Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just For Youngsters
Because Rosemary Sutcliff is known as a childrens writer it might be assumed this is a book/trilogy just for children. It is NOT,it will appeal to all ages. I am 68 and the writing and story as good as Iggulden or Scarrow all of whose books I have.
Published on 14 April 2011 by DavidK

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star because William Weaver can't speak English
WTF!
Rosemary Sutcliff was English; she wrote in English.

But the scum who sell her works are Noah "F**cking Clue" Websteroids.

I shit on those scum who can't speak nor write the Queen's English, those who write "armored", "mom" , "honor" et al.

You are despicable.

Heron (sp?)
Published 1 month ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just For Youngsters, 14 April 2011
This review is from: The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles (Paperback)
Because Rosemary Sutcliff is known as a childrens writer it might be assumed this is a book/trilogy just for children. It is NOT,it will appeal to all ages. I am 68 and the writing and story as good as Iggulden or Scarrow all of whose books I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles (Paperback)
This book is fantastic.
I have been a fan of the Eagle of the Ninth story since it was dramatised on Radio 4 back in 1996 and have listened to it on and off since then. I never thought to read the book until I realised the radio version was waaaay to short for my liking.
This book comprises The Eagle of the Ninth, the Silver Branch and the Lantern Bearers, three stories set in the same universe.

I would recommend that anybody planning to go and see the new movie adaptation of 'The Eagle of the Ninth' read the book first as the story is amazing. Testament to Rosemary Sutcliff's writing prowess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding trilogy, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Ben Kane (Nr Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles (Paperback)
This compendium would be an excellent addition to anyone's collection. It's made up of three loosely linked books - the first, The Eagle of the Ninth, is Sutcliff's most famous work, and is currently the subject of a film adaptation, The Eagle. It's the story of an injured and embittered young centurion, Marcus Flavius Aquila, who takes on an impossible quest - to find the lost eagle standard of his father's legion, lost many years before in the wilds of Scotland. It's a stirring tale of bravery, honour and the search for redemption against overwhelming odds, and it has entranced generations of readers from "eight to eighty eight".

While The Silver Branch, the second book, is an excellent read, it is not in quite the same league as the first story. Set about 150 years later, it concerns two cousins, both members of the same family as the hero of The Eagle of then Ninth. The tale also takes place in Britain, at a time when the emperorship of Rome had become a commodity to be fought over. Again the themes of loyalty, honour and aiming for a brighter future stand out, as do Sutcliff's wonderful descrptions of Roman Britain.

The Lantern Bearers is the last book, and in my mind, it is the best. Winner of the Carnegie Medal, an extremely prestigious award, it is by far the most rich in character development. The main protagonist is Aquila, a young Roman soldier, and a member of the same family as those who featured in the first two books. Deserting the legions as they abandon Britain to its fate (in AD 410), he enters the service of Ambrosius, a charismatic Roman leader whose aim it is to save the island from the waves of Saxon and Jute invaders. The story carries the reader through nearl 20 years of warfare, and is a joy to read. One of the other characters, Artos (a nod to the mythical figure of Arthur) also features in another Sutcliff book, the highly regarded Sword at Sunset.

Ben Kane, author of The Forgotten Legion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles (Paperback)
Rosemary Sutcliff, in this trilogy is far too good and subtle a writer to be consigned to the ghetto of children's literature. All three books explore the theme of what it means to be a Roman in Britain, and the slow move from being a Roman with strong ties to Britain in the first book, to being a Roman who's loyalty to Roman ways and Rome strongly depends on how good Rome is for Britain in the second book, to a Roman who when push comes to shove, and Rome abandons Britain, discovers that he has actually become British and so abandons Rome.

Sutcliff's characterisation is subtle and complex, battle scenes serve a valid narrative purpose and her plotting is highly believable. I cannot reccomend this highly enough.

Oh, by the by, steer well clear of The Eagle (the film version). Devoid of all subleties, moral ambiguities and taking liberties with the plot it is hugely dissapointing after the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Old Friend!!, 6 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles (Paperback)
I first read the Eagle of The Ninth when I was about 8-9 in the late 60s, I loved the story then and read all the rest of Rosemary Sutcliffe's novels. I continue to enjoy similar stories and Simon Scarrow's Macro and Cato novels are a modern equivalent. I introduced my now grown-up daughter to the book, she too loves it and has read 2 copies to death!! I don't think referring to the 2 later books as being "set in the same Universe" is very helpful - these books are not fantasy, they are set in our Universe in Roman times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romano British Chronicles, 22 Jan 2013
By 
A. E. Williams "History fanatic" (Liverpool,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't be put off by the fact that these are often seen as books for "young adults" The trilogy covers the waning and withdrawal of Roman power in Britain and the rise of the various factions struggling to take over through the eyes of one Romano British family, although they can be read as separate stories .
On one level each is an adventure ranging from the finding of the lost Eagle of the ninth legion through to the rise of Ambrosius and a young man called Artos. They are also however a tribute to discipline and order as typified by the Romans (often given a bad press) and the various "barbarian " tribes with their own versions of slavery and cruelty as well as noble and brave warriors. The heart of the story is the conflict between loyalty to Rome and ones homeland. All three books are excellently written and inspired by ancient artefacts found in Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am enjoying it, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have great trouble putting it down when I should be going to sleep, a very good book thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best set of novels on late Roman Britain, 26 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles (Paperback)
These three books in one compendium, originally written for teenagers, cover the last years of Roman Britain and the Saxon invasion

The detail is excellent without being overwhelming and the sense of oncoming disaster and hope is palpable

Great adventure books and decent history for those who wouyld otherwise ignore a little remembered time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Robert Graves, 30 Oct 2013
By 
K. Wright (Edinburgh, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never read any Rosemary Sutcliff before I read this with my son. How could the adults in my life have allowed this to happen?

I feel about her writing the way I feel about that of Hilary Mantel or Joseph Conrad: it's perfect. The breadth of Rosemary Sutcliff's amazing and sympathetic imagination is entirely matched by the economical effectiveness of her prose. I particularly love her descriptions of landscape and the natural environment, they so perfectly evoke the beautiful wildness of dark-age Britain.

If you have kids, buy these books for them. If you don't have kids then buy them anyway and then lose yourself in them. Just get these books: you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent a trueadventure story, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first book but the quality degraded a little by book 3 - they were set too far apart and are not really linked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles
The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles by Rosemary Sutcliff (Paperback - 3 Jun 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews