Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Selection of Christmas Poetry
This is a wonderful collection of Christmas prose - the genre of poetry is transcended by the inclusion of songs and narratives. The anthology has pieces that are humorous, melancholy, mediative and prayerful. The poets include Ted Hughes, John Betjeman, TS Eliot, Walter de la Mare, Dylan Thomas, Charles Causley, WH Auden and Roger McGough.
Highlights include...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Book Beaver

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Too much out of date poetry. Lots of modern poets have written lots of interesting and fun Xmas poems. This anthology needs more. Times have changed.
Published 20 months ago by Sunslave


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Hoping it might be so', 11 Dec 2011
By 
Guy reid-brown "GRB" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This one has been an Advent staple in the household every year since it was gifted back in 1999. The layout is excellent and the illustrations as produced by a variety of different and very talented artists are superb. The essence is of course the poems, and whilst there are utter delights from such famous names as Rudyard Kipling, John Betjeman, Thomas Hardy, W H Auden (this one really surprised me for whatever reason) and Dylan Thomas, a lot of the most intensely moving pieces are by perhaps more obscure names such as Gwen Dunn (my personal favourite of the anthology) Elizabeth Coatsworth, U. A. Fanthorpe and Raoul Ponchon (as translated by James Kirkup). Conversely, and I appreciate that poetical appreciation can be as subjective as musical, I found some entries by big hitters such as T S Eliot, Robert Graves and especially Ted Hughes to be on the dismal side - it could just be a personal thing, but I cannot think of a Ted Hughes poem on any subject as being anything other than the same poem.

I am still giving this five though, as I am sure others would like the ones that I don't go for personally. Also there is a gem from Robert Finch that shows that even back when this book was first produced in 1983, the dead hand of Cultural Marxism was casting its obnoxious spell on the Festive Season. Keeping the Christmas Traditions going may well be a key to getting through this dark age to the other side - after all, it is all about the Birth, and I have an intuition that Christmas is an essential element in the resurrection of Goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful gift, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
exceptional book, lovely gift for those who want to spend a few pounds on something meaningful.....a must for avid readers, any child with a literary leaning, or for those needing to be read to....lovely illustrations, layout, content.....just lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet xmas poems, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
I bought the accompanying book 'oxford book of christmas stories' and loved it, on the strength of that book i bought this one and i think it is actually better, considering they're poems. Some classics are provided and also some sweet little gems that introduce you to some other very good writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful gift, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This was a great hit with the recipients who were both adults. It is well illustrated and the collection of Christmas poems has well known and more unusual poems. I would definitely buy it again for Christmas gifts as the price is also very acceptable.
I would suggest it is a book to pass down in a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
Too much out of date poetry. Lots of modern poets have written lots of interesting and fun Xmas poems. This anthology needs more. Times have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
good condition and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
I needed a Chirstmas Poem for a Carol Serice I was going to and thought that this book would be a good source.
I was very disappointed as there were very few poems that I knew and none suitable for the occasion. The description
which I read prior to buying is not adequate. It's not even a book of poems which I enjoy reading just for myself.
I feel I wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems
The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems by Christopher Stuart-Clark (Paperback - 10 Sep 2009)
6.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews