Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book
While this book was written quite a long time ago it is still a really good read. Pollyanna will make you smile at the simple sometimes childish way she has of being a perpetual optimist. I still love this book and after reading it I was genuinely surprised to find myself looking at things and finding something there to be 'glad' about.
Published on 25 July 2006 by Alexa

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars childhood revisited
One of the thrills of having a Kindle is the ability to download old childhood favourites for free. This is one I hadn't read and to be honest one which I probably wouldn't have bothered with if it hadn't been free. But it was and I enjoyed it. It is unfortunately very similar to the prequel, Pollyanna. As in Pollyanna there is a crotchety middle aged woman for Pollyanna...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by Moonlit


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars childhood revisited, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Moonlit (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the thrills of having a Kindle is the ability to download old childhood favourites for free. This is one I hadn't read and to be honest one which I probably wouldn't have bothered with if it hadn't been free. But it was and I enjoyed it. It is unfortunately very similar to the prequel, Pollyanna. As in Pollyanna there is a crotchety middle aged woman for Pollyanna to win over and similarly there is an orphan boy, Jamie this time rather than Jimmy, to be found a home. One gets the feeling that the author didn't have a great pool of plots from which to fish. That said, this is entertaining and worth reading if you're a fan of the original or of the Anne of Green Gables series. And it costs nothing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 25 July 2006
By 
Alexa (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
While this book was written quite a long time ago it is still a really good read. Pollyanna will make you smile at the simple sometimes childish way she has of being a perpetual optimist. I still love this book and after reading it I was genuinely surprised to find myself looking at things and finding something there to be 'glad' about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad to be 99, 1 Aug 2011
This was one of my favourite books as a child and I was amazed on picking it up again recently to notice that it will be 100 years old in 2012. It prompted me to re-read it to see whether it still had its old magic. It did. In spades.

Undoubtedly, there are elements of the book that belong firmly in history (for better or worse). But Pollyanna at 99 still bounds from the page from the outset, her sunny optimism irresistible and the love and hope that she inspires in others quite inspiring. The themes of love and reconciliation and care for neighbours are portrayed in a Christian morality context but the book is not "preachy". It is, undoubtedly very moving in places, but this is balanced with splashes of humour as bright as the prisms that Pollyanna hangs from her window frame. This book should be prescribed reading for anyone who can't remember when they last felt glad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Children's story for Grown-Ups, 13 Nov 2009
A great story for all the family to enjoy. Grown-ups may not be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness in a box, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Marco Adragna "EvenHappier" (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Do you want to have a tremendous time reading a great novel,
whilst witnessing the happiness-generating power of the "Glad Game" ?

and if you wonder what the glad game is, read on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the same old Pollyanna, 5 Dec 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having the chance to read old classics again for free is an added bonus of the Kindle. Although Pollyanna as a grown woman is still the same old Pollyanna just taller it is still fun to read the story that used to enchant me as a child. The plot is very similar to the first book, but don't let that stop you from reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Christian classic, 28 Aug 2007
By 
I assumed before reading this book recently that Pollyanna is a 'hopeless' optimist. Not at all. Her optimism springs from her Christian hope, and it changes many people's lives in the book. If you're a Christian and looking for a good book for your pre-teen/teen girl, this would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 21 July 2010
By 
Mihaela Cocea (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a charming book for children as well as adults. It's also a gentle reminder that children can teach us adults about important things in life as we tend to get tangled in everyday problems. A great read that will leave you looking on the bright side of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pollyanna, 3 April 2010
By 
M. Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my niece who is nine and an avid reader, she loved it. It's nice to know that some basic values still appeal to young readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pollyanna's message is still relevant today, 16 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Whilst this story is from many years ago - the message is still important today. We should all be grateful or "glad" for what we have. Pleasant read with kind message relevant now. Easy read for adults and children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pollyanna (Oxford Children's Classics)
Pollyanna (Oxford Children's Classics) by Eleanor Porter (Hardcover - 4 Aug 2011)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews