Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!
Shark island is an action packed and fast moving adventure set in a paradise of white beaches and blue lagoons. Ned and Hanna (on the holiday of a life time) wake up in their hut in the middle of the night to find that their parents are being kidnapped by real-life pirates. They are left all alone on Shark Island, and quickly realise that it is up to them to find out what...
Published on 12 May 2009 by Moomin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shark island
Good little tale even though i believe it was a children's book.
The basis for the storyline could be true the way things are in the tropics.
Published 8 months ago by George Clandon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 12 May 2009
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
Shark island is an action packed and fast moving adventure set in a paradise of white beaches and blue lagoons. Ned and Hanna (on the holiday of a life time) wake up in their hut in the middle of the night to find that their parents are being kidnapped by real-life pirates. They are left all alone on Shark Island, and quickly realise that it is up to them to find out what has happened to their mum and dad, trying to make their way around the remote islands of south east Asia on their own, not speaking the language, without any help from grown-ups. I really enjoyed reading this to my niece (9) and nephew (11) and they absolutely loved it and are asking about a sequel already! It does get scary at times, which is great, and the characters are a lot of fun - especially Jik, the boy sea gypsy! A brilliant read (not just for kids, for adults too)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annes review, 15 May 2009
By 
Anne (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
This book is brilliant! The lead characters in this story are reminiscent of the Famous Five, Hanna and Ned are brave, clever and fearless. The detail is very impressive and as an adult reading this book I still found it informative, you're never too old to learn! A very well rounded novel that starts good and ends good. Can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, set in exotic location, 8 Jun 2009
By 
J. Durkin "JulesNY" (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
I got a copy of this for my niece, who is tired of 'magic & wizard' books, then couldn't resist reading it myself (we bond over books).

I really appreciated the authenticity of the local details about Sea Gypsies and modern day piracy - the setting is quite unlike any I've found before in a children's book.
Hanna and Ned are very real, normal kids who find themselves in the midst of an amazing adventure. Having got to like them in this book, I can't wait for a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you won't read a better kids book!, 4 Aug 2009
By 
A. Ni Chathmhaoil (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
Recommendation from Oscar, aged 11: "It ticks all the boxes: non stop action and you really understand and get to know the characters. For all ages from about 9 on upwards. I am a fan of Robert Muchamore, Darren Shan, Lemony Snicket, Roald Dahl etc and I think "Shark Island" is better than all of them by a long way! I even got told off for reading it too much!!!! Buy it now..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!!, 13 May 2009
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
My 10 year old son has been unable to put this book down!! It has recaptured his love of books so thank you David Miller...he can't wait for the next one, and has recommended it to all his friends...he's particularly chuffed to have a signed copy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So exciting!, 20 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
It really is impossible to put this book down. It is fast paced yet very well written. My 10 and 12 year olds absolutely loved it but it would definitely suit older readers too - my husband thought it was great. It does not patronise its readers which means it is frightening in places not least because it deals with very realistic scenarios (modern day pirates) and children in danger but that makes it a great read. It is also unique in that boys AND girls will love it; it is not one of those books cynically directed at one or the other it is just a fantastic read. When's the sequel please David Miller?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for son, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! (Paperback)
Like most 12 year old boys, my son doesn't love reading! However, despite the fact that the book had no illustrations, he said he really enjoyed reading it! High praise indeed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shark island, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Island (Kindle Edition)
Good little tale even though i believe it was a children's book.
The basis for the storyline could be true the way things are in the tropics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shark Island, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Island (Kindle Edition)
Think this may have been aimed at a younger reader but I found it easy to read and did enjoy it and will be ordering the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark Island (Kindle Edition)
I chose 5 stars because it was very exiting not knowing what was going to happen definitely recommend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed!
Shark Island: Adventure Unleashed! by David Miller (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews