Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage psychological thriller from award winning writer.
This is another taut thriller from the award winning Tim Bowler.

Bloodchild opens with a dramatic punch. Will is lying in a lane. He knows he's had an accident and he thinks he may be dying. Above him there is a girl's face, she's phoning for help ... and there's another girl too ... but try as he might, Will can't hold on and passes out. He comes to in...
Published on 14 Oct 2008 by Sarah Curran

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is there an echo in here?
Bloodchild certainly opens with an intriguing hook and keeps the reader gripped, until the halfway point. Tim Bowler has made the all too easy mistake of not giving the reader enough satisfaction, and keeps all of his aces close to his chest until the final two chapters, which just ain't the most effective way to write a mystery novel.

The story deals with...
Published on 15 April 2009 by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage psychological thriller from award winning writer., 14 Oct 2008
This review is from: Bloodchild (Hardcover)
This is another taut thriller from the award winning Tim Bowler.

Bloodchild opens with a dramatic punch. Will is lying in a lane. He knows he's had an accident and he thinks he may be dying. Above him there is a girl's face, she's phoning for help ... and there's another girl too ... but try as he might, Will can't hold on and passes out. He comes to in hospital where two people are sitting by the bed, they claim to be his parents. But Will can't remember them. He can't remember anything ...

If you are looking for a book that will really grab you, send shivers down your spine and ensure that at the end of every chapter you want to keep turning the pages then this is the perfect novel.

Bloodchild is incredibly atmospheric and suspenseful with interesting, rounded characters that draw the reader in. The writing is stunning and the tension just keeps on building. The supernatural elements in Bloodchild add a different level to what may have otherwise been just a mystery thriller. Additionally Bloodchild also deals with issues close to the heart for many teenagers such as fitting in, or not, with peer groups.

My son described this novel as making his heart pound, reading like a hybrid of Darren Shan and The Cherub series, it reminded me of all the tension I felt as a teenager reading Robert O Briens The Silver Crown. We both loved the unexpected ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 16 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Bloodchild (Hardcover)
Being a fan of Tim Bowler's other works, I saved this book as an Easter holiday treat. Good job I did too, I started it Easter Monday in the morning and it would have made me late for work any other day because I just couldn't put it down. I read it in one sitting. It has all the hallmarks of Bowler's other works, but is entirely unique in plot. The man is a master of suspense- that we know- but he weaves in descriptions of settings and characterisation that give the narrative depth without compromising its pace. Up until now, Starseeker has been my favourite Bowler novel, but this is a very serious challenger on my 'all time favourites' list. There was action enough to keep me hooked throughout, and a rivetting denouement at the end. I would seriously recommend this book to anyone who has a bright but reluctant reader in the family. This would surely do the trick. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spooky Page Turner, 30 Sep 2008
This review is from: Bloodchild (Hardcover)
Once I started reading, I could not put this town. It is vintage Tim Bowler, the mysterious visions, the unreliable adults, a boy unsure of his identity. Find a comfortable position when you settle down to read this because you won't stop until it's finished. The writing is evocative and at times powerful - but I dropped one star because there was room for a tighter edit in some parts (a tiny quibble). And I loved the gory cover which brings to mind all the supernatural scarey movies one has ever dared to sit through! a nice book to own in hardback, i think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 16 April 2009
By 
Charlotte (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodchild (Hardcover)
I loved this book! It gripped me from the very first page and didn't let me go until the excellent, and deeply satisfying, ending. I loved the way Tim Bowler has combined realism with a deeper, mysterious edge - somehow the book manages to include issues that all teenagers could identify with, alongside a genuinely intriguing mystery and a supernatural twist. The characters are very believable - they leap off the page and into your head. Their problems really matter to you and you really long to see them resolve them. I absolutely loved the ending; sometimes mysteries in novels are spoilt by a disappointing conclusion - not so here! The truth, when it is revealed to the reader, is totally worth waiting for. I read this at a time of my life when I couldn't really concentrate on books - I picked this one up because it looked intriguing and as a result, found myself returning to my usually avid reading habits. I defy anyone with an active imagination and a love of well written prose, not to love this too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 14 April 2010
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodchild (Paperback)
Tim Bowler writes some wonderful chilling suspenseful books for young adults. His books tend to be aimed squarely at the teen market. This book, like many others he has written, is quite dark but never overpoweringly so.

In Bloodchild, the adventure starts when a teenage boy has an accident and loses all his memories. He discovers that he is not an average teenager in any case - he has some special needs, but also he is drawn to a younger child living with a tramp on the beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodchild (Paperback)
This was on my child's reading list!, she loved the book it was read in 2 days she couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectaluar emotion, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Bloodchild (Paperback)
That book was totaly amazing it created a huge emotion while I read it! I was like if you were in the book

I wish there was a second book !:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 19 April 2009
This review is from: Bloodchild (Hardcover)
What a good read! I thoroughly enjoyed Bloodchild and couldn't put it down. Tim Bowler has the incredible skill of being able to grab the reader from the very first pages. Bloodchild is no exception with the main character, Will, found lying nearly dead in a deserted lane. He survives with almost total loss of memory. The story continues at a gripping pace with Will searching for answers. Like all good thrillers, there is tension; there are twists and turns, red herrings, as well as an unexpected ending. But this book is not just a very good thriller. There are supernatural and mystical elements, issues on both how society interacts with individuals who appear to be different and the emotional turmoil that can arise. Bloodchild is thought provoking on many different levels. It is an excellent book written brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodchild (Purchased on 15/08/2009) by Tim Bowler, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodchild (Paperback)
Bloodchild by Tim Bowler(Purchased on 15/08/2009). This book was despatched quickly and was in good condition. I have not yet read it. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is there an echo in here?, 15 April 2009
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bloodchild (Hardcover)
Bloodchild certainly opens with an intriguing hook and keeps the reader gripped, until the halfway point. Tim Bowler has made the all too easy mistake of not giving the reader enough satisfaction, and keeps all of his aces close to his chest until the final two chapters, which just ain't the most effective way to write a mystery novel.

The story deals with Will, an unusual teenage boy who can see dead people (why does that sound familiar?). Will has just lost his memory, which is especially annoying since he was on the verge of solving a nasty little mystery. Now with his memory gone, he's got to solve it all over again, only without knowing what he's doing or why. It's difficult work for him and for us since we've got to keep fighting through the pages until we finally get some answers. Some small rewards at the halfway mark might have made up for this.

It's also far too similar to the Kevin Bacon movie Stir of Echoes. The supernatural edge to it seems far too forced and doesn't coexist well with the ordinary world it takes place in.

This book is one of Tim Bowler's lesser novels. I feel he's quoting himself too much at this point. You could literally grab elements from his previous work, jumble them up, and Bloodchild would be the result. A good read, but not the best example of teenage mystery by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9c0ac8)

This product

Bloodchild
Bloodchild by Tim Bowler (Paperback - 4 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews