Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!
Shark island is an action packed and fast moving adventure set in a paradise of white beaches and blue lagoons. Ned and Hanna (on the holiday of a life time) wake up in their hut in the middle of the night to find that their parents are being kidnapped by real-life pirates. They are left all alone on Shark Island, and quickly realise that it is up to them to find out what...
Published on 12 May 2009 by Moomin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shark island
Good little tale even though i believe it was a children's book.
The basis for the storyline could be true the way things are in the tropics.
Published 12 months ago by George Clandon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 12 May 2009
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
Shark island is an action packed and fast moving adventure set in a paradise of white beaches and blue lagoons. Ned and Hanna (on the holiday of a life time) wake up in their hut in the middle of the night to find that their parents are being kidnapped by real-life pirates. They are left all alone on Shark Island, and quickly realise that it is up to them to find out what has happened to their mum and dad, trying to make their way around the remote islands of south east Asia on their own, not speaking the language, without any help from grown-ups. I really enjoyed reading this to my niece (9) and nephew (11) and they absolutely loved it and are asking about a sequel already! It does get scary at times, which is great, and the characters are a lot of fun - especially Jik, the boy sea gypsy! A brilliant read (not just for kids, for adults too)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annes review, 15 May 2009
By 
Anne (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
This book is brilliant! The lead characters in this story are reminiscent of the Famous Five, Hanna and Ned are brave, clever and fearless. The detail is very impressive and as an adult reading this book I still found it informative, you're never too old to learn! A very well rounded novel that starts good and ends good. Can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, set in exotic location, 8 Jun. 2009
By 
J. Durkin "JulesNY" (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
I got a copy of this for my niece, who is tired of 'magic & wizard' books, then couldn't resist reading it myself (we bond over books).

I really appreciated the authenticity of the local details about Sea Gypsies and modern day piracy - the setting is quite unlike any I've found before in a children's book.
Hanna and Ned are very real, normal kids who find themselves in the midst of an amazing adventure. Having got to like them in this book, I can't wait for a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you won't read a better kids book!, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
A. Ni Chathmhaoil (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
Recommendation from Oscar, aged 11: "It ticks all the boxes: non stop action and you really understand and get to know the characters. For all ages from about 9 on upwards. I am a fan of Robert Muchamore, Darren Shan, Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl etc and I think "Shark Island" is better than all of them by a long way! I even got told off for reading it too much!!!! Buy it now..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!!, 13 May 2009
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
My 10 year old son has been unable to put this book down!! It has recaptured his love of books so thank you David Miller...he can't wait for the next one, and has recommended it to all his friends...he's particularly chuffed to have a signed copy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So exciting!, 20 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
It really is impossible to put this book down. It is fast paced yet very well written. My 10 and 12 year olds absolutely loved it but it would definitely suit older readers too - my husband thought it was great. It does not patronise its readers which means it is frightening in places not least because it deals with very realistic scenarios (modern day pirates) and children in danger but that makes it a great read. It is also unique in that boys AND girls will love it; it is not one of those books cynically directed at one or the other it is just a fantastic read. When's the sequel please David Miller?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shark Island - Lyrical Reviews, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
I can safely say I had a serious case of the post holiday blues when I finished Shark Island. David Miller's recreation of Malaysia is so vivid that every time I came to read it I was instantly there, on an adventure holiday of a lifetime in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. I think this is what really struck me about this book, it almost felt like a true story, a hybrid of travel writing and adventure as the level of detail is so high. The author has clearly spent a lot of time in Southeast Asia and it's a real asset to this story that it shows. The detail is in the real nitty-gritty aspects of Malaysia, the ones not covered in the travel guides like the farms and the Sea Gypsy village, giving the country a real dynamic edge in your imagination.

It's also really refreshing to have a cast made up almost entirely of non-Caucasians. Ned and Hanna, the book's heroes, are half Chinese and the rest are made up of Malaysians or the Sea Gypsies who add a really fascinating aspect to the plot. It's rare in a children's book to find an almost unknown minority group so intricately explored and their culture so neatly uncovered that the reader finds they have experienced a whole new mythology within the fun of fiction. I get especially excited when a book incorporates a new language, and this story is peppered with Sea Gypsy words that add to the feeling of being right there, working on your tan whilst dodging corrupt officials.

The adventure story itself was not at all disappointing either. David Miller really captures the moments of ecstatic hope and dark despair two teens would really go through as they struggle entirely on their own to find their kidnapped parents. The emotions run deep and a strong storyline complements this very effectively. There are moments of genuine suspense without predictability and the author doesn't shy away from the ruthlessness of the modern-day pirate. In fact, modern piracy is not the only hot topic this book covers, you'll also find political corruption, eco-tourism, poverty and minority persecution getting a fair share of the plot. As well as being a thrilling adventure, the reader is getting a decent insight into some of the serious issues found in many Southeast Asian countries.

In all, if you want a jolly good adventure romp and have dreamed of going to exotic climes but can't afford the flights then this is the book for you. It's an adventure and a holiday rolled into one and you can go there without leaving the comfort and economy of your own armchair. It's the kind of adventure you always dreamed of having as a kid, but without knowing it, you're also learning heaps about a secluded culture and taking a tour that Google Earth couldn't better. I can't wait to go on my next holiday in Sea Wolf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for kids who like adventure!, 3 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
From the very first chapter this book is exciting and dangerous. Hanna and Ned's parents are captured by pirates, all their possessions are burnt and they are stranded on a deserted island miles out at sea. Before I read the book I thought that it would be a sort of Robinson Crusoe for kids, foraging and surviving on the island but in truth I am so glad it's not because Shark Island is actually much more exciting and unique.
Alone in a foreign country without their parents and unable to speak the language, Hanna and Ned do not buckle under pressure and refuse to believe that their parents are dead. Their courage is bolstered by their belief that their parents are alive and need rescuing, Hanna and Ned, with the help of some locals embark on a dangerous and difficult adventure to find their parents and uncover the true story of the pirates. The real villains in this story are cold, calculating and manipulative people who will stop at nothing to keep Hanna and Ned from uncovering the truth.
This is a fast paced story full of surprises that will entertain any child or adult able to keep up with the story. A real page turner this story will keep you gripped until you reach the end. Highly recommended, can't wait to read the rest of the series, what else could possibly happen to this family?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for son, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
Like most 12 year old boys, my son doesn't love reading! However, despite the fact that the book had no illustrations, he said he really enjoyed reading it! High praise indeed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 20 July 2010
By 
D. Black (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
Loads of twists and turns, great characters, great pace, just the faintest drizzling of witchcraft but ultimately a very realistic story. Beautifully balanced, possibly a shade long, but my girls (10 and 11) really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed!
Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! by David Miller (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews