Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Really nicely set out, good, bold print and attractive text. More than enough definitions and options for young readers. My niece is 7 but has a reading age of 12 so it's perfect for her. In my opinion she may be an advanced reader but she's seeing the book as a 7 year old and doesn't need reference books to look dull.
Published 12 months ago by Jay1

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for children's homework
I need to return as they are not advanced enough for my six year old son. I just need to get the adult ones.
Published 6 months ago by EMMA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Junior Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Really nicely set out, good, bold print and attractive text. More than enough definitions and options for young readers. My niece is 7 but has a reading age of 12 so it's perfect for her. In my opinion she may be an advanced reader but she's seeing the book as a 7 year old and doesn't need reference books to look dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gift of a book, 19 Dec 2013
By 
gran (sunderland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Junior Thesaurus (Hardcover)
this was bought as a gift, to learn a child how different words mean the same.he even took it to bed to read.did not think it would
have that effect.this was a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for 6yr olds birthday, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect for widening writing skills. Bought for girls 6th birthday and she uses it alot. A definite must have !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, glossy, not to complicated, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The type is nice and large, the pictures sparse, but relevant. My 6 year old uses it like a puzzle - finding words that might be related to other words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oxford junior, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Oxford Junior Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Amazing, brought this for a 7 year old . She loves it, it's now one of her favourite books and she Is forever looking up new words. Perfect for juniors. She also has the dictionary to match
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Mar 2013
By 
V. Phillips - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful for my 10 yearod son, helps him to understand meanings of words and look for similar words .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In those days books like this didn't exist, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Junior Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Bought for my very bright 5 year old grandson, who is already writing his own stories. Thought this would be invaluable for him, to enable him to use a variety of words. I remember when I was at Primary School always being told to try to find a different word to express my meaning. In those days books like this didn't exist. He is very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, very useful, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Junior Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Book was easy for my 6 year old to use. Text good size, easy to read
Good value for money. Delivery was quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for younger writers, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Junior Thesaurus (Hardcover)
I bought this along with the Primary Thesaurus as I have one child in Middle school and one in Infants. The primary thesaurus had similar entries but with much more detail. For example it includes word webs with information like sounds made by birds: caw, cheep, cluck, gobble, honk, peep, screech, trill, tweet etc. For school years 3 and up (age 8) I would suggest that instead. Having said that my younger child found that amount of information too daunting to use so this Junior thesaurus, with smaller entries was more accessible. Either one will help them with their creative writing as teachers are keen to see lots of interesting adjectives and adverbs and my son in particular seems to be stuck on huge and awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my Grandson who immediately took to it., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford Junior Thesaurus (Hardcover)
Havn't used this Thesaurus myself, bought as a gift for a 7 year old boy. He uses it quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford Junior Thesaurus
Oxford Junior Thesaurus by Oxford Dictionaries (Hardcover - 3 May 2012)
6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews