Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2015
Recommended to me many moons ago, still reading it, well written history of our modern time x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
I didn't find Davies style very engaging but the book was in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
That was a good present for my english friend:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
very good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Why is this book written backwards? It is illogical and makes for an extremely difficult read. Whilst the author claims this structure clarifies Polish history, it in fact clouds it. The book turns out to be repetitive, messy and poorly organised and is a battle to read. Although its content is useful, it has to be sifted through. Buy a different book on Polish history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Great Title…..but way too tedious. I really did want a short history of Poland…..this is a doorstop written like a textbook. It's not something you read; rather, something you study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Poorly structured. Diffcult to follow storyline. Far too much pointless detail. Here and there were some interesting points which kept me going to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
I have a high regard for Norman Davies as a historian, but I didn't really like the literary translations of some pieces of Polish lyrics in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)