Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 30 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
bought this book for use in school and now school have bought a class set. if you are teaching or studying the highwayman this book is a must. brilliant all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This story is really good. It has an exciting storyline., 1 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
I loved this book. We read it in school and each got to read a paragraph with sound effects too. We made a really mystical atmosphere to the story and everyone thought that it was really good. All of the girls thought that Bess was really brave and in love and all of the boys thought that the Highwayman was really cool. They especially liked the gory bits. At the end, we all made up a story to the poem, only in our english today, not Olde English. Everyone enjoyed it immensly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, 10 July 2010
This review is from: The Highwayman (Hardcover)
I picked this up by chance at a second hand bookshop, and had to have it. It's short, and presents like a childrens book, but I'd say it's far from. It contains some rather adult themes for a book that really looks like it should be for children (the typeset gives it this feeling).

the illustrations are wonderful and really bring this book to life, it's well worth getting a copy, despite how short it is. I highly recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars special pictures, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
Love the illustrations, they are fantastic. The poem is haunting, more of a rhyming story really but very readable. Just a fab book to have on a shelf and dip in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling, wonderful poem with fantastic illustrations., 17 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
When I first heard the poem I thought it was both chilling and brilliant. The words and the suspense that is created throughout the poem is gripping. Teamed with its excellent illustrations, this book is an absolute winner!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rich use of metaphor, onomatopeia,alliteration, rhythm, 10 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
I agree with you reader's comment from Australia this is a rich and exciting narrative poem. As a teaching resource for exploring figuarative language such alliteration, metpahor, symbolism, onomatopoeia, similies adjectives, it is outstanding. Charles Keeping's monochrome fine pen and ink illustrations vibrate with energy almost echoing the "tlot tlot' of the horses hooves and later the "madman shouting a curse". And yet the fine lines also ripple with an innocent softness on the daughter's long black hair. It can be read at many levels and never fails to send my blood rushing with a mixture of fear, excitement and anger as I consider what really happened to Bess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Poem from a Little Known Author, 15 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Highwayman (Paperback)
Although I did not read the book "Highwayman", I have read the poem from a website on the internet. I am amazed that few people have reviewed this poem. The Highwayman is one of the best poems I have ever read and is truly remarkable in that it appeals to people of all agaes. Although it may well be considered a work for children, I believe that the full impact of Noyes's imagery and the subtle messages of the poem can only be fully appreciated my the mature mind. I recommend this poem to anyone interested in history and/or historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, Haunting, Masterpiece...., 31 Mar 2007
By 
Anne-Marie Marquess (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
Stand and Deliver.......Your Money or your Life....

"The wind was a torrent of darkness among the gusty trees
The moon was a ghostly galleon tossed upon cloudy seas
The road was a ribbon of moonlight over the purple moor
And the highwayman came riding-
Riding-riding
The highwayman came riding, up to the old inn door..."

With a powerful introduction like this, you must read on.... The Highwayman (by Alfred Noyes) tells a tragic tale of doomed love in beautifully descriptive and poetic language. This must be one of my all-time favourite poems, a timeless, haunting, romantic masterpiece evoking strong imagery and passion. Dark and Moody, with a rhythm similar to that of horses hooves, there's a galloping beat that's perfect for capturing the ambience of the masked figure on horseback. The Highwayman is deadly and he dares to be different, galloping on the fringes of society and remaining outside of the establishment. He's undoubtedly handsome and an incredibly well dressed, stylish and passionate individual. A proud and brave man who's in love with Bess, the Landlords Daughter and she with him.

"He whistled a tune to the window, and who should be waiting there
But the landlord's black-eyed daughter
Bess, the landlord's daughter
Plaiting a dark red love-knot into her long black hair"

He rides in the night, alone, fearless and confident. Unlike some modern day criminals the Highwayman was generally a well dressed, well spoken gentleman who used threats rather than violence. But he is no match for cowardly troops, ignorant and with no respect for life, guns at the ready. Even Bess is not safe with them around and we feel her helplessness, despair and sorrow, ultimately ending in sacrifice. No happy ending here but instead lingering ghosts. This is a cold poem beginning on a winters night, a tragic tale of unrequited love, yet with the faint glimmer of hope of an afterlife in the form of the ghostly ending. The colours evoked in the poem are generally black and grey with splashes of various shades of red, such as the "purple" moor, a coat of the "claret velvet", a "dark red" love knot, etc... warm colours. And there is often mention of blood. The colours reflect the mood and what is to come, despair, death and blood spill. And the troops are dressed in red. The Moon is mentioned a lot, representing the light in the poem and adding a mystical element. The Highwayman is very much a creature of the night.

This is an illustrated version of the poem and The Highwayman is a poem that certainly deserves to be in a book all by itself as in my opinion it is one of the best ever written. The illustrations are in black and white which is well suited to the mood of the poem. The artwork by Charles Keeping is good but doesn't match that which can be conjured up in your imagination which just cannot be put onto paper. I imagined a beautiful Bess and a devastatingly, dangerously handsome highway man, but apart from that the illustrations seem quite reminiscent of the imagery evoked by the poem and reflect the story well.

This poem romanticises the notion of the Highwayman and we see the demise of a Tragic Hero. As Highwaymen are generally thought of as being intelligent and quick witted, this poem stirs the emotions as he is unable to outwit the troops and also unable to save the girl he loves. So the Hero takes a Fall, literally falling off his horse as he is shot down "like a dog on the highway" and it's very sad, you almost feel his humiliation and degradation and want a more noble death for him. However this Poem will forever live on, standing the test of time and capturing the essence of The Highwayman and of an era long gone...

"And still of a winter's night, they say, when the wind is in the trees
When the moon is a ghostly galleon tossed upon cloudy seas
When the road is a ribbon of moonlight over the purple moor
A highwayman comes riding-
Riding -riding
A highwayman comes riding, up to the old inn door..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
This is a classic story, that has something for everyone

It's got ghosts, a love story, a highwayman

What's not to love!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality book with speedy delivery, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN (Paperback)
Very pleased. Very good condition as described. It's one of my favourite books and an excellent way for children to understand metaphors and similes at such a young age. (primary school teacher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN
OXFORD THE HIGHWAYMAN by Alfred Noyes (Paperback - 27 Mar 2008)
Used & New from: 2.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews