Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life can be hard!
I must first say that I have always rated Rosemary Sutcliff *extremely* highly as an author; I loved her books when I was younger, and they are still worth re-reading now. She has a high standard of historical accuracy, not only in the material facts of Roman culture, but in the attitudes of her charaters - they are people of *their* time, not ours. Yet they never seem...
Published on 25 May 2007 by Alexa

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tough read
Beric is a child of Roman parents who is shipwrecked on the British coast and adopted by native parents. When the tribe drives him out, he is sold into slavery in Rome with little hope of ever returning to Britain again. Outcast is a children's book but grim and uncompromising in its depiction of the inhumane treatment of slaves during Roman times. The chapters where...
Published 22 months ago by Pryce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life can be hard!, 25 May 2007
By 
Alexa (Midlothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must first say that I have always rated Rosemary Sutcliff *extremely* highly as an author; I loved her books when I was younger, and they are still worth re-reading now. She has a high standard of historical accuracy, not only in the material facts of Roman culture, but in the attitudes of her charaters - they are people of *their* time, not ours. Yet they never seem remote, they are alive, and real, and one cares about their fate.

Beric stands in the usual tradition of Sutcliff's protagonists, who are always crippled either physically or emotionally. Perhaps that is the strength of her novels, which take the theme of the outsider finding a place for himself in a harsh world. Sutcliff's own situation, progressively finding herself increasingly crippled by Still's disease, and isolated in an era where disability was considered something shameful, may inform her creation of her heroes (for details of this author's life, read Blue Remembered Hills: A Recollection). Certainly, she, and we, have immense sympathy for her 'outsiders'.

However, this is one of Sutcliff's grimmest tales. The sheer unremitting onslaught of adversity that she throws at Beric can seem overwhelming, and for this reason I would not recommend this story to younger children. And does it have a happy ending? Only by the standard of what has gone before - Beric finds a solution to his feelings of rootlessness, but he was still probably at his happiest in chapter 1! (Sutcliff does not deal in trite endings - no fortuitous denouements here! - her character's problems are real, not the result of misunderstandings or imaginings.)

So why only 4 stars? Probably I am being harsh, and comparing Sutcliff to her own high standard. But the tone here is uniformly bleak, and unfortunately her realism in human reactions here is not matched by her usual standards of historical accuracy: she perpetuates the myth that Roman galleys were rowed by convicts or slaves (whilst incidentally providing a very good portrayal of life (and death) aboard a 16th century Mediterranean galley - these were powered by convicts and slaves!)

So, a very good read, and not to be missed - but for Sutcliff at the peak of her powers, try The Lantern Bearers (Eagle of the Ninth) or The Mark of the Horse Lord.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosemary Sutcliff has changed history for me!, 10 April 2006
By 
Angela (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had (somewhat naively, I admit) dismissed history as boring after my teachers contrived to bury all the great stories under mounds of pointless busywork and aimless projects. Rosemary Sutcliff's novels have changed all that, and left me with lots of enthusiasm for new learning. Sutcliff worked hard to make her novels as historically accurate as possible, and she brings the ancient world to life for me. 'Outcast' is one of the saddest and harshest of her novels set in Roman England - it includes some very brutal scenes, eg of galley slaves being beaten and dying at the oar, and being thrown overboard. Darker than the Eagle of the Ninth series, I think. I wouldn't be happy for my children to read it until they were around 11 or over, but this book makes a great read for adults too; I'd rate it up there with I, Claudius (less scholarly and less dry) and way, way above Lindsay Davis's stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be number 1...?, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Outcast (Paperback)
I rate Rosemary Sutcliff's novels very highly, and sometimes I think Outcast is the best of the lot. Structurally, it's very tight, and I'm not sure if she ever surpassed the series of vivid glimpses into, first, a Celtic tribe, then a wealthy Roman family in Rome itself, then the rowing deck of the Alcestis of the Rhenus fleet, and finally an engineer's life on the outposts of empire. It's striking how the utter brutality and despair among the galley-slaves are conveyed, and given a tragic edge, all without recourse to anything that could make the book unsuitable for young readers. I used it with a 14-year-old remedial reader and he found it thrilling and totally absorbing, except that for him it lost momentum and interest from the point where Beric has recovered his health and strength in the house of Justinius (with a surprising amount of the book still to go).
I believe the psychological truth of the last section is actually one of Outcast's greatest strengths, but perhaps all that shows is that while its restraint makes it particularly suitable for children able to engage with it, it isn't a "children's book" in the sense of being in any way limited. Like all Rosemary Sutcliffe's best stories, it has most to give to a maturer understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 23 Mar 2002
This is a super book, I've loved it for years. I enjoyed it immensely as a kid and it still moves me deeply today. Sutcliffe has a good "feel" for the era, not that I know much about it, but it appears to be authentic, and she treats it with a sympathetic hand. Give this to your children! Then enjoy it yourself as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing tale of Ancient Britons and Romans., 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outcast (Kindle Edition)
This is really a book for young adults but I was totally engrossed in it. It is so realistic and descriptive, a real gem of a book and so well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tough read, 22 Aug 2012
This review is from: Outcast (Paperback)
Beric is a child of Roman parents who is shipwrecked on the British coast and adopted by native parents. When the tribe drives him out, he is sold into slavery in Rome with little hope of ever returning to Britain again. Outcast is a children's book but grim and uncompromising in its depiction of the inhumane treatment of slaves during Roman times. The chapters where Beric serves aboard a Roman galley are particularly harrowing. I did not find this book to be particularly enjoyable - Beric's continuing suffering becomes exhausting. But if like me you are a big fan of Ms Sutcliff's work, it is still worth reading for the way she captures the era so vividly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outcast (Paperback)
She is so worht reading. Such simple prose. Such a heart. Should be required reading! Perhaps I go to far, but she has a way of making her characters admirable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beric comes home...., 3 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Outcast (Paperback)
(Contains some spoilers btw!) You know, with Rosemary Sutcliff, that you won't be in line for anything facile or trite. Even so, many people seem to think this is one of her heaviest, bleakest books. I have come to the end of it after two days of reading whenever I got the opportunity, and can concur that it does have very harsh moments indeed! But she writes so wonderfully: the descriptions of sea and storms makes them spring from the page, well observed, fresh and raw. The characters are deeply drawn, and ring psychologically true, even the secondary characters have quirks and dashes of detail. What works reading these books as an adult is that Mrs Sutcliff doesn't simply prescribe answers: her characters have to fight, often appalling odds, to find their way in a world that doesn't actually function according to any hard and fast rules and this story is no different. Beric's adventures, at times, make very uncomfortable reading indeed, but I disagree with another reviewer who said he was perhaps happiest in the first chapter and it's all down-hill from there. At the end, he is still young-ish, he has gained an adopted father, the affections of a dog and puppy, and considers setting out on a career in the legions. Home, he concludes in an aside, can be made and can be returned to. Further, he sends a message back to his old foster mother, restrained and dignified, saying he is well so that she no longer worries about him, meaning that though he has taken an absolute battering he is holding and can imagine better days to come. Emotionally this is incredibly alive and I found it very moving. How does Beric get to this point- well, read the book and find out. Suffice to say a good many things happen! In many ways, though this is not an unoriginal story, its outstanding qualities are the beautiful prose and the emotional power of the narrative. Once I started I found myself drawn in, and found even the 'worst' bits not only bearable but oddly, and profoundly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outcast (Kindle Edition)
Maybe not one of Rosemary Sutcliffe's very best books but very enjoyable and I will happily read anything by her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a read, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outcast (Kindle Edition)
Always enjoy her books and did this one.A good story line but a little disjointed in places for me.
Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outcast
Outcast by Rosemary Sutcliff (Paperback - 3 July 2008)
5.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews