Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars never fails to please
our family love this series of books- good read out loud stories- amazing drawings by korky paul- so much to see and discuss when reading. the stories are always ace-funny, moments of craziness with perfect endings- brilliant!
Published on 1 Jan 2009 by D. E. Middeton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible on the Kindle format
My daughter loves Winnie books, and the stories in this one are as good as ever, but the Kindle format is awful. There is no traditional text, but the complete book is all graphics which do not display very well. The text is part of the graphics and is very difficult to read. If this was presented in a proper book format I'd give it 5 stars, but as it is, it will...
Published 11 months ago by Maark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars never fails to please, 1 Jan 2009
By 
D. E. Middeton "Addicted2Ink" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
our family love this series of books- good read out loud stories- amazing drawings by korky paul- so much to see and discuss when reading. the stories are always ace-funny, moments of craziness with perfect endings- brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible on the Kindle format, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter loves Winnie books, and the stories in this one are as good as ever, but the Kindle format is awful. There is no traditional text, but the complete book is all graphics which do not display very well. The text is part of the graphics and is very difficult to read. If this was presented in a proper book format I'd give it 5 stars, but as it is, it will probably only get read once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) (Paperback)
Love this book! Love reading it to my son too. The pictures are just fantastic - poor Wilbur's expression as he zooms around on the flying carpet is priceless!

Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winnie is always a winner, 13 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) (Paperback)
Winnie never disappoints, and again the illustrations are imaginitive and fun, and the story amusing enough to keep my four year old chuckling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because Witches Get Rubbish Presents Too..., 31 Mar 2010
By 
Angel - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) (Paperback)
I'm sure many of us have been faced with the dilemma of trying to work out what exactly to say about that less than satisfactory,nay - truth be told - awful birthday present in the obligatory "Thank you" letter. That is the issue faced by Winnie the Witch", Valerie Thomas' loveable quirky character in this book.

Winnie has received a much longed for Flying Carpet for her birthday from her sisters, Wilma, Wanda and Wendy. As Winnie starts to put pen to paper, or more accurately finger to keyboard - she is a modern witch after all, to write her thank you, we see the disasters and comic events that Winnie and her cat Wilbur have faced. These are brilliantly told through Korky Paul's ever excellent illustrations and the author's eloquent and accessible way of telling a good yarn.
Fans of the series will know that for Winnie things tend to go wrong, and enjoy the humour as Winnie variously gets tangled in washing, falls into ponds and eventually consigns the carpet to a cupboard. Those new to Winnie books can enjoy the story too - this being a Winnie book the story is full of action and events and punctuated by the odd "Abracadabra!!" as Winnie gives the carpet one last chance, only to find that the carpet makes off with her cat and causes more trouble before she finally works out what exactly to do with her oh-so tricky gift.

As in other books of the series this book is a pleasure to read or, I am reliably informed, to be read to. The text is non-rhyming, and the language quite often simple but always engaging. The pictures that accompany the prose are full of all kinds of wonderful detail - we particularly like the scene where Winnie's cat encounters a roller coaster whilst on the carpet as it is just so funny. In every picture the characters almost seem to move on the page so well are they drawn, and there is plenty of detail and interest for bed time discussion with your child. I like the fact that every single word seems to be chosen to add to the pace of the story, words like "whizzed", "zoomed" are used to great effect and the carpet is almost a character in itself as it causes chaos in this lovely magical tale.
I think that the Winnie series is fantastic for young readers, age 4-8. We really enjoy this story, my six year old is pretty happy both to read along with me or be read to when we get this book out. If you already have a Winnie collection this is definitely one to add to it, and if you have yet to to discover this Witch's world then I thoroughly recommend buying this.

"Winnie's Flying Carpet" is funny, silly and most of all a great story which is a satisfying read. Winnie may not solve the problem of how to write tricky thank you letters, but she knows how to sort out an errant flying carpet - I wonder if she would know what to do with that dying Bonsai tree I got for Christmas.....?

(appears elsewhere in my name)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy grandson, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) (Paperback)
good reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality Translation to Kindle Paperwhite, 25 Feb 2014
The format for the Paperwhite is awful and pretty much unreadible. A great disappointment as my daughter loves these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winnie Review, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) (Paperback)
My little girl loves these books. fantastic illustrations and funny stories. Brilliant for all ages.Would def recommend to anyone. We have got more Winnie stories now also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars winnie, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) (Paperback)
This was bought for my granddaughter who loves winnie the witch and only needs one more book to have all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Winnie adventure, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) (Paperback)
We love Winnie. This isn't the best Winnie the Witch story (our favourite is still Winnie in Winter) but it's still lots of fun and there's a good deal of 'Yowling' from Winnie's cat which is always a laugh for the reader ;) Lots of good imagery and there's a nice lesson about writing thank you letters hidden in there too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch)
Winnie's Flying Carpet (Winnie the Witch) by Valerie Thomas (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews