Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars49
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2012
`The Demon Headmaster' was first published in 1982. This story is about a girl who's just arrived from a foster home to live with the Hunter family. A school that seems to be acting strange and awkward as all the children are not having fun but being hypnotized of following the order of the headmaster.

As the story begins with a girl named Dinah Glass who lived in a foster home for almost 10 years, is on her way on arriving to the family name `The Hunter family'. As she is told that she has two foster brothers named Lloyd and Harvey. As she is excited to start at her new school, wondering how the children will react, but realises that the school is not the place that she thought as this is just like an example of a human statue awaiting for instruction.

The first time she visits the headmaster who is tall and thin, dressed in his black gown, with white hair and black glasses, and doesn't seem like a comfortable character to spend any time with. At one point, when she accidentally stares into the eyes of the headmaster it makes her fall asleep in his office during her first interview with him.

Once she finds out from her foster brothers that the headmaster is hypnotizing everyone, Dinah figures out not to become a slave of the headmaster but to spy on him to find out his master plan in order to stop him in his tracks.

In the book `The Demon Headmaster' is a fabulous book that starts off with a girl named Dinah who is an orphan finds herself cast into unfamiliar area when she is placed with a foster family. Used to playing the system and concealing how clever she really is from her peers and elders, Dinah now feels the system is playing her and that somehow it is all connected to the headmaster of her strange new school. Relying on her suspicious new foster brothers, Lloyd and Harvey can Dinah and the rest of the splat club get to the bottom of everyone's odd behaviour at school and frustrate the evil headmaster's plot before it is too late.

Overall, the book `The Demon Headmaster' has enough pace, mystery and adventure to keep any child of ten and above gripped and hungry for more. It would be at home on any year four and five classroom bookshelf. It is an ideal book for guided and independent reading.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
The Demon Headmaster is a great book; there is action, a twist and even a bad guy. What more would you want?! What more could you get? This book has EVRYTHING!!

Harvey is a cheerful and joyful; nice and kind boy. Lloyd is a protective, strong character- he never like`s to be wrong especially when Dinah is right. Dinah is quite shy even though she does not admit it. She is very smart and she doesn't show it until you get to know her character. Not only is it a fantasy story but also a mystery story.

This awesome book is about six extraordinary children (Dinah; Harvey; Lloyd; Ian; Ingrid and Mandy) who save the world before the Headmaster can use his dreadful powers outside of the school. The headmaster is abnormal, he is not like any other headmaster. Not by a long shot. He is a DEMON headmaster- you can tell this from the book`s name.

At the moment I am reading all the other Demon Headmaster books. All of Demon headmaster books are eye catching and you can`t stop reading them. It is like your being hypnotized by himself the demon headmaster to never stop reading these books!! To conclude, this is the best book I have EVER read! (And I have read a lot of books!!!)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2010
The Demon Headmaster is a very interesting book. For Harvey and Lloyd, life changes from normality (at home) to abnormality (at school). The book is about six children who have to save the world before the Headmaster can use his powers outside of the school and its secrets.
I liked this book and I'd like to read the next book too. I liked it because it's mysterious.
I recommend this to children aged 10-13 (I'm twelve years old). This book is a bit spooky, but not really frightening.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
This story is a story that I can relate to my very own head teacher. It is a classic book that really gets you involved. It's one of those books where your not just reading it, you actually feel like your in
it. I gave this book a four star because it didn't really tick all the boxes that I was hoping it would. Other than that it is an amazing book that really is just purely amazing. I recommend this to 9-13 year-olds.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
This book was one of the best books I have ever read (and believe me, I have read a lot of books.)
I love all the characters but if I had to pick a favourite I would choose Harvey and the story it's self is mind blowing. As I am sure you could tell, I would certainly recommend this amazing book to others. I have heard that there is a whole series of books and I certainly will be getting those too. If you do decide to get this exhilarating book then I am positive that you will have as much fun reading it as I did! I hope my review is helpful.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
I read this book many years ago and remembered it fondly. The Headmaster at my school was the Demon Headmaster personified to me! Tall, elusive, always wore a black cape and I thought he was the scariest man in the world!

As a parent, I was looking for a challenging read for my seven year old daughter. I was also looking for a story with a strong female lead character and Dinah Glass fits the bill perfectly. She's smart, independent and just slightly rebellious. If you're looking for a good story I thoroughly recommend the Demon Headmaster. It's the first one in the series, a decent length at 158 pages and each chapter is around 10 pages long; so you can sit down to a decent reading session. We enjoyed it so much we've gone straight on to the second installment in the series; The Demon Headmaster and the Prime Ministers Brain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Got this for my youngest she loves it, it's well written, and is a good story funny aswell, now she wants more of these books bless xxx
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
I think this book is very good. I chose this rating because it was interesting and funny. Also mysterious. I would recommend it to 8-13. Read the book it's so good I couldn't put it down,and I have read the other book which I think is called: the demon headmaster strikes again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Dinah has just been fostered by the Hunter family, and all she wants is to keep her head down and get along. The Hunter boys - Lloyd, who is Dinah's age, and Harvey, a few years younger - don't seem very welcoming, although their parents are nice. But Dinah's biggest shock comes at school. The children act like robots and the prefects are hopped up on their own power and think nothing of doling out cruel and unusual punishments for the slightest infraction. But the headmaster - he's the really disturbing thing...

I read this in Year 7 or Year 8, along with my class, and I just barely remembered it, so it was interesting to read it again.

I can't exactly say I liked the book. I can't say I disliked it either. For pure enjoyment, it was not to my taste: I found it quite cold and joyless. Yet Ms Cross has definitely captured the sense of alienation that so many pre-teens and early teenagers feel, that sense that they are alone and persecuted and that adults who should be helpful are blind and deaf at best and evil at worst. Dinah, who is truly alone in the world, and the Hunter brothers, who are outcasts at school and whose otherwise loving parents refuse to believe the atrocities that are being committed by the headmaster, are characters whose problems will have touched a nerve in a lot of kids, from the time the book was written right through today.

So not to my personal taste, and probably not interesting enough for me to look up the sequels, but a good read nonetheless. 3 - 3.5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
My children have all really enjoyed the Demon Headmaster books and audio tapes over the years (they also adored the video of the BBC series with Terrence Hardiman as a fantastic Headmaster which has never been released on dvd - shame). I had charity shopped my copies as my children had outgrown them and we were moving but then had another child who is now 7 and 1/2. I was searching for some good bedtime reading (he is not keen at all on fiction) and had exhausted the only fiction books he seemed to like (Roald dahl ,Flat Stanley, Bills new frock). Much as I like the Twits I didn't want to read it again for the umpteenth time and had no success with the top books of today (Horrid henry etc)and remembered how my older kids had liked this.

The story is about a super intelligent orphan girl called Dinah who comes to the Hunter household to be fostered. There are two sons in the house - Lloyd who is quite aggressive and ascerbic and is 10/11 and plump sweet Harvey 7/8. They go to a very strange school where all the children behave like robots and are ruled by the sinister prefects led by Rose who are "the voice of the headmaster and must be obeyed". harvey and Lloyd along with three friends are outcasts at the school and not allowed to participate in the afternoon assemblies taken by the headmaster. The Head wears a traditional BA cloak and huge dark shades - but strange things happen when he takes off his glasses and looks deep into your eyes. What is his sinister plan and why do his mind control techniques not work on the outcasts?
We are currently half way through and my son is really enjoying it - trying to coax me into reading another chapter etc. It has dated a little - Lloyd's silly swearing of "blazing blue bananas" etc sounds archaic but my son finds it quirky. He has questioned why the mother in the story doesn't believe her sons about the school and why they wouldn't be introduced in advance to a girl who was coming to live with them etc so there are some slight plot flaws but it is still a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse