but by focusing on a few viewpoints and how each view point differs from the others, Dana Arnold is able to give a good overview of how different philosophical viewpoints relate to how we talk about art works and their history and this was a elegant solution to the problem of the space available in such a short introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, accessible summary of art movements and the artist's place in society., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This concise history of art gives an excellent overview of how art history has evolved. For anyone taking a course in art history I would strongly recommend reading this first. Some books are verbose, dense and confusing. This is the opposite. Well written and really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect For Fine Art Students, 18 Feb. 2015
By 
Elizabeth C. Colley (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This book was the perfect tool for my studies in Fine Art at University. Written in simple to understand terms, it offers the reader a condensed version of the events that surrounded arts history. A very useful book for getting to grips with how contemporary art is directly reflected by past art. Handy small size too, for carrying around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars history of art, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Although not all related to the same subject as a small collection of books looking at the development of Renaissance art these are essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat misleading title.., 12 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I decided to purchase this book upon the realisation that I know comparatively little about Art and it's history.

I assumed that the book would be a "Very Short Introduction" to the History of Art. However I was mistaken when I discovered that the book is less about the history of art and more about Art History, as if it were a subject to be studied at a university. The book is more about the history and decriptions of Art History itself.

While I admit this might be down to my ignorance of the subject, I have to say I was disappointed with this book, as the title is a little misleading. If one is looking for information on Art History, then this book is an excellent resource; however if one is looking for a book on the history of art (as I was) then I think your money would be better spent elsewhere.

I personally reccomend Art History for Dummies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Personal, informative and easy to read, 12 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
This little book is slightly too personal to be labelled 'History', ie some bits are overly subjective.
Except for that, it was a great little book to read while commuting.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The title is accurate, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
Mrs. Danielle F. Kaye "Dani" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
Yes, this really is a very short introduction! A good starter book for anybody who is interested in the history of art, but will need to be followed up by more comprehensive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point if you want to know more about the history of Africa., 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
An excellent introduction to the subject. I liked it so much i bought more in the same series. ... ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I gave up., 15 April 2013
By 
Stephen Engelhard (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) (Paperback)
I got as far as the first paragraph of the Preface and had to give up. Too many grammatical errors and awful convoluted prose with one subsidiary clause after another... Pity, I might have liked to read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art History: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews