Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern take on pacey Enid Blyton mysteries
Everything I ever loved in an Enid Blyton mystery is in this book - a dog, children home alone, adventure, clues. But author Ali Sparkes goes one better by throwing in time travel and the result is a first class adventure with genuinely laugh out loud moments when children from the 1950s come face to face with life in the 21st century - how will they survive Burger King,...
Published on 29 April 2011 by Candy Gourlay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but old-fashioned
This is not in the same league as much of the best of current children's fiction but is an enjoyable old-fashioned read. Plot twists are somewhat implausible and the tone a little too Enid Blyton, but characters are engaging and the storyline well-paced. It may work for 9/10 year olds but older children may spot the flaws and become frustrated with the lack of...
Published 20 months ago by Alchemist


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern take on pacey Enid Blyton mysteries, 29 April 2011
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
Everything I ever loved in an Enid Blyton mystery is in this book - a dog, children home alone, adventure, clues. But author Ali Sparkes goes one better by throwing in time travel and the result is a first class adventure with genuinely laugh out loud moments when children from the 1950s come face to face with life in the 21st century - how will they survive Burger King, a disposable society and a nanny culture? Parents, this is the update on Enid Blyton you've been waiting for! Kids, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good book old chap!!!, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
My 11 year old daughter read this just after reading the Hunger Games trilogy. Although completely different to Hunger Games, she did find this book to be just as entertaining. The premise of current days kids digging up a "frozen in time" pair from the 1950's had her engrossed for hours - especially the 50's Enid Blyton style dialogue (hence the review title she contributed!)

Perfect for 10 to 13 year olds who are reading, or have read, the likes of Skullduggery etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
My 10 year old daughter read this book in two days - she was totally gripped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 7 April 2010
By 
C. A. Carey (west sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
I was totally gripped by this book. Being a year 5 teacher I like to spend my holidays reading a few new children's books. I read this from cover to cover in one day and simply coudn't put it down. The pace and humour are perfectly engineered by the author and it should appeal to any child between the ages of 9-13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 4 April 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
I am 9 and my Mum bought me this book after we saw it winning the Book of the Year award from Blue Peter. I am reading it now and I love it, I just can't put it down. I think that it really deserved the Book of the Year prize.

Daniela Carey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ali really Sparkes, 19 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
This really is a fun book with so many twists and turns. I rode on nostalgia and delighted in the PC horror of Ben and Rachel's reactions to Polly and Freddy's language and behaviour.

It was a very exciting story and even as a 55 year old under-graduate I could not put the book down until I knew everyone was safe.

Wonderful comedy, tight plot and readable for boys and girls who enjoy a ripping,good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Adventure, 4 April 2009
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
This book is excellent. Fast paced, fun, a good storyline. It will entrance its intended readers and engage old readers too with the careful depiction of a 1950s lifestyle. Highly recommended.

I feel for the author, who must be kicking herself over one minor detail. She sets the book in summer of 2009 - just a matter of months after the publication date, but the perils of prediction bite her, with the line by one of the 1950s children "Woolworths, it's still here".

But thats not a criticism of this first class novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, fab book!, 22 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
Loved this book, a great adventure with some great comic touches, it's really interesting to remember much life has changed, especially for girls, since the 1950's. Jolly good read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 4 Oct. 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Hardcover)
Ben and Rachel Carter's summer with their scientist uncle goes from dull to amazing when they discover an underground vault. Hidden in a secret room within the vault are two children, Freddy and Polly Emerson, who have been Frozen in Time.

The four children try to find out what happened to Dr. Emerson (Freddy and Polly's father), but Freddy and Polly may not live to find answers. There are people who want the past to stay buried, and the further the children delve into the past, the more their futures are in danger.

This is a fun book full of adventure and excitement. I enjoyed the blend of past and present throughout the novel. Sparkes does a great job of creating engaging characters and a believable storyline. The plot had plenty of twists and turns to keep me flipping the pages.

Reviewed by: Joan Stradling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Warp, 30 Dec. 2008
By 
Mrs. Bethany Garside (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frozen in Time (Paperback)
It was like a time warp, one minute it was 27th Dec 2008 and I was sitting down to read the latest Ali Sparkes confection, the next minute it was 28th December 2008 and I had an urgent need for a ginger beer, having been completely consumed by the book from cover to cover.

I would thoroughly recommend this for all ages 8-80 (or even older if they can get it in big print!). Be warned though, get the Tizer in first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frozen in Time
Frozen in Time by Ali Sparkes (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews