Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a read!
I raced through this book in a day. What a lovely story. I've since loaned it out to three friends and all of them adored it. I came to this author after reading Room and hearing her speak locally, and haven't been disappointed. Also check out Slammerkin!
Published on 7 Oct. 2011 by Sarah F

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed after 'Frog Music' and 'Room'
2.5 stars

A story of two women who meet, are attracted to each other, and tentatively start a long-distance relationship.

Jude and Sile (pronounced Sheila on the audiobook I listened to) meet on a plane. Jude is a passenger, Sile the flight attendant. It's quite a sweet meeting, and starts well. Later on, they contact each other and the book them...
Published 15 months ago by K. J. Noyes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a read!, 7 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Landing (Paperback)
I raced through this book in a day. What a lovely story. I've since loaned it out to three friends and all of them adored it. I came to this author after reading Room and hearing her speak locally, and haven't been disappointed. Also check out Slammerkin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed after 'Frog Music' and 'Room', 27 Mar. 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
2.5 stars

A story of two women who meet, are attracted to each other, and tentatively start a long-distance relationship.

Jude and Sile (pronounced Sheila on the audiobook I listened to) meet on a plane. Jude is a passenger, Sile the flight attendant. It's quite a sweet meeting, and starts well. Later on, they contact each other and the book them flits between some letters/emails, their occasional meetings (Sile lives in Dublin but travels around the world for her work, and Jude lives in a small town in Canada, working in a museum).

I found myself becoming less and less interested as I went on, I'm afraid. I've recently loved Donoghue's latest, Frog Music, and adored Room. This felt a little pedestrian - not much happens, it's a little bit repetitive.

The same-sex romance is well-handled, but some of the heart-to-hearts with friends got dull for me, as a listener.

A little disappointed really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classy read, 4 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landing (Paperback)
New novels by Emma Donoghue are always a joy - as her lesbian novels are quite rare Landing was a double pleasure. The initial premise of a very long distant love affair not just in terms of distance but also age and culture does not sound promising as to having a happy ending but this book provides not only a funny, well-written account of how this unlikely pair get together and persevere against the odds to be with each other it also has the kind of ending that makes you think most things in life tend to work out for the best even if in unexpected ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, with a capital 'F', 26 Nov. 2009
By 
L. R. Evans "Cheese lady" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landing (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book. I felt like I was there with the character all the way through. Brilliantly written, funny, sad, engaging and written with such warmth. I have read a few of this author's other novels (Slammerskins, Life Mask and Stir Fry) and this is her best yet. I mourned finishing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well written, but boring, 30 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landing (Paperback)
As would be expected of Emma Donoghue, the style and prose is flawless; the plot, however, leaves quite a bit to be desired...not to mention, the butch character "Jude" is about as exciting as soggy cardboard and equally one-sided and selfish. Would recommend Brownrigg's "Pages for You" a million times over this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really good love story.Clever and moving., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landing (Kindle Edition)
As above.Really good love story, clever and moving Great writing and story paced very well.Reccomended read for all keen readers..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love story That just disappoints, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landing (Kindle Edition)
After really enjoying kissing the witch and thinking Room was just brilliant, though provoking and sad, i was saddened That this book was just rather dull and disappointing after not long. Its a love story, containing a difficult long-distance aspect. I felt warmly for the characters at first, but then started to get quite bored. The ending especially disappointed me, and seemed a bit odd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landing (Kindle Edition)
Having read Ms Donaghue's books in the past and thoroughly enjoyed them, this one was a real disappointment. Not her usual standard of all absorbing storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landing (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, it took about a chapter for me to get into it but then it had me gripped and I finished it in a couple of days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I do not recommend this book!, 19 May 2011
This review is from: Landing (Paperback)
Unless you like the light weight, American style writing and are interested in reading about lesbian relationships this book is boring and badly written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Landing
Landing by Emma Donoghue (Paperback - 8 Sept. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews