Customer Reviews
Ivy


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Magnificent
Ivy is a delight to read. It has everything I look for in a good historical book - an interesting, diverse range of characters, an absorbing plot, huge amounts of historical detail, lots of interesting settings, realistic dialogue and it's also really well written!

Julie Hearn's writing style in concise (she says what she wants to say, and then moves onto...
Published on 3 Aug 2008 by Ms. Emily R. Nabney

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
Found this book in the library and was interested by the blurb. When I started reading, the writing didn't really grip me, but I persevered, figuring it must surely get better. Unfortunately, it didn't, and what was even worse was that the book doesn't really have an end! I wanted to know what became of Ivy, but the book just sort of ends, so you don't really find out...
Published on 2 Aug 2008 by Sarah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Magnificent, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Ms. Emily R. Nabney (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
Ivy is a delight to read. It has everything I look for in a good historical book - an interesting, diverse range of characters, an absorbing plot, huge amounts of historical detail, lots of interesting settings, realistic dialogue and it's also really well written!

Julie Hearn's writing style in concise (she says what she wants to say, and then moves onto something else) but the book never comes across as too brief, disjointed or lacking in detail. She manages to portray a huge variety of different ideas, cultures, personalities etc in a realtively short space.

The plot is also believable, and the novel has a real driving force behind it. I found it difficult to put down without reading 'just one more chapter'. Having said that, there is a short space in the middle of the book where the action flags a little, and all any one is really doing is sending lots of letters. But it soon picks up again, and carries from strength to strength until the end.

Also, the main character, Ivy, is a very different sort of heroine. She doesn't have any particular talent, she's not sassy and doesn't have particularly strong views on the world in general that she has to tell every one about. But she is likeable, insecure and kind, and I became very attacthced to her. And at the end, when she decides to take her destiny in her own hands, I wanted to cheer and jump up and down and throw a party. Yeah, I do get a bit over excited sometimes.

So if you like vivid historical books with drama, comedy and just about everything else, I would certainly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An artistic masterpiece, 12 Feb 2007
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
This book first interested me in a catalogue, and although it wasn't quite what I was expecting, it was still very good.

It is about a girl called Ivy (!) who is spotted by a pre-Raphaelite painter in South London. He is taken by her and she becomes his model.

But there is more to the story than this. For it begins a few years back, when Ivy is about five and living with her aunt and uncle, and her numerous cousins. When the family attracts the attention of a pair of naive do-gooders - 'charity mongers' - she is sent to school with one of her cousins - and gets off to a very bad start.

When eventually driven to leave (when practically coerced to eat bacon, for Ivy is a vegetarian - a word almost unheard-of in this instance), she runs away and attracts the attention of Carroty Kate - a 'skinner', a thief who rids rich children of their expensive clothes and finery. Ivy is taken in, and becomes Kate's 'assistant' . . .

Some years later, Ivy, as a painter's model, is suddenly in danger. She has a laudanum habit, is still fighting the pressure put on her to eat meat, and her cousins want money. Her cousin Jared is the typical bully - forcing her to pose for the artist for money with no regards whatsoever for Ivy herself, who is determined to escape.

In addition to this, the artist's jealous mother wants rid of her, and will go to any lengths whatsoever to have her son's model out of the picture (excuse the pun)

But, just as the plot culminates, Carroty Kate turns up again - although not quite as Ivy remembered her . . .

I loved this book. It has a mysterious plot that unravels itself as it goes along, dredging up secrets from the past that could not possibly have been anticipated. In addition to that, the painter Rosetti and his model Jane Morris make an appearence.

The language is humourous, and I would strongly recommend this book to any art fans, particularly pre-Raphaelite fans, and also anyone who is interested in what life was like in that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 12 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
I just finished this one last night, and I was really impressed, Ivy was a funny, dramatic historical novel with an excellent heroine and many other mysterious, sometimes even dangerous supporting characters.

Ivy is in danger, but she doesn't know it yet.

Ivy has been spotted in a rough part of London by Oscar Aretino Frosdick, a rich pre-Raphaelite painter, but Ivy is a girl with a past. No amount of laudanum can block her memories of helping lure wealthy children down alley so that carroty Kate, a "skinner", could strip them of their clothes and jewels.

Realising quickly that Oscar has more money than sense, Ivy's greedy cousins order her to sit for him and to do anything her asks. But there nice little earner has more sinister consequences. Oscar's jealous mother is determined to rid her son of his beautiful model and Oscars famous neighbour wants Ivy for himself....

It was one of the best books I read so far from my pile from my birthday, really good, I cant wait to read Hazel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so well written, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivy (Kindle Edition)
As this was in the 'teen' section, I was expecting to read a basic novel historic type novel about the PRB, but its really well structured, and i was really enjoying it, until it ended, by that i mean... it just ended, i think your supposed to assume there is some sort of metaphor in ivy's exit in the last chapter as indication to what happens next, but i felt a little bit cheated having invested some emotion into the story. As for the Epilogue, i have one word: cringe! But having said all that, it one of the most pleasing novels i've read in a while, recommend to any one who likes pRB art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read., 2 Feb 2009
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book way more than I expected too after I found it in my local library, I have only read a few historical novels but after this, The Luxe series and Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle trilogy I will certainly read more.
The story starts with Ivy as a young girl of around 5, she is living with her cousins after being orphaned and she gets spotted when out one day by a woman named Carroty Kate who lures Ivy and uses her to attract other young children who she then robs of there belongings.
We then go to Ivys teenage years where she has again been spotted by an artist named Oscar who wants to use her as his model for painting, it is Ivys red hair that always makes her stand out. Oscars mother is very jealous of Ivy as she was his previous muse and so she sets out to get rid of her, this is where the book becomes funny, the attempts she makes are hilairious.
There are so many twists and turns in this story and lots of other wonderful characters, I will have to check out more of Julie Hearns work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 11 Dec 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
Ivy's life isn't exactly picturesque. At a very young age, she is orphaned and forced to live with her aunt, uncle, and cousins, who really can't afford to support another child. Once old enough, she is sent to school, but doesn't even last the whole day. While running from school her beautiful red hair makes Carroty Kate, a thief who literally steals the clothes off of people's backs, catch sight of her and snatch her up.

Forced into becoming a con artist, Ivy is brought into a clan of thieves where every night she is given laudanum in order to suppress the terrible nightmares she faces. Years later she escapes, fleeing back to her aunt and uncle's house. Everyday she works in order to provide for her still-struggling family, while also fighting her addiction to laudanum.

Then one day a young painter, who instantly decides that he must have her as a muse, glimpses her. Ivy and family reluctantly agree, as the money is good, and it could have its benefits. Ivy soon realizes, though, that modeling isn't what she imagined as she deals with a jealous mother, a familiar band of thieves, a persistent addiction, and a way too controlling cousin.

IVY is a great historical novel. There is so much to learn from this brilliantly written story that it was hard to see it end. Not only are there historical facts, but also some life lessons that still apply in modern times.

Ivy was by far one of the more interesting characters that I've ever read about. She has many quirks and led a terrible life. It was great to see a fully-developed character whose personality, however weird it may be, shone throughout the story. I really liked how Ivy was so mature for most of the story, but still had a childlike aspect to her when the reader found out how much of a passion she had for animals. She was so excited by the fact of getting to work with dogs that at one point in the story it almost seemed like she had transformed herself into a girl who hadn't had any hardships.

I also really liked how Ivy learned that modeling wasn't the best thing. Even though the story is set in Victorian England, Ivy still faces the problem of dealing with jealousy and not being good enough, which is something I'm sure many people in this day and age can relate to, as well. She also shows people how much trouble an addiction can cause, and also how hard it is to break it.

Overall, Julie Hearn did a great job recreating a very real Victorian England. Fans of historical fiction will absolutely devour this book. I am very much looking forward to reading more of Ms. Hearn's work and will definitely recommend this book to many.

Reviewed by: Tasha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Curious yet fascinating tale, 19 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
I read this book because of its historical setting and connection with art, having read and enjoyed Girl with a pearl earring.

Ivy is a strange heroine, half the time I wanted to give her a good shake.

The book touches on a few quite risque topics, its well written and keeps you interested.

However I found the ending very inconclusive and disappointing and had to read the final chapter twice to make sure I hadn't missed something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 2 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
Found this book in the library and was interested by the blurb. When I started reading, the writing didn't really grip me, but I persevered, figuring it must surely get better. Unfortunately, it didn't, and what was even worse was that the book doesn't really have an end! I wanted to know what became of Ivy, but the book just sort of ends, so you don't really find out. Overall I was disappointed, and quite honestly wish I hadn't bothered, which is rare for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, 14 Jan 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Payne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ivy (Paperback)
I, like many other reviews here, picked up this book at my local library because I am interested in historical stories.
The story follows Ivy as she is orphaned and forced to live with family that can't afford to support another child. Ivy is forced into becoming a con artist and lives with a gang of thieves where she is given laudanum in order to reduce the nightmares she has ever night. Years later she manages to escapes and she goes back to live with her family.
She is spotted by a young painter one day, who decides that he wants Ivy as his muse. Ivy and her family reluctantly agree to this as the money the painter offers is very persuasive. Ivy soon realizes that modelling isn't what she imagined...
My main criticism of this story is that it doesn't have an ending. You never get to know what happens. Overall, I was left disappointed and felt that this book could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivy (Kindle Edition)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ivy
Ivy by Julie Hearn (Paperback - 4 May 2006)
5.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews