Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars166
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 January 2011
One of the thrills of having a Kindle is the ability to download old childhood favourites for free. This is one I hadn't read and to be honest one which I probably wouldn't have bothered with if it hadn't been free. But it was and I enjoyed it. It is unfortunately very similar to the prequel, Pollyanna. As in Pollyanna there is a crotchety middle aged woman for Pollyanna to win over and similarly there is an orphan boy, Jamie this time rather than Jimmy, to be found a home. One gets the feeling that the author didn't have a great pool of plots from which to fish. That said, this is entertaining and worth reading if you're a fan of the original or of the Anne of Green Gables series. And it costs nothing!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2006
While this book was written quite a long time ago it is still a really good read. Pollyanna will make you smile at the simple sometimes childish way she has of being a perpetual optimist. I still love this book and after reading it I was genuinely surprised to find myself looking at things and finding something there to be 'glad' about.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
This was one of my favourite books as a child and I was amazed on picking it up again recently to notice that it will be 100 years old in 2012. It prompted me to re-read it to see whether it still had its old magic. It did. In spades.

Undoubtedly, there are elements of the book that belong firmly in history (for better or worse). But Pollyanna at 99 still bounds from the page from the outset, her sunny optimism irresistible and the love and hope that she inspires in others quite inspiring. The themes of love and reconciliation and care for neighbours are portrayed in a Christian morality context but the book is not "preachy". It is, undoubtedly very moving in places, but this is balanced with splashes of humour as bright as the prisms that Pollyanna hangs from her window frame. This book should be prescribed reading for anyone who can't remember when they last felt glad.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
Do you want to have a tremendous time reading a great novel,
whilst witnessing the happiness-generating power of the "Glad Game" ?

and if you wonder what the glad game is, read on...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
A great story for all the family to enjoy. Grown-ups may not be able to put it down.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 December 2011
Having the chance to read old classics again for free is an added bonus of the Kindle. Although Pollyanna as a grown woman is still the same old Pollyanna just taller it is still fun to read the story that used to enchant me as a child. The plot is very similar to the first book, but don't let that stop you from reading this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
I assumed before reading this book recently that Pollyanna is a 'hopeless' optimist. Not at all. Her optimism springs from her Christian hope, and it changes many people's lives in the book. If you're a Christian and looking for a good book for your pre-teen/teen girl, this would be great.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've always thought of a "Pollyanna" as a sort of dopey, simple, eternally optimistic, blind, illogical doofus, with no firm grip on reality. I think that's more or less the generally accepted meaning of the description now.

Well guess what? The original Pollyanna in this book is a tough, spunky, focused and extremely alert little girl with a strong will and good clear instincts. Her "glad game", which she plays to turn bad news and punishments into good news, is a powerful mechanism for coping with the dismal outlines of her constrained and depressing life situation.

Her spirit and her will to prevail carry her and those she meets to happy and deserved endings.

Like Anne of Green Gables and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, Pollyanna is an unjustly neglected and fascinating character, as real and compelling now as in 1913. This is a real find and should not be dismissed out of hand, which is a mistake I would have made had I not resolved to read and fairly weigh everything, even books I assumed were lame. Give this surprising find a try.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 February 2015
I've always thought of a "Pollyanna" as a sort of dopey, simple, eternally optimistic, blind, illogical doofus, with no firm grip on reality. I think that's more or less the generally accepted meaning of the description now.

Well guess what? The original Pollyanna in this book is a tough, spunky, focused and extremely alert little girl with a strong will and good clear instincts. Her "glad game", which she plays to turn bad news and punishments into good news, is a powerful mechanism for coping with the dismal outlines of her constrained and depressing life situation.

Her spirit and her will to prevail carry her and those she meets to happy and deserved endings.

Like Anne of Green Gables and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, Pollyanna is an unjustly neglected and fascinating character, as real and compelling now as in 1913. This is a real find and should not be dismissed out of hand, which is a mistake I would have made had I not resolved to read and fairly weigh everything, even books I assumed were lame. Give this surprising find a try.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
This is a charming book for children as well as adults. It's also a gentle reminder that children can teach us adults about important things in life as we tend to get tangled in everyday problems. A great read that will leave you looking on the bright side of life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.