Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to support home learning
I bought this for my eight year old daughter after she asked for a dictionary to help her understanding of the English languauge. Unlike dictionaries listed as 'Children's Dictionaries' this one seems a lot more comprehensive.

The layout, print size and font are all excellent to support your child as they search for the right word. The subject word itself is...
Published on 26 Sept. 2011 by L. Sears

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as a first dictionary.
This was ok for a couple of years. But after a while our daughter found that it didn't have a lot of the definitions we needed, so we got her the pocket grown up version instead.
Published 7 months ago by Mr Pen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous for my 6 year old and me, 6 April 2014
By 
A. Chan "OALSTBOSC12" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
Very good selection of words, old and modern. Printed alphabet along the edge of each page is nice touch for children until they get used to word search method. Definitions are short and easy to understand and are much clearer than those given by my old Webster's dictionary. Clear examples of usage given. Font size, page layout and design are all very good. It means the entries can be read by some parents and grandparents without reading glasses! Wished I had something like this when I young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for for 9 year old, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
its one of those essential items you need for your kids when they are at school - great help simple to use and understand great price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars School dictionary, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
The book arrived within the time stated.

I bought this for my grandson as he asked me to get him a dictionary. He is 8 years old and he loves it!

The words are set out clearly and the explanations are suitable for 8yr olds and for primary level children. It is A5 size and quite chunky. So, it will be left at home rather than taken to school in his bag.

I am very please with my purchase and the right one wasn't too difficult to find on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love it!!!, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
Well worth buying if you want your child to excel in English as that's the tongue of the future and its well worth it every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briiliant, 23 July 2012
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
Just as expected a classic reference book. My daughter is using it for her homework and scrabble. Quick post and well package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 14 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
My 9 year old son thinks this is far better than the dictionaries they use at school. It is easy to use and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Primary school age child, 12 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
This book is clear and simple. It has easy to read words and the descriptions are not too detailed. This makes it suitable for a primary school age child, but not someone studying for exams or who wants to know meanings of all the words in the English Language.

My child has learning difficulties and I thought this dictionary would be ideal. However, he has asked for a better one because he wants to find out what words he hears mean, but they sometimes aren't in the book; especially if they are words that are not often used, or might be taboo. 'Knackered' wasn't there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Grandaughter, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Derrick Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
All smiles from our granddaughter who loves it and has passed on the site and product to all her friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
Bought it on an offer - so good value - does what it is supposed to and easy to use,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for my two sons aged 8 and 9, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxford School Dictionary (Hardcover)
Each week my son's get spellings from school which they have to put into sentences, the dictionary I had was too advanced for them so I purchased this so they could look up words, find out the meanings and been more independent with their homework. It is easy to use and will see them through their primary years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxford School Dictionary
Oxford School Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries (Hardcover - 5 May 2011)
£8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews