Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reference Work, 18 May 2008
By 
Elizabeth Taylor (France) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To call this a dictionary is somewhat of a misnoma, as there is more than a simple few lines attached to each description. Its more an encyclopedia and somewhat of an essential one for anyone studying the ancient world. for example, Alexander the Great takes full 3 pages whilst his erstwhile founding city Alexandria takes half a page with each entry containing references to almost everything one can think of, there are not only cities and people and gods described and fully cross referenced there are also ideas such as ''Edict'' or Eduction split into Greek and Roman or the definition of Freedman. These days wikipedia is considered the be all and end all but this book is itself a mini wikipedia. It allows you to look up individual ideas or gods or people and cross reference them. Its not that expensive for what it is (and I have the hardback version which will be with me until my end), so its a great investment if you are interested in the ancient world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just for the classical specialist, 5 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This is a superb book for the intelligent general reader who wants to understand references from the past and to know what modern scholarship can tell us about the classical world . The prose is elegant and precise, the cross-referencing makes it possible to expand one's horizons with little effort. This book is outstandingly good value, and will be useful for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Compendium!, 5 Dec. 2005
For once you can judge a book by its cover: both are stunning! I know of no other scholar who has so magically wedded a meticulous eye with a continual consideration for the lay reader. Reading this book you feel the presence of an author who truly loves the Classical World, in its broadest sense: encompassing literature, history, philosophy, and sociology. Whether you've always loved the classics or always hated them, I urge you to read this book. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top reference book, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
Simon Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Obviously I don't recommend that you sit and read this book from start to finish, because that isn't why you should pick it up. It is a great tool to have incase you are trying to remember something about the classical world that you can't remember, or even something to skim through now and then. The Oxford series can be relied upon to be correct and brief, but not brief enough that it won't answer what you are trying to find out. Each one whether it is the Classical World, or Myths, or Grammar, are like short Encyclopaedias, and a great and fascinating read. Try picking a page, finding a place or name, and try to use it in a sentence, fun game if you a geek like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity for the classical enthusiast or student, 19 Nov. 2012
By 
Julie (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Having achieved a M.A. in classical studies and being a bit rusty, this book is ideal for quick reference being jam pack full of knowledge. If you are studying classical studies at about any level, I think you will find this helpful. Wish I had purchased one when I was doing my Batchelors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
The book arrived in quick time and precisely as expected. The book isn't as comprehensive as one hoped, but it is still worth getting as a general guide. For a few pounds it's a bargain so self-righteous classicist can afford to miss :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great bargain. Only damage is to the inside front ..., 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great bargain. Only damage is to the inside front cover and otherwise the book is pristine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (Oxford Paperback Reference) (Paperback)
Would not want to be without this - should be in every classical student's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (Oxford Paperback Reference)
Used & New from: £1.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews