Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teacher uses these spooky stories
I teach children out of school for medical or emotional reasons. Often they are lacking in confidence and would be too intimidated if asked to read something too long.
These short,short stories are perfect for shy and reluctant readers, especially as they can see the end from the beginning!!
They are well written and thought provoking.
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by Teacher S

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss
I could recommend about 10 of the stories as having substance. The others are just bad (apologies to the author, who has undoubtedly worked at them). Random ending, nonsensical endings and some that really don't even end, they just ...stop.
Bought this to accompany some teaching planning and wondered if I could do better just trawling and downloading.
Buy at...
Published 7 months ago by Tootler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teacher uses these spooky stories, 11 Mar 2010
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
I teach children out of school for medical or emotional reasons. Often they are lacking in confidence and would be too intimidated if asked to read something too long.
These short,short stories are perfect for shy and reluctant readers, especially as they can see the end from the beginning!!
They are well written and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant !, 2 Dec 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
I'm in Year 6. We read this book in Group Reading sessions.

There are a variety of story types, some are funny, some scarey. The scarey ones were the most popular! I really enjoyed it and recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great teaching aid, 12 April 2012
By 
Ms. S. Van-veen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
This book is great for teaching fiction genres to upper ks2, and also looking at the structure of short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 5 minute filler for primary teachers, 14 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
I use this book from time to time with my Year 6's and previously with Year 4's. They love it. I did go through it when I first got it and circled the stories that I thought were better so that I only use those. Good stand by for any teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 30 Jan 2011
By 
S. Bailey (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
My 10-yr old heard about this book at school, ordered it with her pocket money immediately, and pored over it. Loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
I would recommend this product to anyone interested in reading. Great for use in the classroom. It came as described and in good time. Would purchase from this user again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but so sweet, 20 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
A class of 6-8 year olds. A wet and windy, indoor playtime day. A slightly frazzled Headteacher doing "supply". And a book! And what a book! Three selections - the shortest of the short just to prove that you don't need to write a novel to grab your reader. This book epitomises the ZEN of teaching and learning - listen for that one hand clapping! Saved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars age appropriate, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
a great book to use with a yr 6 class. They enjoyed the stories and was a really useful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and intriguing, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me to teach foreign youngsters, and its stories are just the right length to read and discuss. Many are amusing, some are scarey. I wouldn't use this for bedtime stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for 12 yr old nephew, 9 Jan 2014
By 
H. E. Trevorrow "castle in the air" (Stowmarket, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories (Paperback)
This should get my reluctant reader nephew going with his reading. He prefers to be on his computer but stories which are exciting

but not too long should get him reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories
Short!: A Book of Very Short Stories by Kevin Crossley-Holland (Paperback - 26 Mar 1998)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews