Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Selection of Christmas Poetry
This is a wonderful collection of Christmas prose - the genre of poetry is transcended by the inclusion of songs and narratives. The anthology has pieces that are humorous, melancholy, mediative and prayerful. The poets include Ted Hughes, John Betjeman, TS Eliot, Walter de la Mare, Dylan Thomas, Charles Causley, WH Auden and Roger McGough.
Highlights include...
Published on 25 Nov. 2011 by Book Beaver

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Too much out of date poetry. Lots of modern poets have written lots of interesting and fun Xmas poems. This anthology needs more. Times have changed.
Published on 28 Dec. 2012 by Sunslave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Selection of Christmas Poetry, 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This is a wonderful collection of Christmas prose - the genre of poetry is transcended by the inclusion of songs and narratives. The anthology has pieces that are humorous, melancholy, mediative and prayerful. The poets include Ted Hughes, John Betjeman, TS Eliot, Walter de la Mare, Dylan Thomas, Charles Causley, WH Auden and Roger McGough.
Highlights include Christmas Landscape by Laurie Lee, Christmas Shopping by Louis MacNeice, Journey Back to Christmas by Gwen Dunn, My Christmas : Mum's Christmas by Sarah Forsyth, Christmas by John Betjeman and In the Workhouse by George R Sims.
The illustrations are absolutely brilliant and are by a range of artists and embellish and complement this book with colour and black and white illustrations. They have a wide range of hues, and include iridescent views of snowy scenes as well as black images of a snowy night when a warm fireside urgently beckons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good Christmas read, 7 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
A very enjoyable book of the best loved Christmas verse, from comical to amusing and to some serious issues with Christmas and our attitudes to the festive season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Usable poetry, 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
The size, weight and style of this book make it so usable. The pictures add to the atmosphere of the poem's contents. The collection covers old favourites, and introduces some newer material too. It has appeal for most adult age groups. I have really enjoyed this collection as it is both an enhancement of the Christmas story, as well as being provocative and challenging to the way today's society perceives Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Hoping it might be so', 11 Dec. 2011
By 
Guy reid-brown "GRB" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This one has been an Advent staple in the household every year since it was gifted back in 1999. The layout is excellent and the illustrations as produced by a variety of different and very talented artists are superb. The essence is of course the poems, and whilst there are utter delights from such famous names as Rudyard Kipling, John Betjeman, Thomas Hardy, W H Auden (this one really surprised me for whatever reason) and Dylan Thomas, a lot of the most intensely moving pieces are by perhaps more obscure names such as Gwen Dunn (my personal favourite of the anthology) Elizabeth Coatsworth, U. A. Fanthorpe and Raoul Ponchon (as translated by James Kirkup). Conversely, and I appreciate that poetical appreciation can be as subjective as musical, I found some entries by big hitters such as T S Eliot, Robert Graves and especially Ted Hughes to be on the dismal side - it could just be a personal thing, but I cannot think of a Ted Hughes poem on any subject as being anything other than the same poem.

I am still giving this five though, as I am sure others would like the ones that I don't go for personally. Also there is a gem from Robert Finch that shows that even back when this book was first produced in 1983, the dead hand of Cultural Marxism was casting its obnoxious spell on the Festive Season. Keeping the Christmas Traditions going may well be a key to getting through this dark age to the other side - after all, it is all about the Birth, and I have an intuition that Christmas is an essential element in the resurrection of Goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 6 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This is just a beautiful book of poetry - the illustrations and the poems are both amazing and this is definitely a book I will enjoy for many christmases to come!
There is a good mix of secular and nativity based poems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful gift, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
This was a great hit with the recipients who were both adults. It is well illustrated and the collection of Christmas poems has well known and more unusual poems. I would definitely buy it again for Christmas gifts as the price is also very acceptable.
I would suggest it is a book to pass down in a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful volume of poetry, 1 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read several of these during our Chapel's Christmas service and its just a lovely volume of seasonal verse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eclectic mix of poetry on a Christmas theme, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Elizabeth S. Wells (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This excellent Christmas anthology has everything, from old favourites, to pieces that were entirely new to me. Equally, the selection includes pieces hundreds of year old, to the more contemporary. A book to treasure and enjoy, beyond the Christmas season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of modern and trasitional, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
I liked the selection of modern and traditional poems in this compilation. A paperback with some illustrations a useful addition to the bookshelf for anyone who likes Christmas, or has children. My copy is second hand and in excellent condition (as new)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful gift, 21 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems (Paperback)
exceptional book, lovely gift for those who want to spend a few pounds on something meaningful.....a must for avid readers, any child with a literary leaning, or for those needing to be read to....lovely illustrations, layout, content.....just lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems
The Oxford Book of Christmas Poems by Christopher Stuart-Clark (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2009)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews